We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highest Possible Recommendation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Nassau, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SCUBAgrun...
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highest Possible Recommendation”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is an absolute must for any serious SCUBA diver. From the instant we began the boarding process, Captain Red and his crew aboard the Morning Star handled every aspect of the operation brilliantly by balancing safety, comfort and entertainment. I crew on a dive boat in NC and had never been on a live aboard before and couldn't believe how hard this crew worked for the entire duration of the trip. They displayed equal enthusiasm and energy from the second we embarked until the second we departed. All 19 dive sites were expertly chosen by the Captain and the dives flawlessly conducted by Marina, the Instructor/Divemaster. Relief Capt and engineer Tom and his mate Justin kept everything running smoothly above and below deck; no small challenge. Gladys the cook produced 432 absolutely delicious plates of food with snacks in between. I can't wait to do this trip again. It's by far the best deal for a dive adventure in the Caribbean and I only regret no doing it sooner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George P
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having just spent 6 nights on the Sea Explorer I can honestly say this has been one of the best trips I have done. Despite the fairly windy weather the crew of Captain Chris, Breezy, Arturo, Sara and Chef Tristan did a fantastic job of making everyone on board get the most out of our adventure in the Bahamas. The diving was well organised and took in a variety of sites offering great variety. Because of the weather we had a slight change in schedule which allowed us to do a dawn dive - something I hadn't done before but would certainly recommend.
The accommodation is basic but very comfortable, many of the divers on the boat travelled independently of each each other and it offered a great opportunity to make new friends.
Some of the group I met up with on the boat were repeat visitors to Blackbeard's and I can definitely see why.
The only thing left is to book another trip.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egordon12
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best experience of my life!”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week aboard the Morning Star while traveling solo through the Bahamas. Absolutely the best experience I've ever had, and can't wait until I can return. I had the time of my life. The crew was amazing, the diving was superb, the food was awesome, and the company was wonderful. I cannot recommend this trip enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Can't say anything negative.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S
The Villages, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scuba Heaven! ”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
9
people found this review helpful

I have dove two years in a row on the Blackbeard Sea Explorer and cannot say enough good things about it. For the money, this is the cheapest way to get 19 quality dives in the pristine Exuma island chain off the Bahamas. The captian and crew are professional and the dive master very informative and safe. The accommodations aboard are spartan but livable and the food and nightly rum punch delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thanks Barry! Look forward to having you out with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scuba Pirate Adventure”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
6
people found this review helpful

This was hands down one of the best scuba vacations I have ever been on. The crew as well as the office personnel went above and beyond to make this vacation special. We had problems with American Airlines, who cancelled our outgoing flight to Miami where we were to connect to Nassau. This cancellation caused us to miss our boat. All Star Liveaboards made arrangements for us to board and stay the night on a sister ship and delivered us to our boat the next day. I will be forever grateful to them for this. If they had not been willing to do this, my vacation would have ended at LAX. Once we arrived on board we were welcomed by the friendly crew. We were briefed on the boat and the diving and were quickly settled in to our accommodations. We only missed two dives due to the travel issue, and were able to complete 17 dives in one week. The trip included a shark feed dive, and a fast paced drift dive known as The Washing Machine. The reefs were healthy. The crew was knowledgeable. The food was good and plentiful. The bunks we requested when booking the reservation were reserved and saved for us. We were taken to an island on our first day and allowed to feed the local iguanas grapes using sticks. The islands were beautiful, the water warm and the locals friendly and welcoming. Do yourself a favor and book this cruise!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of diving off the vessel. No need to transport gear as it remained set up for the duration of the stay.
Liked least: The marine head.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie F
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Dive Trip So Far!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
8
people found this review helpful

My dive buddy and I were looking for an affordable dive vacation and stumbled upon an ad for Blackbeard's Cruises in a online diving magazine. Liveaboard experience with sharks for around $1000 for a week? We were in!

We had issues getting there as our airline canceled our flight. However, the staff at Blackbeard's went out of their way to make it work and was so nice and accommodating. They really were a pleasure to work with during a stressful time and the alternative plans that were made to get us to our boat went off without a hitch.

We were on the Morning Star with Captain Red, Iain, Tammy, Evan and James. The crew was fantastic! They made the week so fun and we always felt well taken care of. The food was great and plentiful and the boat was kept clean. This is not a luxury cruise, but it is completely worth cost. We did 4 dives a day and a lot of snorkeling so we didn't miss the lack of luxury. There was a place to sleep and working bathrooms and that was pretty much all we needed. After diving there was a beer tap and yummy rum punch up on the deck, both of which were included in the price.

Let's talk about the diving. It was wonderful!! We had an assortment of sites from ship and plane wrecks, shallow coral heads to deep walls and even a blue hole. There were lots of beautiful swim throughs, the coral appeared to be healthy with bright colors, big and little fish and there were sharks and turtles. We did a shark dive on a ship wreck and that was an experience I won't soon forget. One of the dive masters gave me a shark tooth from the dive so I'll always have a little something to remind me of how much fun it was.

As I said, this is one of, if not the best dive trip I've had so far. Great diving, great crew and the rest of the passengers were fun as well. I'll definitely be recommending Blackbeard's to anyone that will listen and hope to be back again someday soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great diving and great crew.
Liked least: the toilets - they worked just fine, but were really small.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valllll
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing