We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the worst nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the worst nightmare”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lots of fleas!! Lots!! I brought back a few to my home and had to spend a whole day to clean my room. My skins are full of flea bites, and itchiness. I hate it! I have to put specal cream on to take care of my skins now. I don't want to leave scars. Having mosquitoes and bees outside was okay because you can only control it so much, but fleas???!!!! You can take care of it if you keep the room clean. Although the room was very spacy and people were nice, it was awful due to its dirtiness. It was quite far away from downtown too. You always have to get on a bus to go anywhere. Although it was 20/30 minutes ride and $1.50 or $2.50 per ride or so, it was a little bit inconvenient. All the bus stops around 6 or 7pm, so only the way to come back to the hotel late night is by cab. Most of the entertainments is downtown, so you may want to find a hotel downtown if you don't want to take a bus to get anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    5
    7
    28
See reviews for
6
20
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

It is a hotel that offers basic amenities, not a fancy place, is typical of a Caribbean island hotel, nothing special, I knew I wanted something like that because this is not a place with high expectations, the staff were friendly and they always smiled, although mosquitoes and bees were plentiful around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Srwinkjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

To start with, I loved the location...Lots of trees, a nice but small pool, and a quieter environment than the Paradise Island hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpful. That being said, there was only one restaurant in the complex and not much of anything else. Would I go there again knowing what I now know about the place ... probably because of the favourable rates

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I was a weary stressed out traveler who is from a farming community in Virginia. I reached Nassau and made a bee line for Orchard Garden. My stress started to go away as soon as I sat down with my Red wine in the pool garden area. I spent the rest of the night visiting with 3 bottles of wine the new owner and a friendly guest from the States. The next morning I left for the out islands.

The only draw back to this Hotel is that they need a bigger outside ice machine.

I loved Orchard Garden

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you are looking for a fabulously modern hotel with which gives you outrageously over priced facilities, then the Orchard Garden is not for you. This is a hotel for someone looking for a great price and loads of atmosphere - a wonderful relaxing tropical paradise with trees that actually grew up there from seed (not stuck in the ground last year by some landscape "artist"). The gardens are wonderfully attended with massive Cotton and Tamarind trees, loads of flowering plants, fruit trees and well maintained lawns. The pool area is a place to relax and soak up the sheer tropicalness of it all. There are masses of birds including a pair of the very rare Bahama Parrots that seem to arrive every morning, a bit too early for my liking as they are pretty noisy!
The office staff are very helpful and the maids do an excellent job. There are security guards at night for added comfort. The hotel has free wireless internet connection which, I understand, is being upgraded due to it's popularity. The rooms are simple but clean and well appointed.
The Orchard is 400 yards from Montagu Beach and there is easy access to the City of Nassau either by bus or a short cab ride (10 miinutes from the Shirley Street bus stop). There are also loads of other facilities within easy distance.
If you want a very special place where you can kick back and relax, but within easy distance of everything Nassau has to offer, then I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balmainantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Orchard Gardens is a great value. Clean and friendly and removed from the din of downtown Nassau while being well connected by local buses. It is a 5 minute walk to Montagu Bay and the shops are just a little bit further.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Can't believe that this "Hotel" still exist. It's in the middle of nowhere and the rooms were like a horror movie. Humidity everywhere. The ceiling was close to wet, the beds had 2 mattress on top of each other and the bottom one was molded and brown. The blankets were humid. Don't want to tell about the shower. The pictures tells it all. We didn't dare to use this 'bathroom' and slept in our clothes on top of the humid blankets. Really hope that they'll close this "Hotel" for good!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nassau hotels
2.2 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#19 of 37 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.5 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#26 of 37 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
11.1 mi away
Coral Harbour Beach House and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#18 of 37 in Nassau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Property: Orchard Garden Hotel
Address: Village Road, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden Hotel Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing