We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
28
58
52
31
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
58
52
31
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish fry the location is perfect small hotel tiki hut junkanoo festival straw market conch salad 5min hilton
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018

This hotel and it's staff are amazing! We just got back a week ago from our 9 day stay celebrating our 10 year anniversary. Yes there are improvements that need to be made, but that could be said about any hotel.... Plus, lets remember .... this is not an Atlantis Resort or even a Holiday Inn, this is a small hotel with around 20 rooms without a big name attached that is doing the BEST they can and they really are doing their best. The location is perfect. Short walk to downtown and right across from the beach. A lot of people have complained about the hot water, I think we found a solution. Take your shower at night (seems maybe there is a high demand in the mornings for hot water cause night time was fine) and let the sink run a bit first. We had no issues with hot water once we did this. Our room was gorgeous. Huge room and very clean. We had the big front patio which was fun to sit on in the evenings and listen to the music from the Tiki bar (very $$$ bar) across the street. Our bed was very comfortable. WIFI was great. We had zero issues with anything that was within the control of the hotel. In fact my favorite part was the tremendous amount of friendliness and pride of every single one of the staff members. Everyone was so very kind and helpful. We were treated like family. A special thank you to Ms Diane. She (along with everyone) helped to make our vacation so very special. However there was one day that the hubby and I decided to sleep in (it was rainy) so we were not up and about at our normal time, Ms Diane grew concerned and called up to our room to personally check that we were OK. This was so very kind. I wish I knew more people like that! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you :)

Room Tip: Tell them what your looking for, they are VERY helpful
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsRobinson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Greco H, Public Relations Manager at El Greco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We are more than grateful for your comment. We hope that you enjoyed your experience on your 10th Anniversary. We will continue to do our best to provide quality service. We are wishing you both lots of Love and Laughter. Hoping to see you again in the near future. Thank you for Choosing the El Greco Hotel as your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We were happy to be back at the el greco. The new paint job looks great, staff was wonderful, our room including the bed was great. Shower was tepid.
We will return. I love the proximity to the straw market and fish fry.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Greco H, Public Relations Manager at El Greco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Welcome back to the El Greco Hotel Ms. Kathy. We will continue to do our best on improving the appearance and service of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time out to write your review. Hoping to see you soon! We miss you already!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

No hot water! The street in front floods knee high in moderate rain. The only plus was they give me parking down the street in non flood area and were friendly, but kept telling me the hot water was about to start working so i was sitting around and kept checking. When the water was running like metal particles would come out I guess the pipes are real old.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank curtisp854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Greco H, Guest Relations Manager at El Greco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

We Truly apologize about your experience. At the moment we are under renovations, and in the future hoping the hotel will be to your satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Our three night stay at EL Greco was awful. The hotel does not have hot water if you can even get water at all to shower. Every time we called the front desk, we would get a different answer..oh maintenance needs to turn the hot water on, oh let it run for awhile, oh the hot water wont be on until noon, etc. A few occasions the water shut off completely mid shower. We were moved to a different room the last night, but encountered the same problems.
Also, the first two nights we noticed a black powder under the sink, which turns out were termite droppings/eggs?!!!! The hotel staff never came to clean up, instead waited until regular clean up time the following day, which afterwards black powder reappeared....
Each time I asked to speak to a manager, I was told a different time she would be in. "oh she'll be in in the morning or she'll be in tonight...
When I finally did speak to the manager, she refused to reimburse anything stating that since we were on a discounted rate of $110/night we weren't able to receive any money back and gave us a tiny tiny box with butterscotch candy inside.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ConnieS1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Greco H, Guest Relations Manager at El Greco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

We sincerely apologize about your experience. We will focus on these issues immediately. Thank you again for choosing the El Greco Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This is by far one of the worst places i've stayed. Dirty, unfriendly, bugs...and frankly, it feels a bit unsafe. It's in a street corner that looks very unsafe and messy. While waiting for my room, the lobby was filled with bugs that wouldn't stop pestering me. The 'lobby' was open and HOT AS HELL! Now the room looked basic; i'd say you get what you pay for but i've been to hotels for the same price in the UK and it was sooooo much better. I got a used roll of toilet paper; the water smelled awful the first night; there were 3 locks on the door which terrified me--i only had the key for one; only ONE button worked on the remote; the bathroom window opened up into the HALLWAY! The balcony was a mess! It was not the best experience but if you're on a budget, i guess, don't expect too much.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Jo-Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Greco H, Guest Relations Manager at El Greco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

We truly apologize about your experience. At the moment we are renovating and hoping that we will be at your satisfaction. Thank you again for Choosing the El Greco Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews