We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for 1 night”
Review of Arawak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arawak Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Nassau B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for 1 night”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Very basic but ok. Stayed for one night before traveling home from work. Staff were friendly and gave us a good deal as there was 4 of us. By no means a palace! Spent more time in local bars than at the inn but I would go back. Cheep cheerful short stay motel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place is not for everyone. It’s old and run down and the cleanliness is lacking, but it’s inexpensive and within walking distance of down town. I paid $80 for my one night stay. The proprietors Ann and Lloyd, are very sweet. Ann replied to my emails promptly and Lloyd was very pleasant and helpful. It cost $28 for a taxi ride from the airport and they knew where it was at. I was worried about the reservation as they never took my credit card as a deposit. But Lloyd was expecting me and I checked in about 9pm.
I stayed in the Exuma Pad, which had two beds (Queen/Twin), kitchenette, small dining table, shower (no tub), and. The AC cooled down the room within a half hour, but it never reached the bathroom area. The fridge in the kitchen was cold and I didn’t use the kitchen other than the fridge. One of the ceiling tiles in the main area had water damage looked as though it could fall.

Pro’s:
AC worked
Free WiFi, but only in the guest lounge area
I didn't see any bugs or reminisces of bugs in the room.
The bed was Okay and sheets were clean.
They do take credit cards, but give a discount if you pay in cash.
A restaurant, The Bahamian Grill, several doors down has excellent BBQ, and open late.
About a 20 minute walk (1.25 miles/2.15 Kilometers) to downtown, walking by the fish fry and Junkanoo beach.

Con’s:
The cleanliness of the bathroom was in question. There were whiskers on the sink and it didn’t look as though it had been cleaned in a while.
The shower just had a trickle of water coming out of it. And I mean a trickle.
The TV didn’t work, and the remote control’s batteries were dead.
The patio area that is shaded was old and really needed a deep clean. The chairs were a little dirty and hadn’t been wiped down in a while.
Many broken cars in the large lot, besides the Rolls.
There were several blankets on a rack in the bathroom, but had flakes of peeling paint all over them. I don’t think they had been cleaned in a very long time and would never use them.

I was there only one night. Would I stay again? Well the price was right, but there are too many other islands to visit in the world and not enough time. This inn must have been a gem in it's day and is still quaint. If you can tolerate lower quality standards, this is not a bad place or location for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeepers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nassau hotels

Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This Inn is old but serviceable.
The room had 2 beds; the single one's springs were gone and there were hairs on the sheets, the double bed was firm and seemed to be clean.
Over all it looks shabby and dirty and I was glad I stayed there for 1 night only and would not go back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marijke w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Usually spend time in Nassau with spouse's relatives and this time not possible. Looked for a reasonable, clean, convenient place and this was the cheapest overall. Couldn't tell much from the internet photos, so took a chance. Turned out to be a very good place for the amount of money. The room was shabby chic, and fairly clean. The kitchenette was sufficient, and the bathroom served the purpose. The TV worked and the bed was ok and very clean. The towels were fresh daily and quite big & thirsty. The outside areas were clean, pleasant and tropical. The location was good with quick access to the Arawak Key Fish Fry. Mr. Lloyd was personable although his dog was a little off-putting but did not stay outside much. There is NO pool nor fitness center. The little beach across the road is quite scenic but not a good swim.

Room Tip: ask for the beds you need as each room has different accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed with Ann and Lloyd Gay at the Arawak Inn in 2000 and am hoping to return again next year after some time spent in Europe, however I miss the beautiful colours of Caribbean Blue and the hospitality and sheer joie-de-vivre of the Bahamian people. We experienced real Bahamian life and I will never forget the welcome we received from the local people, not only in their street party but being served by the beautiful little people in the shacks next to the quay. Must try Conch salad again and of course Bahama Mama!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidr0yburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My husband and I were in Nassau for two days on a bureaucratic mission. Our preferred form of accommodation is definitely not the big resort type and so we went for the low-budget Arawak Inn, located on the edge of downtown. It's actually only a 5-minute drive from the centre of town.

The inn has fewer than 10 rooms. Our room had one double bed, one single bed, a little kitchenette and a bathroom. It was not brand new but it was in decent condition. Likewise, it wasn't eat-off-the-floor clean, but neither was it dirty. Service was very good and friendly, check-in and check-out was simple and you can't beat the price.

If you aren't looking to spend a long time in Nassau and you don't want the big anonymous resort feel, consider the Arawak Inn.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter42France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

As an American who travels frequently I am used to the more crisp and clean appearance of at hotel 6 or even a Hilton. The Arawak Inn is not that and that's one of the reasons I GO BACK...three times in fact. Yes the water has a sulfur smell whatever its and island and the road is just feet from your door, but if peace and quiet is what you want go to Atlantis for 400$ a night. This is a locals spot for the visitors. I lived in the Bahamas for a few months in my twenties and every time I go back to visit I fly to Nassau stay here and then fly on to Staniel or Eluthera and come back before my flight back to the states. Also the taxi's in the area are extremely punctual even at 4 am.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
0.1 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#20 of 37 in Nassau
251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
3.5 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.1 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawak Inn

Property: Arawak Inn
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a small 5 room hotel, nr. downtown Nassau and major attractions such as the Fish Fry, Ardastra Gardens Zoo, and Ft. Charlotte. Air conditioned, self catering rooms with cable TV, a family island atmosphere, and a 15 min. walk to the nearest beautiful beach. Complimentary tea/coffee is served daily. Rooms are decorated with Androsia fabrics and artworks by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arawak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawak Inn Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing