We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westwind 2 is great value, great location, low key fun”
Review of West Wind Club II

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nassau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Wind Club II
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Located right on Cable Beach, with two pools (one was heated), two quiet tennis courts & very friendly staff, this timeshare suited our family perfectly for a week away in the sun. This is not the place to come if you're looking for a party vacation; yet a good time was had by all. Mostly occupied by seniors and a few young families such as ourselves, the guests are pretty low key but very friendly. The rooms have new furniture and TVs are just now being re-fitted with flat screens & DVD players. There's not much fancy about the accommodations, but they are clean and fully equipped except for a dishwasher. We were even given a complimentary cleaning mid-week. We had no problems with things others have complained of elsewhere - staff were terrific; towel exchange was fine and plentiful. The location right on the beach is superb. Taking the jitney in and out of Nassau is a real hoot, and also quite convenient. We brought lots of food with us, being forwarned about the grocery prices. For sure bring dry goods, but we also brough lots more (coming in they only asked if we had fruits, vegetables or tobacco) with no problem and were glad we did. We were in a lower unit which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonemanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for West Wind Club II
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

We consulted with trip advisor and after careful looking this seemed like the best option for us. This was our first (and definately not the last) time at the Bahamas on New Providence. Thanks trip advisor comments for giving us insight on all the Bahama locations.
We loved the staff and the new friends we met at West Wind 2. We spoke to people who were in other hotels and on Cruises and they all had a lot of dissapointments. A few people had changed hotels several times because they were not happy with where they landed. (other hotels/resorts not WestWind) . Our only disappointment was the weather was a bit cool (a cold front moved in--totally out of the norm and out of any human control) and that we only booked 1 week here. We should have booked two or more...
Scuba was excellent at Stuart Cove, recommended by Donita. We also had other great recommendations from many of the staff members including where to go to find "authentic Bahama". We saw many things that others would have missed had they not had such great staff to accomidate our inquiries. The jitneys were easy to use, we were glad we werent driving there. No need because all is easy to get to by jitney, activity busses or taxi.
We were warmly welcomed into the group within hours of being there. It was like one happy family. The evening entertainment by local band (and some of the time share owners like Paul) made this a wonderful event we will cherish .
The only reason I should make a bad review is to keep others away so we dont have to stand in line for availability.
This is not a "party" resort or a heavy drinking resort. It is definately family friendly and older couple type location. If you are 20 something looking for the fast pace, this is not your choice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BahamaMama45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This is the place for you if you like a family atmosphere. Pool floaties were strewn across the pool areas more than we cared for. We met many owners who utilize their units more than trade they them. The units are well maintained.
I would be careful if members of your party have any physical disabilities. The upper units have many steps and the grounds have some barriers.
Bring some food to prepare in the well stocked kitchen, if you do not wish to eat out all the time. There is no dishwasher in the units.
The food store nearby is quite expensive, but you can pickup some staples like milk (It was cheaper to buy quarts than to but 1/2 Gal. or Gal.) and bread. Charcoal grills are available to use. Monday night they have a barbeque with entertainment which is reasonably priced.
There is a snack bar on site which only charges to the room. The property is right next to the Sheraton which has many amenities and some shopping and dining available.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Birdsfishnfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed 6/27-7/4 in unit 35 which is the one closest to the ocean. Most days we did not bring anything to the beach--we were close enough to leave the beach towel on our balcony. The units are well furnished---but no dishwasher and only 1 TV. This was not a big concern even for the teens. The wi-fi worked ok--cost around $70 for the week....that allowed them to keep in touch since cells were off-limits. We swam mostly in the ocean and at Sheraton/Wyndham pools. We stayed one night at the Comfort Suites on Paradise Island so we could access Atlantis pools for 2 days (good deal at $155 per nite). The towel service exchange was mildly irritating---you could only get clean towels on M/W/F mornings and since we missed Wed as we were at Atlantis---no towels till Friday. Overall, it was a great vacation and very comfortable facilities for 4 people---and of course the view was amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teastridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

I spent a week at Westwind II and it was awesome. My husband and I took my 1 year old son and my parents. Our favorite things about the complex included: easy access to buses to get into Nassau, the snack bar (amazing club sandwich!!), the beach, watching movies on the beach at night next door at the Sheraton, touring Gray Cliff and seeing cigars rolled, and meeting the friendly locals.
It was pretty cool to go see Atlantis on Paradise Island too.... I must confess that we just walked in like we owned the place and security let us go by. They wanted to charge $35USD per adult, and there is no way that it was worth paying that much money to see the few parts off limits to the public.
I wish I would have known that most of the "regulars" at Westwind II bring a cooler of meat to Nassau since groceries are ridiculously expensive. Bring as much food as you can to avoid buying stuff there.
Overall, it's an awesome place for people who want to relax in a safe (there were security cameras everywhere!), family-oriented complex. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarkesliketoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We just returned from a 1 week stay. West Wind II is a fun place with 2 pools, right on the beach. The unit was a nice 2 bdrm and 2 bath, full kitchen, which was great with 2 kids. We were villa 36, so the pool was right outside the door. We had the Sheraton next door, we used their beach chairs and pools. The also have FREE internet in their lobby. The Wyndham was next to the Sheraton with a casino and Starbucks, we used their pools too. The beach is incredible white sand and very friendly Bahamians. We walked for 20 mins. to the City Market for groceries and we took the bus #10 downtown to see the cruise ships. You can walk to Burger King, Subway and Dominoes (I am sure they can deliver a pizza too.) I could easily have stayed another week and we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boomba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

West Wind II is the best place to go if your ever in need of a nice relaxing vacation. The Beach is beautiful the staff is the friendlier then any other you'll ever come across. No matter what you age ranging from baby to kid to teen to young adult to adult to elderly it is great for all. There are 2 beautiful swimming pools, a great snack bar and seatery, ping pong, tennis, basketball, pool, and friendly people all around you. the villas may not be state of the art or fancy smancy but how often are you really in the room? They have big full kitchens to cook in 2 bathrooms 2 bedrooms and a pull out couch, what more do you need? It is perfect for peace an quiet days without the hustle and bustle of crazed vacationers where you can sit out and relax by the pool and by the ocean but then if you want the fun, hustle and bustle, and crowd you can just go next door and visit the shearton's beach with all the vacationers and go to the casino or big pool, then when you want some more relaxation just come back to into West Winds Private beach. It's liek killign 2 birds with one stone.
The staff treats you as if you knew them your whole life from the second you get there. By your 2nd or 3rd day they already know you by first name. They do everything in their power to keep you happy and put a smile on your face. Valencia the recepionist has a heart of gold and is great with kids and accomedating you. She also has a beautiful voice! Lovely is a great cook and bartender and always brings out a lugh and a smile in everyone. On monday night's they have their annual cookout where Lovely and Slim cook for everyone and good old Count Bernadino and his band plays under the pavillion for everyone to enjoy. Valencia even gets up and sings a few. Its amazing.
I have veen going for 6 years now and i have yet to find a better vacation spot and im only 16!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank westwind2rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nassau hotels
5.0 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#2 of 37 in Nassau
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
0.6 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Club II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Club II

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach | Cable Beach, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#2 Casino Hotel in Nassau
#6 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: £52 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
West Wind Club Ii Hotel Nassau
West Wind Hotel Ii
West Wind Resort Ii
West Wind Club Ii Nassau
West Wind Club II Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing