We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local cooking”

Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #8 of 278 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bahamian Cookin Restaurant & Bar is Nassau's oldest Bahamian Restaurant,specializing in authentic Bahamian Cuisine.Owned and operated by 3 generations of Bahamian women, this local establishment has been providing Bahamians and tourists with flavorful Bahamian Cuisine for over 29 years.
Weirs Beach, NH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local cooking”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We wanted to taste what bahamians have enjoyed and this restaurant seems to provide just that. Very clean, close to shopping area. Friendly staff and owners. Food is prepared to give u a sample of island cooking. Good job.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nhmotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    86
    17
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were looking for a good place to have Bahamian food while in Nassau, Bahamas, instead we found some of the best food while on our vacation. Large portions, friendly staff and cocktails were awesome. Can't wait to visit the island again; this will be our first stop!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We were looking for some "local" food and found this place from other Tripadvisor reviews. Land and water taxi people kept trying to steer us to "Fish Fry" but we wanted something a little closer. Bahamian Cooking is a little hard to find but well worth the hunt. We shared a cup of conch chowder and the seafood platter. Chowder was good but not great but the seafood platter made us forget all about that. Platter had fried shrimp, cracked conch and grouper fingers along with fries on the side. All were excellent but the grouper was superb. Holy recommend this place as the taste and value were far beyond expectations.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Bahamian food!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stopped by based on the TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. I had the conch fritters and grouper fingers with plantains and rice. It was fantastic !! It has limited hours 11:00am to 4:00pm and is off the beaten path.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherwood-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rancho palos verdes, ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great local place off the frenetic tourist track”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We found this delightful restaurant recommended in our guide book a few blocks back from the seaside street jammed with passengers from the cruise ship behemoths. The food was very good with an air of local authenticity. There were only two other parties in the place so it was quiet and relaxing (a few people came in for take away also). My wife and I shared an order of conch fritters, conch chowder and BBQ chicken. We had the fritters and chowder at other places in the Bahamas and this was by far the best and the "conchiest". The BBQ was a local take with a milder sauce than one finds in the US and accompanied by the iconic peas and rice and fried plantains. The service was well done but don't be in a hurry. We found the prices quite reasonable and the portions ample.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank travelwolf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing