We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
NJ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Like it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed there around Thanksgiving weekend at the apartment 9.
Good view, big room, full kitchen, useful if you want to save money and get some home cook.
The food from restaurant is just ok, a little pricy.
Wifi signal is reachable while using laptop. A little weaker using iphone.
Front desk people are friendly and really helpful.
Housekeeper cleaned room regularly.
Location is a little away from the city center. But it's ok if you take bus to downtown. It takes 20-30 minutes depends on traffic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goccmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    120
    91
    57
    34
See reviews for
70
126
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here while scuba diving with Stuart Cove because it is close to the their harbor. It is reasonably priced for Nassau but in reality should probably be even less for what you get. The main building is nice. Its comfortable and a nice setting to socialize with other guests. The honor bar is a big draw. You make your own drink and make a check next to your room number to be charged on your bill. The meals are quite good, and again reasonably priced . That's the good. The room I stayed in was facing the pool. It was clean but worn out. A small jalousie window in front and smaller one in the shower was the only ventilation. Air conditioner sounded like I was at the airport. The ceiling fan was the best solution to cooling and sleeping. Luckily I was their during a cool season. The location is in the nowhere zone. The beach across the road is not a big deal, sand and water that's it. Their pool was nice but again lounge chairs were old and worn looking. I was monitoring a pair of abandoned worn out tennis shoes left at the pool. They were there when I arrived and there when I left. Anyone there now to check on them for me ?

Room Tip: There must be better rooms than the ones facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichieG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and I just spent 5 nights here while diving at stuart cove's. Overall the resort delivered just what we were looking for - economical, quiet, good location.

We stayed in room U1 which had a kitchenette, 1 queen bed and a balcony with a view of the ocean.

The room was just the right size and having the kitchenette allowed us to cook some of our own meals. The front desk staff were very helpful in pointing us in the right direction and helping us to sort our any issues that arose.

The number 10 bus goes by there and will usually pick you up if you flag it down, otherwise it's a short walk to the official stop. That will go all the way downtown, we also took it to the "super value" to get some groceries.

The hotel is across the street from the beach, it is a public beach and there are no beach chairs provided. We went there once but since we were scuba diving, we had our fill of the ocean and spent some afternoons at the pool instead.

The hotel has a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner however we didn't end up eating there. The prices appeared average for the bahamas. Every morning their was complimentary tea and coffee.

The idea of the "honour bar" was neat where you sign out your drinks and they add it to your tab at the end. However we just went to the liquor store and bough some beer for the fridge.

I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ertraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Our stay at the Orange Hill Inn was the second half of our Bahamas diving trip, and having just checked out of the Hilton, there was a bit of initial shock. I'm not going to lie, I'm a Hilton/Ritz/Westin/Sandals kind of traveler. However, after about a day, it didn't seem to matter and we were fine. Some of the other reviewers have hit the nail on the head in their reviews (Saucer2011 and Jane L): its older and a little shabby, but charming. The owners are super-nice and helpful, and Charmaine at the desk was really sweet too. Plenty of beers and soda on the honor system. Rooms are old, but adequate (a little mold on the top of the heavy industrial plastic shower "curtain"). Towels were soft but a tad worn. There was lots of lush green vegetation, not totally overgrown but not manicured. The pool was definitely very clean. We ate breakfast there every day, it was good and plenty of food. If you're on a budget, this will definitely do the job. The Caves development is walkable, so that gives you other food options. Travellers Rest is a longer walk, but difficult to do on the beach at night in the dark. A cab into town will empty your wallet fast, so beware!

We were in the U "block", so we overlooked the pool. The balcony on the other side had plenty of room, and after our last dive, we were able to get all our gear aired out and dried before packing it and heading home. So that was a plus!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InterPlanetJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We spent our first night in the Bahamas here before going on a live- aboard cruise. The hotel is a bit rustic but very charming. The pool was very clean, the beer and sodas ice- cold, and the honor system in the bar amused us. It's a bit remote, but there is a nice small beach across the road. It can be a very expensive cab ride into town, but if you walk out of the hotel and to the right, there is a market within walking distance that sells a variety of food. I wouldn't book my entire holiday there, but it suited our needs. It was very relaxing and a good value.

Room Tip: The poolside room that we had was clean and the air conditioner was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saucer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I like to think of orange hill as the place time forgot. It is old, but if you are looking to get away from the luxury hotels and obnoxious tourists that want to mistreat the Bahamas this is the place. The people are friendly and a little bit kooky. The rooms are comfortable, but not new. The grounds are not neatly manicured but are beautiful all the same - flowers and green. Not overgrown but not tame either. The beach is down the hill and we spent many a day relaxing there. Buses dont always come down to Orange Hill and got a little bit annoyed sometimes when they found out that is where we wanted to go, but on those days the owner(?) or owners son (?) drove us.

Reno, one of the workers, took us out for the best Conch Salad on the island. Thanks Reno! Can't say I am a Conch fan but it was a good night!

The Stuart's Cove bus came and picked us up for a fantastic snorkelling day! Well well worth it! It was close to the airport and not noisy at all. The hotel restaurant is interesting and the waitor/worker will make sure you taste some Bahamian Cuisine. Well worth the trip up to Traveller's Rest Restaurant - fantastic night!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My previous stay at Orange Hill was not great but I like the location and love the beach so gave them another try. This time around iwent much better. I stayed in room D3 which is in the two storey complex by the pool. I liked this room Imuch better than the one I had before in the single storey "budget" block north of the pool. The room was clean enough, has a decently equipped kitchenette area and a balcony overlooking the Caribbean. The hotel is about the closest one to the airport and the airport taxi only charged $10 (in Nassau the taxi rates are obscene). The manager Brendan does island-style hosting just right. This hotel offers some respite from the big hotels and their ridiculous rates.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b_rad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
5.6 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
3.5 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#19 of 37 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
1.9 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.3 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hill Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hill Beach Inn

Property: Orange Hill Beach Inn
Address: West Bay St, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Orange Hill Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Orange Hill Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Hill Beach Hotel Nassau
Orange Hill Beach Nassau
Orange Hill Beach Inn Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing