We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm in a Wild Spot”
Review of El Greco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Greco Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Sarnia Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Old World Charm in a Wild Spot”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed at the El Greco on our way over by ferry to Eleuthera island to go to a vacation house there. We also stayed at the El Greco on our return trip to Nassau so we stayed two nights. We had our teenaged son with us and stayed in the Presidential Suite. The room was huge, had an amazing porch overlooking Junkanoo beach. The sheets were clean and the decor lovely. It was a very loud room. Even with the windows shut and the bathroom door shut we could hear garbage trucks and police cars really early in the morning which was fine since we were leaving early. We were delighted with the helpful female staff, however in the morning when we had a requested a cab be called early for us it did not happen because the front desk manager was asleep. ( This was a young man) We loved the beauty of the old world ornamental bricks and the flowers, the architecture and the furnishings. Sitting on the patio to watch the wild night life and the ships coming in and out of the harbour was fabulous. I just feel that if you are visiting a country that is less well off than your home country you should expect differences, unless you paid a huge amount of money. We did not pay a lot and got a beautiful room with an amazing view. Our friends stayed here too but had a poor experience with older rooms. We would recommend the Presidential Suite. I have poor knees and the walk up to our room was difficult dragging bags....no one helped us which surprised us somewhat ....on our return trip a young man did help us up to our room with our bags...so it must be hit or miss depending on the staff.

Room Tip: I imagine rooms on the back away from the beach are quieter and there really is no breakfast even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MmeMinou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    55
    50
    27
    38
See reviews for
29
57
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Recently got back from a 4 night stay at El Greco. I had read all the reviews before my stay, (the good, the bad, and the downright ugly) and I have to say, my stay was better than I could have ever dreamed. This was a trip with my sister and we booked the presidential suite primarily because we wanted access to that huge patio and the great view of Junkanoo beach. Even though this suite is their most expensive room, it's still much cheaper than almost all other places in Nassau. In past visits, I've stayed at Radisson Cable Beach, and Comfort Suites on PI. This was a better hotel, with a better room, and a better view than either of those places.
The staff were WONDERFUL and treated us like family from the moment we arrived, and always asked us if we were having fun, what our plans for the day were, did we need anything, even asked if we'd managed to reach our mom and check in with her so she wouldn't worry. :)
Our room was large with 2 (very comfy) beds, a sitting room, dining area, fridge, and basic bathroom. Was the bathroom pristine? Nope. The fixtures weren't rusty, but, they'd obviously lived several years in a humid, salty, environment. We didn't care. Was the fridge pristine? Nope. It had some old, permanent, stains in it, but, otherwise did appear to have been scrubbed and it worked well. We didn't let it's appearance bother us. Was is peaceful and quiet outside? Nope. But inside, with the a/c running low we never noticed the outside noise. (For what it's worth, the evenings were quiet.)
Is there an in-room safe? Nope. But, the staff were more than happy to keep my passport and extra cash in their office safe for me.
We too experienced the lack of hot water that other reviewers mentioned, but, I know if we had complained they would have fixed the situation. The weather was just so beautifully warm everyday that we chalked our cold morning showers up to "another facet of the Nassau adventure."
We did use the pool one day, and while a lot of leaves and flower petals needed to be cleaned out, the water itself seemed to be clean. Did the debris bother us? Nope. We decided there were a lot of women in the world who'd pay big money at spas to bathe with flower petals and other assorted botanicals, and hopped right in.
I saw other reviewers seemed to find the neighborhood questionable. We didn't feel that way at all. In fact, I was up fairly early one morning (around 7 or 8 am) and took about an hour long walk up and around all the neighboring streets and found it to be very charming with lots of great photo opportunities. The streets were so peaceful you'd never know you were right in Nassau.
I guess the bottom line is this, if you're looking for a place that looks like all the other places you've stayed or is so clean & pristine that it still has the price tag on the window, then move on...El Greco isn't for you. If you're looking for a place that's small, full of character, has a beautiful staff, is located on a great beach, is perfectly located halfway between the fish fry and downtown, all at a very reasonable price, then you just might love El Greco as much as we did.

Room Tip: We stayed in the presidential suite which was on the second floor so it was fairly open, bright and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tropigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ausitn, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at El Greco for a couple of nights recently, and the place was fine if you just needed a place to sleep for the night. We stayed in one of the executive suites and the room was very big and updated. The room could stand to be a little cleaner as there was lots of black hair on the bathroom floor. I did see people cleaning the rooms, so I think that they need to be a little more thorough. The male that worked the front desk was not all that friendly, but catered to our requests. He seemed much more interested in socializing with friends than helping his guests. The woman at the front desk was incredibly helpful and super nice.

I only had two big complaints about El Greco. We had no hot water the first morning we were there. The boiler was off which meant I had to take a freezing shower before we went out on an excursion. The water was fixed after bringing the hot water situation to their attention again after we got home from the excursion 8 hours later. My only other complaint is that the male working the reception desk was letting his friends stay in the suites next to us. It wouldn't have been much of a big deal except they were loud and I was paying $150 bucks for an executive suite and there were people coming and going in and out of the other rooms like it was a cheap motel that people live in.

El Greco is beautiful property and has potential to be an amazing boutique hotel, something that Nassau is really lacking. I know that the property is for sale, but management really needs to intervene before the property and it's reputation is ruined.

Room Tip: There are two executive and one presidential suite. They are updated and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great prices, great location, great staff. But seriously not clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I came here for a week an loved every moment. I had room 11( View and balcony amazing) and then moved to a room by the pool becouse we origanally booked just for 2 nights and wanted to stay longer.

The people that worked there were so sweet and helpful with everything we wanted to do. Also giving us tips where to eat and where not to go too :)

This place is so perfect if your looking for a low key, locally owned "mom and pop" kind of place. 10 out of 10 in my book!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provence
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were meeting up with our family prior to a week on one of the family islands. Our daughter selected the hotel because we did not want an American-style giant block.

While the staff were delightful, they were obviously paddling like mad underwater to keep what was surviving afloat.

The district is not for the faint hearted in fact we observed several events of a dubious nature, even inside the hotel. There is a public beach right opposite (the Junkanoo Beach) and very loud music is played all day. But it stops at night.

Breakfast, other than tea, coffee and bagels is no longer available as the restaurant is up for sale. There is no bar but limited cold drinks are available.

The real problem is in the rooms, stylishly furnished once upon a time, they are now tatty and sad and not at all clean, especially the bathrooms. We had to ask for towels and were given one, threadbare one each.

Worst of all there was almost no hot water for all 5 nights (3 on way in, 2 out).

We would not stay there again - despite the lovely people at the front desk.

Room Tip: Difficult to advise as they all seem to be noisy at different times and for different reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We just returned from a trip last night which included lodging at this hotel. This was a Senior class trip for a small private school, booked thru Joshua Expeditions. The entire hotel is in a sad state of disrepair, including plumbing, electrical, broken furniture, broken bathroom fixtures, mold in the bathrooms, mold in/on the a/c units, filthy flooring, etc... I actually had to ask for bleach to clean! IF there are rooms that actually look like the website, we didn't see them! I agree whole heartedly with "Sloppyness with a smile" in their description of the rooms, however due to the bar across the street, I can't agree with great location if you are a family. This hotel has the potential to be a really beautiful place, but I'm afraid it will take new owners and property management company to do so.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nassau hotels
0.3 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#20 of 37 in Nassau
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Coral Harbour Beach House and Villas
6.8 mi away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#19 of 37 in Nassau
394 reviews
8.2 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Hotel

Property: El Greco Hotel
Address: West Bay St | At Augusta St, P.O. Box N-4187, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Greco Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El Greco is Nassau's premier historic boutique hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Nassau, across from fun-filled Junkanoo Beach and in short walking distance to shopping, entertainment and historic sites. Our prices include all taxes, free telephone calls to the US and Canada, free local calls and free use of the internet. At the El Greco each and every guest is treated like family and made to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your El Greco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Nassau
Hotel El Greco
El Greco Hotel Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing