We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
126
59
13
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
59
13
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscigar factorychocolate shoptour of the wine cellarhand rolled cigarroll cigarsbritish royaltygovernment housetiled poolhistoric charmhotel offeringwarm afternoonlush gardenscharming hotelspent a long weekenddowntown nassaupiano loungevisited this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017

I was booked for 4 nights but left after one night. The hotel is old and tired, It purports to be charming, but it just is not (and I have stayed in a lot of country house retreats in England). The room was full of tatty antiques and the bathroom was awful - a rusty shower curtain rail and a shower that barely dribbled - worthy of a slot on Vacation Nightmares. I had dinner at the hotel which is supposedly excellent. The food was average. I had a Caesar Salad and the Boulibaise and both were unremarkable. The only thing that was remarkable was the price - $177 including drinks (gin & soda x 3). The gardens are equally run down and unattractive. This hotel will be out of business very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mistermrcadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

I selected this hotel for a two-night stay based on the write up in the Lonely Planet guidebook, which called it the top choice in downtown Nassau. I made my reservation through Booking.com which was a mistake. Instead of a paid reservation as I expected, they passed my reservation off to the Graycliff. According to the confirmation email the hotel was going to charge 30% of the price as a deposit and the remainder 7 days prior to arrival. However, nothing was charged to my credit card and at check-in I was surprised to see additional charges added to the already ridiculous price. Reception was in a side room off the porch and very hot. There was no driveway or doorman and we had to carry our bags from the street up to the porch. The receptionist acted like I should be grateful they were letting me have the privilege of staying there. Very unimpressive right from the start, and that first impression proved true the entire stay. We had the Woodes Rogers room on the 2nd floor. The room was large with a 4 post king bed, desk/chair, fridge, large screen TV, safe, wardrobe closet, ceiling fan and two sinks in the bathroom. There was a large balcony along the second floor but no individual access from the room.

Our room had several problems. The A/C was incredibly noisy and it was preferable to just use the fan and put up with the heat rather than the noise at night. The toilet was clogged and required maintenance right off. The wooden blinds did not work and the lighting in the room was terrible. The shower sprayed water everywhere and flooded the floor. There were no outlets for charging electronics except in the bathroom next to the sink which is not a desirable location. At night the noise from the restaurant and piano bar was very loud and it sounded like we were actually sleeping in the bar. It continued to 11pm. The Internet was terrible. To access the Wi-Fi you needed a separate password for each devise. Once the item was disconnected their system would not show the log on page again so you could not reconnect without repeated rebooting. They were so concerned about anyone using their Internet for free they seemed to forget about actual paying guests getting access.

Staying at this hotel provides absolutely no benefits. It is overpriced and uncomfortable. There is no convenience or special attention. You don't get any history or explanation or tour of the grounds or wine cellar. We learned more about the hotel just hearing tour guides as we passed groups in the hallway. The pool and grounds are nothing special and all need maintenance work. If you want to visit the chocolate factory or the cigar factory or the museum the first thing you hear is the charge is $10.75. The hotel staff are only interested in the restaurant. In the evening the restaurant and sitting room are completely full of customers. There is no room for actual hotel guests. If you are not going to eat there you are looked at like riff-raff. The hotel wants to give the impression it exudes luxury and elegance and but in fact it is quite average and way overpriced. However, reality does not matter verses reputation. The restaurant was full each night and tour buses were constantly letting groups off during the day for various tours. I might recommend a day tour just to see the hotel but I would never recommend actually staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank ERIC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

There aren't places left like this in the world - an oasis of old-world luxury in a sea of artificial, overhyped hotels and resorts. Here's the thing - you have to love and appreciate luxury to understand this place - to understand how much the owners love life's great pleasures - cigars, rum, cognacs, wines, etc. If you are a bon vivant, it's for you.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexbritell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

It's a nice, gentle and cosy 200 euros/night worth hotel, away from the ugly american style resorts and with nice employees.
... but the rooms are not 200 euros but 400 which is completely inconsistent with a malfunctioning bathtub, a very dark room, a breakfast that is a real swindle and a few other things that you would expect in a two stars hotel.

Greycliff is like Bahamas in general, overrated...everything is worth the half you pay it...

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jacodeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Once that you put a a step inside the property, you feel transported to a whole different dimension, where timeless classic beauty and the finest service life together.
From the uniqueness and vibrant lobby, the fabulous bar, the delicate touches all around and the fantastic artcraft of the cigar section.
You feel like you just step into a different moment in time but with all the commodities of today.
The service is spectacular.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyFirenze5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews