We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stone stairs, quite a trek if you want to walk them” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen's Staircase

Queen's Staircase
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
Nassau City and Country Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #7 of 123 things to do in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This limestone staircase was built by slaves to honor Queen Victoria's help in the abolition of slavery in the Bahamas.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stone stairs, quite a trek if you want to walk them”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is located very closely to Fort Fincastle, historic site but if you only have one day here it could be better spent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 38allovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    556
    288
    43
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The queen's staircase was one of the most amazing places that I have seen. It was beautiful and different.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AGRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
626 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Worthwhile to walk too to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

It is worth it to walk here to see this & the nearby fort. This looks more like an ancient relic from within a rainforest rather than someone quite close to downtown Nassau. The history is memorable. If you cannot make it to here, reading about it is enough. We had time & enjoyed the walk here. We spent about 10 minutes actually here though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller TX
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We walked from downtown. There are not any singes (or at least we did not see them) so it was good we had a map. The stairs are a nice historical site, that lead up to one of the forts on the island. There was a local there who would tell you the history for a small fee, he was talking to others so we did not get his tour, but the others seemed to enjoy it. Overall it was impressive when you think that slaves had made them by hand.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank alicoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Out of the way but enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is about a 15-20 minute walk from the cruise terminal so it's something that can be visited easily but you might need directions on how to get there. I did not see any signs directing you to this or any of the Nassau attractions. It's very historic and it would have been nice if Nassau had some signage up about it and it's history. It's amazing that this could have been carved out of stone and now with it's greenery it's a very pretty little place to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1890girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queen's Staircase also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Queen's Staircase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing