We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER STAY HERE”
Review of El Greco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Greco Hotel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“NEVER STAY HERE”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I unfortunately was told this was a decent property on my recent trip to Nassau (Jan 23-25 2012). The room was in a good location as others have stated (right across from Junkanoo beach) and very easy access to buses and central to the downtown straw market or fish fry.

However, I came back to the room late and when I pulled back the sheets there was blood on the blanket and sheet. I was MORTIFIED!!!!!! Additionally the shower had hair in it and the shower curtain was completely mildewed. I was traveling alone and was visiting Nassau for the 1st time and did not know where to go. So I was stuck here til I was able to check out as soon as the sun rose.

I agree that the staff is nice and were VERY apologetic..even offered to bump me to a suite room for the cheapest local rate...I said NO. The hotel is not big and so if the cleaning practices existed as they did for my room, I had no faith in the conditions of any other rooms on this property.

PLEASE HEED THIS REVIEW AND STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowldgeispwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    55
    50
    27
    37
See reviews for
29
57
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Pros of Hotel: Good location since it is walking distance to downtown. Located on the main street going to downtown. Bay Street and Cunningham intersection. Junkanoo beach is directly in front of hotel, but you have to cross Bay Street. Easy to get taxis and or the bus in front of hotel. Safe – next door to police station; hotel staff closed the front door at night, but are always there if you come in late. Cozy hotel with European feel. Friendly staff. Free wifi with strong signal in room. 10 minute walk to Arawak Fish Fry. 10 minute walk to the downtown area. Room rates are cheaper than those on Paradise Island and Cable Beach. No extra maid fees on the room rate (I guess 'cause they didn't seem to clean anyway).
Hotel cons: Breakfast was just bread, coffee and tea. (McDonald’s and Dunkin Donuts is a short walk).

Pros of rooms: big flat screen TV with basic cable channels. Working A/C. spacious. walkout deck shared with 4 other rooms. Bed was comfortable. Sheets were satisfactorily clean.. No bed bugs in our bed, surprisingly. No cockroaches, mosquitos, or bugs in the room.
Cons of rooms: Old/dirty run-down room (#15). All the nicer, renovated rooms had already been booked, supposedly per the check-in manager. Dirty bathroom, toilet, spotty hot water, weak shower, dirty shower area, old stained toilet, bathroom not clean, stained faucet, dirty walls & carpet. The cleanliness/quality of this room was worst than a Days Inn – at least our room seemed that way. Towels were old, but fairly clean. We kept our baggage on the dressers because the carpeting and floor was just dark and dirty. We used slippers in the room instead of barefeet. Lighting in room was insufficient. Bathroom light fixture was loose so it needed jiggling to get it to work. You have to ask them to make up the room every morning otherwise they probably won’t do it.

Overall, this place could be better, but the old, unmaintained rooms is a major turn-off. We ended up staying here because of the price and location, but I hate the cleanliness and age of room.

Room Tip: Avoid dirty room #15. Supposedly they have other renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimust4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Thanks Diane to help me call atlantis for the dig to make sure if i need to buy the ticket. She send me an email about the ticket. Then again they booked the snorkeling for me. How so impressive. The housekeeper gave us the bad attitude at the last day before we left. The room smelt so bad They needed to fix the floor in the hall way and in the room.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oae1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Have stayed here in the past, last time being in 2008. Was unpleasantly surprised at the deterioration of the building inside the rooms! Not to mention the apparent prostitution going on. Not cute at all! Front desk people were very helpful and accommodating... Thanks Diane, yoland, and Nikki for trying to make it better, but tell your boss, his hotel sucks! This is not the el Greco that I remember.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimberShreveport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I don't know what i did wrong here. Our room was disgusting, we stayed in rooms 28-30 and they were all at the same level of have-to-sleep-atop-the-sheets kind of gross. Neither of the beds had clean sheets, hair, lent, and stains greeted us as we lifted back the sheets. We asked for another set, and got a wadded up top sheet that was arguably even less clean, so i roughed it on top of the sheets. there were ants everywhere. the drain in the tub-shower was about 95% blocked and by the end of my shower, i was also taking a bath. The cleaning crew kindly push most of the dirt and hair from previous guests towards the walls, so that the area around the sink was relatively clean. The plunger in the toilet wouldn't go down on it's own, but a little handle jiggle did the trick (actually, when we first got there the water line that fills the tank was redirected to the drain hole, it must have run/drained for an hour before i realized it was wasting the water away and fixed it). The window in the shower looked out to a wonderful brick wall, void of light and inches away. Breakfast was fantastic, i was handed a half-full bag of wonder-type bread and gestured towards the popup toaster, luckily there was one last jam packet left or i'd have had yummy dry toast. All in all, a pretty crappy one night stay. In the Greco's defense, it seemed that some rooms were renovated, ours however were not, i would insist on a renovated room.

Room Tip: Avoid, or ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We came to the Bahamas to explore the out islands. We found el greco to be an excellent place to stay a night or two in Nassau between our other travels. We stayed in one of the suites which was recently updated/renovated, very comfortable beds (2 king), and a huge shared balcony. The bathrooms weren't updated but functional/clean, breakfast was very simple. The location is right in the heart of downtown so this makes it easy to walk around or grab a bite to eat at the fish fry. There is a public beach access across the street but after the peaceful beaches of the out islands we just hung around town. Again, great value in this tourist town where things get pricy fast. If there are 4 of you ask for one of the suites, well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelover365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We've stayed in hotel El Greco for 7 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in room 13 (Executive suite) and our first impression of the room was that it was very big. We've got a huge bed and a seperate part of the room for the sitting area. The room was good (incl. WIFI and a big flatscreen) and clean. The staff in the hotel was also very friendly, we asked Diane for some interesting trips we good make and she was so friendly and told us everything where to go and where to eat.
The balcony is very huge, there are 3 rooms who can make use of the balcony, that's probably why it is that big, but when we were in El Greco the other rooms were not occupied, so we had the huge balcony for ourselves. It was great! In the evening there are a lot of muskitos! You certainly have to spray!
The location is very good, near Nassau town (5-10 min walk) and Junkanoo Beach in front of the hotel. The beach in front of the hotel is also very nice. There is the Tini Bikini Hut where you can drink nice cocktails. Very cosy. From the beach you can see the big cruiseships coming in, very impressive to see.
Only the breakfast is really not much, you cannot call this breakfast, only coffee or tea and 1 toasted bread. So we went to Skans every morning, in Nassau Town 5 min walk and there you have good breakfast for a good price!
El Greco is a good hotel to stay in and if possible we will come back sometime.

Room Tip: Executive Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlous27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nassau hotels
0.3 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#19 of 37 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
9.7 mi away
Coral Harbour Beach House and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#18 of 37 in Nassau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
8.2 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Hotel

Property: El Greco Hotel
Address: West Bay St | At Augusta St, P.O. Box N-4187, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Greco Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El Greco is Nassau's premier historic boutique hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Nassau, across from fun-filled Junkanoo Beach and in short walking distance to shopping, entertainment and historic sites. Our prices include all taxes, free telephone calls to the US and Canada, free local calls and free use of the internet. At the El Greco each and every guest is treated like family and made to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your El Greco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Nassau
Hotel El Greco
El Greco Hotel Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing