We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Paradise ”
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caneel Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I had no idea what to expect when we arrived at Caneel Bay Resort. Now I know, beauty, luxury, pampering all set in a natural backdrop of ocean and wildlife. Words can barely describe the beauty of this resort. That coupled with their desire to provide great service and it makes for a vacation that is truly one to remember.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Marlon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Caneel Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

In April we spent 6 days at Caneel Bay resort. It was our 10th visit, our first being in 1989. This time was like all the others, wonderful! A single phrase that might best describe Caneel Bay is understated elegance. Indeed human influence does not dominate, rather the buildings blend into the landscape, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the beaches are beautiful. There are restaurants on site with expert chefs and staff which makes for a wonderful dining experience.
There are 7 beaches at Caneel Bay and all have something to offer the sunbather and the snorkeler but two beaches are of particular interest because of the turtles and spotted eagle rays that frequent the shallows. Scotts and Hawks Nest beaches are a ready source of green turtles. They are drawn to these two beaches because of the “turtle grass”. The rays also visit to dine on burrowing invertebrates (mollusks and worms) found within the sandy bottoms no more than 100 feet off the beach. There are coral formations at the fringes of the beaches, some of which are quite spectacular such as large stands of elk horn coral and groups of sea fans.
Every room we have ever stayed in at Caneel has been more than adequate for our needs. All have air-conditioning if needed and also have cross ventilation and ceiling fans. There is no TV or telephone in the rooms but wireless is available near the main office so bring you computer and smart phone if you are a communications junky. Cell phone service for your smart phone is available everywhere.
One activity we particularly enjoy at Caneel is the day sails with Barbara and Greg aboard their 51 foot yacht, Spitfire. The day sailing includes lunch and a snorkel and is well worth it. Greg offers a rum punch that is second to none. Scuba diving is another activity we have found to be pleasant. Much of St John’s waters are a marine reserve so the reefs are reasonably intact. Walking the grounds can be quite a pleasant bird watching experience as well. While walking you will also, without a doubt, find yourself in the company of donkeys and Caribbean deer.

Room Tip: Ocean View and Beach front are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After reading some of the reviews, I was a bit anxious about our trip this past Spring to St John, and our stay at Caneel Bay Resort. Although the property was indeed in need of updating, we had no issues with our room. Storage was adequate, the bed was comfortable, and best of all, our unit had a private beach. The water here was clear, with lots of snorkeling options. There's plenty of natural beauty throughout the entire property, and the deer and wild donkeys roaming about made for a unique experience. While lazing on the beach, you can observe pelicans diving for fish. We dined twice at Zozos at The Sugar Mill, and on both occasions, everything was excellent. This is a great place for you if you're looking for a peaceful stay in an area with several private beaches surrounded by natural beauty. A bit sleepy if you're looking for nightlife though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MOGA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We (myself, my wife and 3 yr old son) just came back from St. John and stayed at Caneel for 5 days. The property is great and the service is excellent. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help when asked. We stayed in the Garden View rooms by the pool and the room was very good but a little ways off from any of the beaches. I would recommend spending a little more and getting a room on the beach as the resort is sprawling and you have to wait for the shuttle to take you anywhere unless you want to walk everywhere. The shuttles run pretty frequently but a room on the beach would have been awesome. All the beaches are stunning and the water is pristine with great snorkeling right off the beach. We went with the "Simply Caneel" package (all-inclusive option) because it is easier with a 3 yr old and it was very convenient. There are three restaurants on the property though only two are included in the all-inclusive option. The quality of food was very very good though it would been nice to have a couple more options. All in all, it was an amazing experience for all of us and we will be staying at Canell when we visit St. John again.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms on Caneel beach will be very convenient - right next to the breakfast buffet &...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abhonsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at caneel bay for the first time. The grounds are beautiful but the rooms are awful. Air conditioner doesn't work. Dark and dated. They resemble a jail. Louvers that are shut for air conditioner make it seem like a prison cell. They need to shut down and renovate every room. No phones so you have to walk miles to find one. Very Buggy also. You need off with you every night. Food good. Staff nice but for the money I would not go back. Only stayed there to get to the soggy dollar. Next time I will stay in ST Thomas or Tortola. Beaches were kinda gross too for a tropical island. Wouldn't recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Caneel Bay Resort was perfect. The property is gorgeous. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are spread out and not piled on top of one another. Each cluster of rooms has its own private beach area. The beaches are raked daily and kept spotless. The water is amazing. The walking paths are beautiful. We were there in mid May. It was very quiet. We took a day long taxi tour of the island. The breakfast buffet was above the expected. Made to order eggs, pancakes etc. Tons of fresh fruit and juices every day. Rooms were neat and serviced frequently. The towels were amazing and a dry one replaced the wet one before you could blink. Very nice service. Each room had a cooler for your use. Ice was brought to you each morning. Shuttles ran through out the property on a very frequent basis. Night time turn down service was a nice touch as well. Loved our visit. We took two day trips with Gaylen on Pirates Penny (not provided by the Resort). Snorkeled at least a dozen times.

Room Tip: Hawks Nest beach has the most level beach front. Each room cluster offers a different beach experie...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

First let me start by saying that I did a lot of research before choosing this resort. The majestic location of this resort gives it a five star rating even if you stayed in a tent. This is truly a beach paradise. If you enjoy swimming in water that looks like windex and snorkel 24/7 with beautiful fish and turtles, then this is the resort for you. And now for the little things that add to this amazing resort. Our room was equipped with all the necessities, 4 giant fluffy bath towels and four giant beach towels every day, all the face and wash towels you could want, robes and slippers, super comfy king size bed and excellent made service who made sure our room was kept clean and fresh smelling every day. She would mop the floors and the deck every day, making sure there was no sand anywhere, which is hard to do considering the room was beach front. The grounds were large, spread out and well manicured. Lighted paths everywhere with deer, donkey and mongoose roaming all around, if that is not to your liking, there is a shuttle that truly comes every five minutes. The restaurants were excellent, especially ZoZos. The sushi at the Beach Grill was top knotch. We loved the breakfast buffet each morning, the lemon ricotta pancakes, the French toast, and the different jams were to die for. Don't miss tea time, you will regret it. The staff were excellent and friendly, made us feel like we owned part of this lovely resort. We will definitely return like 75 percent of the people there do.

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank brokkolirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caneel Bay
1.4 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
4.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
472 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
1.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range: £421 - £928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 170-acre peninsula amid the lush beauty of the Virgin Islands National Park and seven picturesque beaches, Caneel Bay is one of the most breathtaking vacation destinations in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing