We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caneel Bay Resort”
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caneel Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I recently had the chance to visit St. John for a friends wedding at Caneel Bay Resort. The property and views of the beach were unbelievably amazing! I also wanted to say how friendly and outgoing all of staff members were. Every worker on the property had great customer service and took the time to say "hello" or ask if we needed anything. I definitely recommend this resort on your next vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nmoyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We went to Caneel to celebrate our 20th anniversary. How do you review heaven? It was exactly what we were looking for in a resort. I almost chose a different resort based on some of the reviews on this site, but stuck with Caneel based on the recommendations of a few close friends. Some folks complained about the cost. While it is rather pricey, it earns it's price. It is gorgeous. The staff is so nice and accommodating. The food is delicious. And every beach we visited was pristine and had great snorkeling.
Some other reviewers complained about the breakfast. Really? If you couldn't find something you liked on that buffet, you have issues. I ate something different every day and loved it all. The lemon ricotta pancakes were off the chain! One guy found fault with the beach chairs. He thought they were cheap. I guess some people can't be pleased. We loved them. They were sturdy and comfortable, but you could take them into the shallow surf and sit on them. You can't do that with wooden furniture! And there were these great hammocks tucked away in great places on all the beaches.

Another common complaint were the furnishings in the rooms. While our beach front cottage was decorated in a distinctly 70's motif, the furniture was of high quality, the bed was ridiculously comfortable, and we thought it was kitschy and very cool. Not to mention the linens and towels were to notch. I want those towels for home! Talk about plush. And yes, the external of the cottage was nondescript and plain. But, they advertise that the accommodations are designed to be low profile and plain so as to blend into the background. The focus at Caneel is what's surrounding the accommodations, not the cool architecture.

One of the best parts was how alone you felt. We commented several times how when you go to breakfast and there are all of these people, but then you go out to a beach, and it's as if you've got the whole place to yourself. Several times we actually were the only ones on a certain beach. They have seven I believe, and they are huge.

And then there's Zaba. Imagine, you're sitting on this pristine Caribbean beach, lost in thought, feeling like you're the only one around for miles, and all of a sudden, there's this guy in a starched white uniform asking you if you'd like a drink! Well I certainly would! Zaba made an awesome painkiller. And he was fast. From ordering to drink in hand? Ten minutes, tops. They don't operate on island time at Caneel.

And, if you go, get a massage in one of the private massage cabanas overlooking hawksnest bay. Absolute bliss.

Our only disappointment was ZoZo's. While it was beautiful, we found the food to not live up to the hype and the service to be rushed. We much preferred Asolare. The view is better, the menu more imaginative, the food sublime, and the service excellent. The roasted corvina will blow your mind. It does require a five minute taxi ride out of the gate, but there are always taxis readily available.
Speaking of the taxis, they are great. The drivers were so courteous and full of great information about the island. If you do go into Cruz Bay, eat at the Lime Inn. Ask for Lou, and have the head to tail snapper. You won't be sorry.
Caneel Bay was amazing. I can't imagine spending our 20th anywhere else. We both can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TrapperRonDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went to Caneel Bay for my 65th birtday with family. We stayed in rooms 73 and 74. This was the best vacation ever. We have traveledfrom Alaska to Australia to Europe and this resort was the best. But you do want to have a low

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach are more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Despite the change in ownership, Caneel Bay still exemplifies perfection. Our group of 6 couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations, food, service, etc. Our rooms were in Turtle Bay and Hawsknest and found both to be great locations. If staying in Turtle Bay, I would recommend requesting a room on the ground level. Hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbrown1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were at Caneel Bay over Spring Break. As others have said, the beauty of the resort is unparalleled. The rooms are a bit dated, but the wildlife and beaches amply make up for it. We were especially thankful to the wonderful women working the kids club -- our daughter loved every minute there! If you can get a reservation at ZoZos, I'd definitely recommend it -- fantastic place.

Room Tip: If you have kids, stay on Caneel Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LT22205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our trip was absolutely spectacular- just as pleasant as the first time...The accomadations under Rosewood were perfect- we are a family of 4, so we had the premium courtside room which had a master suite and a smaller room with a twin. The staff brought us an extra day bed for our second child.....
I went on the website to book for next year, only to discover that since the new ownership, you may not have more than 3 persons per room, and the third person is an extra charge! Being a family of 4, this means we have to book two rooms, so twice the cost, which is just unreasonable. It seems to me that the resort is doing one or both of two things-
1. Trying to discourage families from staying at Caneel Bay and make it more of an adult only establishment, which is very disappointing, since turtle town, the great baby sitting staff, and the kid friendly beaches (not Scott or Paradise, of course) were the such a great highlight for this beautiful resort.
2. Greed. SImple as that.

Unfortunately, I will be looking elsewhere for our future vacations. Was really hoping that Caneel Bay would be a family tradition since my husband and I were married on Hawksnest Beach.

Room Tip: If you are a family of more than 3, be prepared to have to book 2 rooms according to thier policy on...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank factorygirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCaneel, Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear factorygirl 17,
I am pleased to hear you have fond memories of your last stay at Caneel Bay, and I very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back, and provide a most memorable stay. It appears the Premium Courtside Suite accommodation may not have been available for the dates you were selecting on our website, and as we only have 2 on property, they are often booked far in advance.
Our onsite reservation agents would be happy to assist you personally, and may be reached at 340.776.6111.
Sincerely,
Nikolay Hotze
Managing Director
Caneel Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I chose Caneel Bay, a Rosewood property, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, and to say we were underwhelmed and disappointed would be putting it kindly. Pretty much most of what was promised by the Rosewood reservations agents themselves was not delivered. The hotel does not open all its restaurants all the time, even though they say they will. When we were there (in October), only one was open when their agent told us there would be at least 3. The bugs start biting you immediately after you step off the boat and don't stop until you get back to St. Thomas. It might have been helpful if someone told us we'd need bug spray 24/7. I had 15 bites when I woke up the first morning there! The resort was not maintained well. Here are some examples: we took a walk on one of their hiking/nature trails on the map they provided us, but no one had bothered to clear it, so we had cuts on our legs from all the overgrown brush (and of course had to abort the hike early.) The Wi-Fi, while free as mentioned in another review, rarely worked. We had our room moved because the Wi-Fi didn't work there (or so they thought), plus there was an infestation of ants they could not control, but it was no better in the second room. The room furniture and décor was shabby at best. We asked if there would be towels available at the pool, but of course there were neither towels available nor anyone to help us when we went there one afternoon. We ordered a picnic lunch which did not contain half of the items we ordered. The dive shop staff were mediocre at best, nowhere near what we expected for such a premier destination. This place is very expensive, and it was in no way worth it. There are much nicer places out there--try them first!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annaliese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caneel Bay
1.4 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
1.1 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
477 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range: £395 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 170-acre peninsula amid the lush beauty of the Virgin Islands National Park and seven picturesque beaches, Caneel Bay is one of the most breathtaking vacation destinations in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing