We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italiano”
Review of Fi'lia

Fi'lia
Ranked #50 of 330 Restaurants in Nassau
Price range: US$40 - US$70
Description: James Beard Award Winning Chef Michael Schwartz brings honest Italian food featuring fresh ingredients from the hearth and the simplicity of handmade artisanal breads and pasta to Fi’lia.
Restaurant details
Description: James Beard Award Winning Chef Michael Schwartz brings honest Italian food featuring fresh ingredients from the hearth and the simplicity of handmade artisanal breads and pasta to Fi’lia.
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Service was a bit slow however they were very friendly. I had pasta and it was delicious and was enough as they give you bread and oil dip so you don't feel hungry!

Thank Penelope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G, On behalf of the General Manager at Fi'lia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry for the slow service. We're so pleased you enjoyed your experience of Fi'lia. Please let us know if you return to Baha Mar as we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018

We ate here twice while staying at the Baha Mar in Nassau which by the way is fabulous. Our waitperson, Shanique, was outstanding and we recommend her to anyone who is dining at this restaurant. Also, they offer gluten free pasta options which was important to one of our children.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ldugat2574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G, On behalf of the General Manager at Fi'lia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your experience of Fi'lia. We will also share your review with Shanique. Please let us know if you return to Baha Mar as we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Fi'lia was definitely one of the best restaurants on the property and the service and staff were great (the food was fantastic)

Thank bak18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G, On behalf of the General Manager at Fi'lia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your experience of Fi'lia. Please let us know if you return to Baha Mar as we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

What an opportunity for success. Upscale Italian at the BahaMar. James Beard award winning chef. All you have to do is execute.

Fi'lia has only been open a short time. After our recent visit it is evident that despite all of the hype, the place has a long way to go.

With Capriccio down the road to the west, Luciano's down the road to the east and the wonderful Matisse downtown, so far, Fi'lia pales in comparison to the Italian competition in Nassau. A more distant competitor in terms of drive time, NYC's Carmines, is a also solid Italian choice over at the Atlantis.

So here we are at the new Fi'lia at BahaMar. The trattoria's indoor ambience is terrific, upscale and consistent with this wonderful, swanky new resort. Fi'lia also has a nice al fresco patio in the back that is more casual, overlooking the beautiful BahaMar property.

To begin I went with a glass of a Friuli Pinot Grigio, Ca'bolani. It was served in an interesting non-traditional glass. One of my expert dining partners, Ms. B, says the glass reminded her of "Pottery Barn". Hmmm. In an Italian place with a fine wine list like the one found at Fi'lia one might hope for Riedel or similar, not PB. However, the Friuli was refreshing, light and delicate, for sure. It was a tasty, but disappointing pour in an uninspiring glass, though,

After ordering our starters came out randomly. The meatballs come in a cereal-style bowl. Four tasty meatballs swim in a decent red sauce, topped with some melted mozzarella. This app would have been very good if the meatballs were hot. Sadly they came room temperature in the center.

The highlight of the entire evening was the table side Caesar Salad preparation. I miss the old days when waiters wore white shirts, bow ties, and white jackets and could whip up a proper Caesar in a bowl right in front of you. Ms. B ordered the Caesar and we were not disappointed. Garlic, raw egg, home made croutons. The waiter was wearing a t-shirt instead of the white jacket, but other than that this is the way a real Caesar is made. Well executed, Fi'lia! Things went quickly downhill thereafter.

My colleague, Mr. R., was brought his Hangar Steak and Ms. B. was brought her meal, the evening special - a crab filled pasta with a vodka blush sauce. Both looked great, but our fourth guest, Ms. C., and I were not brought our entrees at the same time. We waited. And we waited. And waited some more. Since Ms. B. and Ms. C. ordered the same dish, the special, they shared and kinda picked at the solitary pasta dish in their best Ms. Manners imitation. Mr. R's manners were impeccable, however, despite the table's urging to dig in. He dared not a bite. So it was that we finally got Ms. C's pasta special 20 minutes later. Followed several minutes later by my Bolognese pasta. Mr. R's dish was perfectly cold, and the women shared the recently delivered second pasta plate.

I won't even get into the taste. It didn't matter that the Bolognese, one of my tests of an establishment's Italian cooking ability, was pretty good. It didn't matter that the pasta special was pretty good, either. The service made it all an epic fail.

The icing on the cake, in a metaphorical dessert kinda way, was that Ms. B. ordered the lemon gelato for dessert, and it wasn't available. Our server, Sean, apologized for that fact and comp-ed Ms. B. a berry sorbet.

Wow. A completely jacked up service, entrees coming out at random, and the focus of their embarrassment was the dessert? SMH.

BTW, also in the BahaMar, Katsuya and Swimming Pig did not show similar start-up problems in their early months. Both of those on-property restaurants are very good choices. At the prices you pay at BahaMar you had ought to come out of the gates with both excellent food and service. Period.

We are business people who stay at BahaMar frequently - like every six weeks - so I am sure we'll continue to gauge service and the food over the coming months. We'll give them a second chance, but with quality Italian restaurants nearby Fi'lia needs to step it up to be truly competitive here in Nassau.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G, On behalf of the General Manager at Fi'lia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your dining experience at Fi'lia. We are glad you enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant, but after that, we clearly did not deliver on the desired experience we intend to give to our guests. Your comments can only be used to improve our restaurant moving forward. We would love to hear more about your experience and to be given the opportunity to make it right for you with an exceptional experience next time you are visiting Nassau. Please feel free to reach out to us via email at george.seremetis@sbe.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Family ate here one evening. Service was good throughout, although I hate it when they charge you $12 for a bottle of water, when they do not give you an option for anything else (I asked a buser 1/2 way through if tap water was an option .... and it was).
Meatball starter is very good.
Hubby and I shared the rigatoni bolognese. I didn’t care for the flavor & so added the left over sauce from the meatballs into my pasta. My kids liked the cheese pizza & it was big enough to share. $100 for four people & we only had 1 starter & 2 meals. Bit pricy for what you get, but it was alright. The bread & oil is really good. We didn’t care for it enough to have it a second time on our week-long stay. Oh and my son had 1 lemonade. It was a 8 oz glass & it was $6. Crazy! They should provide drink prices on their menu.

Thank Tink0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G, On behalf of the General Manager at Fi'lia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your dining experience at Fi'lia. While we are glad you enjoyed the food you ate, we apologize if there was miscommunication during certain stages of your meal that brought it down. We value your comments and will use them as training tools to improve moving forward. We would love the opportunity to have you back in the restaurant on your next trip to Nassau and we will be sure to make the experience exceptional. Please feel free to reach out via email at george.seremetis@sbe.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fi'lia also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Fi'lia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing