We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still perfect!!!”
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caneel Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Despite the change in ownership, Caneel Bay still exemplifies perfection. Our group of 6 couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations, food, service, etc. Our rooms were in Turtle Bay and Hawsknest and found both to be great locations. If staying in Turtle Bay, I would recommend requesting a room on the ground level. Hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbrown1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Caneel Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were at Caneel Bay over Spring Break. As others have said, the beauty of the resort is unparalleled. The rooms are a bit dated, but the wildlife and beaches amply make up for it. We were especially thankful to the wonderful women working the kids club -- our daughter loved every minute there! If you can get a reservation at ZoZos, I'd definitely recommend it -- fantastic place.

Room Tip: If you have kids, stay on Caneel Beach.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LT22205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our trip was absolutely spectacular- just as pleasant as the first time...The accomadations under Rosewood were perfect- we are a family of 4, so we had the premium courtside room which had a master suite and a smaller room with a twin. The staff brought us an extra day bed for our second child.....
I went on the website to book for next year, only to discover that since the new ownership, you may not have more than 3 persons per room, and the third person is an extra charge! Being a family of 4, this means we have to book two rooms, so twice the cost, which is just unreasonable. It seems to me that the resort is doing one or both of two things-
1. Trying to discourage families from staying at Caneel Bay and make it more of an adult only establishment, which is very disappointing, since turtle town, the great baby sitting staff, and the kid friendly beaches (not Scott or Paradise, of course) were the such a great highlight for this beautiful resort.
2. Greed. SImple as that.

Unfortunately, I will be looking elsewhere for our future vacations. Was really hoping that Caneel Bay would be a family tradition since my husband and I were married on Hawksnest Beach.

Room Tip: If you are a family of more than 3, be prepared to have to book 2 rooms according to thier policy on...
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank factorygirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCaneel, Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear factorygirl 17,
I am pleased to hear you have fond memories of your last stay at Caneel Bay, and I very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back, and provide a most memorable stay. It appears the Premium Courtside Suite accommodation may not have been available for the dates you were selecting on our website, and as we only have 2 on property, they are often booked far in advance.
Our onsite reservation agents would be happy to assist you personally, and may be reached at 340.776.6111.
Sincerely,
Nikolay Hotze
Managing Director
Caneel Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I chose Caneel Bay, a Rosewood property, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, and to say we were underwhelmed and disappointed would be putting it kindly. Pretty much most of what was promised by the Rosewood reservations agents themselves was not delivered. The hotel does not open all its restaurants all the time, even though they say they will. When we were there (in October), only one was open when their agent told us there would be at least 3. The bugs start biting you immediately after you step off the boat and don't stop until you get back to St. Thomas. It might have been helpful if someone told us we'd need bug spray 24/7. I had 15 bites when I woke up the first morning there! The resort was not maintained well. Here are some examples: we took a walk on one of their hiking/nature trails on the map they provided us, but no one had bothered to clear it, so we had cuts on our legs from all the overgrown brush (and of course had to abort the hike early.) The Wi-Fi, while free as mentioned in another review, rarely worked. We had our room moved because the Wi-Fi didn't work there (or so they thought), plus there was an infestation of ants they could not control, but it was no better in the second room. The room furniture and décor was shabby at best. We asked if there would be towels available at the pool, but of course there were neither towels available nor anyone to help us when we went there one afternoon. We ordered a picnic lunch which did not contain half of the items we ordered. The dive shop staff were mediocre at best, nowhere near what we expected for such a premier destination. This place is very expensive, and it was in no way worth it. There are much nicer places out there--try them first!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annaliese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was one of many trips to Caneel Bay and it was just as wonderful as the first. This was a special anniversary for us and we were greeted with a bottle of champagne in our room. We go to Caneel for the beaches and the overall beauty of the property. It's so beautiful and peaceful, a wonderful place to unwind. The service was excellent; all staff members were friendly and welcoming. Much of the Caneel experience stays the same from year to year, but there are always some new additions. For us this time, it was the sushi at the Beach Bar which was delicious and the sandwiches and ice cream at Cannella. While the Caneel restaurants are very good (and convenient for first and last night dinners), our preference for dinner is to go into Cruz Bay where there are a number of really good and interesting restaurants. Getting a taxi from the property was easy as was renting a jeep for a day trip around the island. Our favorite room location is Hawksnest Beach. The trade winds blow through at night, making air conditioning usually unnecessary; we prefer the breezes. It's somewhat central location makes it convenient to get to other beaches. I had a Thai massage in one of the massage cabanas which was probably the best and most effective massage I've ever had.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineM464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a really beautiful place with a stunning bay. The sea is light blue and white soft sand.

The restaurants are really good and the grounds are peaceful.
I was more interested in the British Virgin Islands to start with but USVI St Johns is a real gem. Half the island is a conservation area bought by Rockerfella. In fact he owned most and left most of it to a national park, this hotel has the only developed part. Its in tune with nature though and even has wild donkeys in the grounds.

There is a lovely restaurant up in the hills that we tried.
St Thomas is the next island which has all the duty free shopping. I really wanted a cartier watch but wanted to stay in St Johns. The private ferry they have was nice enough to go and pick a watch up for me. I bought it on the phone.
So we kept our nice quiet holiday and didnt need to go to the busy St Thoomas.
There are quite a lot of mosquitos here but the resort addresses the issue by selling Avon's oil spray that notoriously repells mosquitoes.
You can also wear long sleeves in the evening. which would be in keeping with the resorts attire anyway.

There aren't lots of gadgets in the room but that feels right in this beautiful place.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed 10 days on Hawksnest beach - 2 rooms, 2 people in one, 3 in another, $1600 a day. Decent size rooms, clean, comfortable beds. Large bathroom areas, shower only, no bath, robes, slippers provided. Small fridge stocked by overpriced snacks and cans to the brim. Furnishings are relaxed and shabby. Ice brought in every day. Breakfast included, nice selection, 2 restaurants available for breakfast, same selection in each one. Afternoon tea served every day, free of charge at one of the restaurants. Rooms have no TV;s, no phones. Good WiFi in rooms.

7 beaches n property, which are considered the best on St John. If you decide to stay at Caneel - go for that, for turtles swimming 100 ft away from your room, not for hotel amenities.

Restaurants on the property are expensive, $18 burgers, $13 sandwiches, $12 , $8 water bottles. That's in the main restaurant, the least expensive one. Diving center was underwhelming. Beach furniture was laughable, considering you are paying $800 per day for each room.

Will we return? No desire, really, I like to get my money's worth and I feel that Caneel failed to deliver. I'd rather stay at a $400 night hotel and come visit Caneel Bay beaches (they are part of National Park) for a day and bring my own beach chair to sit on.

Room Tip: Turtle beach has the largest waves, Hawksnest is least busy, Scotts had many kids, Caneel beach had...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wtravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caneel Bay
1.4 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
4.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
472 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
1.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range: £420 - £941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 170-acre peninsula amid the lush beauty of the Virgin Islands National Park and seven picturesque beaches, Caneel Bay is one of the most breathtaking vacation destinations in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing