We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing Hotel”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

When we got to our hotel room the curtains to the windows were closed and the room was dark and uninviting. When we opened the curtains we realized this was on purpose as we faced another row of hotel bedroom windows. We hadn't booked a room with a view so no complaints about the lack of view but we had to keep the curtains closed otherwise the guests across the way could see in. Location of the room was very quiet, no complaints about any noise as stated in previous reviews.

Our hotel bathroom was nice and spacious with a walk in shower and tub. Bathroom was great until you turned on the water. The water from both the sink and the shower was brown and had a foul smell. The shower head was dirty and needed to be cleaned. We had a full selection of towels on our first day and the rest of our stay we were left with only bath towels. No hand towels or face cloths. I wouldn't normally be so petty to point such stuff out but when you are paying a $34 per night resort fee you expect service to be above average.

At check in we were told about the Thanksgiving dinner that was being served until 3:00pm. It was 2:30pm when we got to the restaurant. The servers and hostess were all gathered around the hostess stand and even though one of the servers told the hostess several times that we were a party of two, she made no eye contact or acknowledged us and we felt that we were interrupting her. The restaurant was not busy and when she finally sat us it was at a table that was not set and that was in the corner and by the server set up station, even though tables were available by the windows. She then abruptly told us that if we wanted to order from the menu we would have to do so now as the kitchen closed at 3pm. We were not feeling any hospitality so we decided to leave.

The bed was very uncomfortable and you rolled into the middle of bed as it sloped.

On a positive note, the hotel grounds, pool, and beach were beautiful and very clean and the cabana beds are a nice touch. The beach is man made and it is nice to watch the cruise ships come and go, but not sure I would swim in the water due to the pollution that must come from them. Concierge, front desk and maids were always very friendly and great cocktails from the Bullion Bar.

In general we were very disappointed in our stay. We have stayed many times at Hilton properties all over the world. In the past we have always chosen Hilton as we can rely upon the high standards and great customer service this was not the case at the British Colonial Hilton. The entire stay felt like hard work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsaymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear you were pleased with the room in which you stayed and our pool and beach.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced and unacceptable level of service you have described. We are surprised our staff displayed such unprofessional behaviour. Although the type of attitude you encountered is inexcusable, we can assure you it is not in keeping with our usual high standards of courtesy and respect. Please accept our apologies.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    1,105
    586
    325
    197
See reviews for
681
1,251
220
613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Hotel itself is very beautiful and welcoming with a lot of wet floor signs, but the staff are very friendly. My family and I were confused about what to do in country so I met a female Security Officer name Yanique in the lobby who was very helpful about things to do. It was ironic that she knew almost everything a Concierge Agent would say to you. Almost everything closes after 6pm, so she found a Sports bar for my husband and son to watch the big game and gave me pamphlets on things to do the next day with the kids and where to dine with my husband. Her overall recommendations were great, especially the food and tours. We're planning our next trip :D .Thanks Yanique!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that Yanique was very helpful and gave you lots of information on things you can do while on vacation. I will let Yanique know she contributed to you both having a great stay.

Thank you for choosing the British Colonial Hilton as your vacation destination, we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel offers lots of charm and character. Ideally located close to down town Nassau, its with in walking distance to many attractions and sites. The grounds and amenities are well kept, The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Definitely, one of the best hotels in the Bahamas!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are most pleased to hear our staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau, and we are happy that you enjoyed the location.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Since my previous stay, I am glad to report that there has been a tremendous improvement particularly with regards to the staff at this hotel. On arrival, I was warmly welcomed by the ladies on Reception (Keisha and can't remember the other lady's name). My room was exceptionally quiet, (as compared to last time) and very comfortable all round. I ordered lunch outside - it came in super-quick time with pleasant, friendly service. It was a very tasty chicken salad. The beach towel guys were also very cheery.
I would say well done to the Hilton Colonial for actually acting on feedback; this a a good testimony on how a hotel should continually focus on improvement and customer feedback.

Room Tip: Rooms to the SIDE of the hotel (left hand facing towards hotel) are going to be the quietest. Less r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimski44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We depend on feedback from our valuable guests to assist us in any improvements necessary. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we certainly appreciate your comments.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to many more opportunities to extend our authentic hospitality.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havana, Cuba
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Overall it's a very nice hotel and friendly staff. However, the hotel policy in smoking has to be reviewed. I agree that no one should be allowed to smoke inside the hotel but why is it that this policy is applicable to outside of the hotel? Also the check-out time should not be 11.00am. Most hotels' check-out time is 12 noon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jojie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel is gorgeous on the outside, and the rooms are nice and updated at first appearance. Then you dig in. Paint is peeling off in your bathroom revealing rust. The doors of the elevator are broken off, and no attempt to fix it. Try to take a bath perhaps, and you will note the brown water filling your bathtub. That's odd, you might think. So you take a glass, and fill it with the shower water. Hrm, its the same nasty brown water. Must be my room, right? You go down to reception, and there they tell you first to change rooms; they show you 3 rooms all of which have the same brown water; then they tell you "we've just replaced our pipes; just run the water for a few minutes"; then its "I don't know whats going on". For 3 days, they had no idea. They did make efforts to make our stay more comfortable, upgrading our room, giving us free breakfast buffet, etc, but we still had nasty brown water in a 4 star hotel, and the staff acted like it was normal.

Then you get to the beach. The hotel is in downtown, and they have a small private beach. The cruise ships come in and out, so they are kind of fun to watch at first. But then, you begin to become nauseated with the fumes from the ships. Each ship throws a cloud of black smoke into the air, which then travels behind the ship and lands on your nice 4 star beach. Not exactly relaxing.

Then you want to use some of their amenities, such as kayaks. For the 3 days we were there, they went through every excuse possible to not give me a kayak. It was obvious they were just lazy. Same when trying to get a volleyball. The guy said simply "oh, someone must be using it" - obviously not true. OK, so how about a drink at the beach bar? It took 20 min to get and pay for said drink. Its like they are going out of their way to create a relaxing environment for you.

If the hotel had clear water, I would give it 3 stars. With the brown water situation, its obvious they need to re-pipe the entire hotel and that is not likely to happen any time soon, I give this place 1 star (less if I could - simply put: DO NOT STAY HERE).

Room Tip: The rooms on 6th floor were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was quite nervous about staying here. I had looked at many of the recents reviews and I almost changed my hotel. However, I'm glad I stayed at the Hilton. Except for a slightly dingy hallway going to the rooms, the hotel was very nice. The rooms was small but modern and clean. All public spaces, indoors and outdoors were well appointed. Great buffet breakfast. And if you like to walk into town, it's the perfect location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear you were pleased with your room accommodations and breakfast buffet.

Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau, and we are happy that you enjoyed the location.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,587 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
1.8 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Property: British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing