We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The view of the bay was pretty, but that was the best part of our stay. Public areas were supposed to have free wireless, but my husband and I never got online. We complained to a woman at the front desk and she just shrugged. They charge to use wifi in your room, but I doubt it worked much better. We had dinner in the restaurant where we ordered the "fresh catch of the day". We got a piece of "frozen" grouper for $27.00 per person. Our server verified that it was frozen. What a rip off! The room had cold marble floors and showed signs that some renovation had been tempted unsuccessfully. Room rates are expensive and not worth it!
Sandy, Peachtree City, GA

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway, facing the water.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sandy1432014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staff is all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and is perfectly located. The pool and beach are immediately accessible, as is downtown. The pool bar tends to close a tad early but that can be worked around. You can download a cruise ship schedule and watch them turn around right at the hotel beach. Overall quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank WIlliam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was my first time in the Bahamas and I was very excited upon arrival to see the beautiful lobby area. We enjoyed the view from our harbor side room, it was beautiful. We were able to watch the cruise ships come into port on Friday which I thought was great until I had to share the "private beach" with paying cruise ship visitors and their very loud children. We had to get our own drinks from the beach bar because what staff they did have on the beach were busy taking care of cruise ship excursion guests. On Friday night there was a private event that kept the hotel guests from utilizing the bar and the band music rocked the rooms. Saturday found even more excursion guests on the beach as well as a children's birthday party at the pool. This night had a private event that closed off the beach and pool area to hotel guests. The booze cruise music blasted from the boat well into midnight as it cruised just off shore. Let's not forget about the added expenses that you get at check out. There is a $10.00 a day housekeeping gratuity, 15% gratuity on all services and an energy cost. We were charged $77 for three days. We loved our stay in the Bahamas but this was definitely not the Hilton experience that we are accustomed.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the harbor view room. The view of the city is not great and the street is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meka0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The rooms were not ready for check-in (4:00pm). The rooms were small. Most (not all) of the staff were rude and indifferent. My wife asked the bartender what was the best tropical drink. His response summed up their attitude: "The one you buy". They get 15% gratuity on all service so why bother with good service? All in all, it was a very poor experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We returned to The British Colonial Hilton in Nassau. We were again on the executive floor, which entitled us to breakfast in the 7th floor lounge. It is closed on the weekend and we had a voucher to have breakfast on the ground floor in the restaurant. Much to our dismay, you only get the basic continental breakfast down there, which is juice, coffee or tea and pastries. That is all sugar and carbohydrates and no protein at all = basically junk. In the Executive Lounge you have boiled eggs, cheeses, cold meat and fruit. The waitress said we could always upgrade $$$$$$ to a better breakfast or complain on tripadvisor. I chose the latter. We felt cheated and left the hotel hungry.

Also, housekeeping is slow. We left the room in the morning and when we returned and would have liked to have a rest at 2.30pm, housekeeping still hadn't been there. Unmade beds, wet towels. Not good.

There is an automatic housekeeping gratuity on your bill. It is not a voluntary tip but they make us pay part of the staff salary in this way. It's a bit surprising as this gratuity does not appear on your reservation. Strange.

Fortunately the windows of the hotel are almost sound proof, as there is a deafening music event in the garden on Friday night. Boom boom. It was impossible to be anywhere outside, including the Executive Lounge terrace. This is not a complaint, really. Many people like this sort of thing and you can always escape to your room and enjoy that - if the beds have been made, that is.

Cruise passangers from the ships are admitted to use the beach and pool facilities during the day. Sometimes a hotel guest is left without a chair. The beach staff is very friendly and do their best to help.

We shall probably return again because we come for business, not holiday, and the hotel is well situated for our purposes.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I am an HHonors Gold Member. I have stayed at this hotel for business every other weekend for four weekends. In this time, here is MY opinion.
1) Bands played past 10pm at night on several nights. The noise permeated our rooms and prevented us from sleeping.
2) Staff appeared rude. We complained about (1) several times. Some of the staff were (in our opinion) quite rude.
3) Had to shift rooms due to AC failing. Some of the rooms need updating in my opinion.
4) Water in hotel smells bad to us. This was worrisome to us. We could smell the water, and we couldn't trust that it met the standards to which we are accustomed.
5) We had mold on the walls in our showers.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband, 15 year old daughter and I just came back from the British Colonial in Nassau as a quick spring vacation reward for the terrible northeastern winter. We've never been to the Bahamas and were not disappointed with the hotel. The room was clean, functional, well kept and updated. The service was excellent too. The hotel has its own pool, which is small, but nice, and is surrounded by ample cabanas and chairs. The pool is right next to an outside bar where you can order drinks to sip in the hot sun, or sandwiches and salads. One of the nice things about this hotel is its private beach. Small, but very nice white sand, and clean. Cruise ships dock right next door and we enjoyed watching them come and go. The British Colonial is in the heart of the Nassau shopping district as well. It's right outside the door. My daughter is a very picky eater, so we were also drawn to the McDonald's and Dunkin Donuts right in front of the hotel. We enjoyed the Fish Fry as well, a collection of restaurants about a 10 min walk away with Bahamian specialty foods (my daughter did not!). Downsides for me were a very soft bed (gave me a bad back), and the fact that there isn't a very good captive eating experience for kids. There's a fancy restaurant in the hotel, but it didn't appeal to my daughter at all. All in all, a good experience, though.

Room Tip: If you've got a problem with noise, stay away from rooms in the front (street side) of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tootsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
2.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,672 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 36 in Nassau
420 reviews
3 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
1.8 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: £161 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing