We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great liveaboard with phenomenal crew”

Review of Aqua Cat Cruises

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
11 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Nassau, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James S
Mount Vernon, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great liveaboard with phenomenal crew”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I did my first trip on the AquaCat with a group of friends and Conch Republic Divers in March 2017. I have done multiple liveaboards around the world and AquaCat ranks right up there with the best of them. The boat is spacious and well laid out. The cabins are spacious (some of the biggest I have seen on a liveaborad) and comfortable. The dive deck is comfortable and efficient. Having said all of that, Captain Ron and his crew put the experience over the top. The are professional, courteous and will do their utmost to accommodate all requests in order to make your trip an unforgettable experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattkbunk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An outstanding dive experience!”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed a wonderful week of diving on board the Aqua Cat. The entire crew did an amazing job taking care of everyone. Good diving good food and good people!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryMex
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fifth Visit - Not Much More to Say”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First off, I've been diving for over 40 years, and have well over 1000 dives.

OK, I'm also a diver that doesn't travel in packs, sorry groups or clubs. I discovered Live Aboard diving in 1991, and this was my 19th Live Aboard trip.

Fifth time on the AquaCat, which says a lot in itself.

First off, Nassau is easy to get to.

Relatively speaking, live aboard diving is pre-person inexpensive when you add it all up.
Typically, 2-tank land-based boat dives will run around US$150. I did 22 dives, out of a possible 25 (4 of which were night dives). You don't have to do all the dives, and even in 80º water, I get cold.
The three meals a day offer a wide choice of selections to accommodate any eater, plus mid-morning and mid-afternoon snacks. Land-based again would cost around US$50 for three meals a day in the same caliber.
Accommodations. As a hotel goes, the rooms are small. As a live-aboard vessels go, the rooms are at least 50% larger than other boats. You'd be lucky to find rooms less than US$150 a day in the Bahamas, more if you're a single.

Add it all up and it's a pretty good deal. Add to the fact that you're not tying up to the same dock every night and get to see and dive a lot more different terrain, and it's hard to beat. A lot depends on your priorities. I want to dive, I'm not a beach/sun deck person and I get bored easily. I also like to walk, but that's a little hard to accommodate of a boat. Land based operations may offer cheaper packages but don't offer the diving quantity or quality, and if you go off-season you may end up diving at the same spot multiple times during the week.

The captain and crew are pretty approachable and accommodating and go the extra mile to make it a memorable week out. Would I go again, most definitely, if I can find the time - retired people are busy, but we make room for what's important.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VacayRUs2
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“CEO ”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have been on many liveaboards. The Aqua Cat is the only one we have been on twice. The boat, crew, food and service are exceptional. We highly recommend the Aqua Cat. The cabins and individual bathrooms are spacious. Everybody pitches in to make the stay most enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Fiala
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A five star dive experience”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a first-rate live-aboard dive boat, this is it. The Aqua Cat is a spacious 100 ft catamaran, with three levels and a crew of 10. They specialize in dive sites in the Exuma Islands, offering 5 dives a day on most days (2 in the morning, 2 in the afternoon, and most nights, 1 night dive). In between, Chef Kelly and her crew keeps you very well fed, with excellent meals.
The dive deck is spacious, and they offer Nitrox as well as air. A full line of rental gear is available if you need it.
Captain Ron is a longtime diver, and selected the dive sites based on weather conditions, tides, and other factors. We did a variety - reef dives, wall dives, and one shark dive. The 4 divemasters rotate, offering guided dives, and doing underwater videography - which makes for a highly entertaining end of cruise show.
The week we were on was uniformly excellent. The crew and DM's were supremely helpful, kind, and always available. I wouldn't change a single thing about this live-aboard dive experience. We plan to return for more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggles25...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Top drawer liveaboard”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

If you've tried Red Sea liveaboards then you'll know what to expect. Aquacat is the next step up. Bigger rooms, bigger bathrooms... a bigger boat all round. There is even beer on tap, though, quite sensibly, your first (alcoholic) drink is your last dive of the day. There were sharks on almost every dive together with the usual suspects, turtles, morays, grouper etc etc.
5 dives on most days if you want to. The food is great and plenty of it. The crew are always there to help you on and off with your kit.
Not the cheapest but well worth the extra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Guelph, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding operation ”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I just finished a week of diving on Aqua Cat. This is our 5th live aboard experience and ranks right up at the top with the best of them.
Decent state rooms, good food, comfortable common areas, thoughtfully laid out and we'll run dive deck. The staff however make the trip. Captain Dez, Dive Master Diego, and all the rest made this a simply delightful cruise. All the staff were very attentive and were on top of everything.
We've dove on better reefs over the years, but an easy 3 hour flight, and great service and wonderful ship, we will be back.
Thanks to the awesome staff. You guys made our trip for us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing