We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is efficient and in a nice area. The staff are very courteous and helpful. The rooms were beyond my expectations and I must admit they were very clean and equipped. This place can be used for business, pleasure or whatever you want to have it for. The rooms are very clean and attractive. There are recreational sports available for your leisure, such as playing tennis, going to Dolphin Encounters, Snorkeling, Sunset sailing and much, much more. There is also a beach where you can go and have fun and relaxed with family and friends.

The rooms were spacious. Furniture okay. Beds, very comfortable - but the ones on the top floor squeak when you move on them. The air-conditioning was a problem for us. The top floor stays hot, or the middle floor freezes. There's not really any way to get the temperature on the two top levels where everyone can be happy. Property: You may be put off by the condition of the property maintenance. Pool was clean and nice although small. And, there was a lack of pretty landscaping, just a little scrubby looking. With a little TLC, could be awesome. I agree with the viewers not to book the garden villas. Unit 11- does not have an ocean view on the main level, only a view of the ugly pool snack shack (just so you know if you're booking). Some rooms are ocean view, but not but a couple are ocean front. If you know what to expect, you might be pretty happy staying here - if the price is right.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shavado G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello Shavado G,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Blue Water Resort. We are thrilled you had an awesome experience and the rooms exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your feedback on what can be improved. We hope you will consider staying with again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    104
    65
    30
    37
See reviews for
138
57
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The staff here was very helpful and friendly, they are by far the best thing about this resort! The ocean view was fantastic and the units are very spacious. That's where the good news ends. I was overall very disappointed with the lack of maintenance. This place has a lot of wasted potential. There was no hot water in the master bath shower, one of our doorwalls would not open, the air conditioning did not work well, the power was out for several hours one day, and the floors were so dirty and gross we could not take off our shoes for the entire week. I was not expecting anything fancy, and I knew it was an older property, but it should still be clean and functional. They do seem to be in the process of some major work to some of the units, unfortunately this also meant we had to listen to jackhammers and power saws while we were relaxing at the pool and beach. We had asked about this before booking, and we told that they would not be any construction, which clearly was not the case. I agree with other reviewers that they also have a noise problem at night. The music was ridiculously loud until very late hours, and the windows are so poor that it sounds like it is blasting right in your room. When I looked out the window, I saw only one or two people down there, and they didn't even appear to be hotel guests. With a little bit of elbow grease and some updating, this could be a great property. Unfortunately, I would not recommend this 'resort' to anyone in its current condition.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you can get an ocean view unit. There aren't any 'garden' view, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TCStrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbienassau, Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I'm terrible sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay! I am happy to say all of the construction is completed and the resort is back to quiet and calm.
I have passed along all of your items to the GM Hubert to address immediately. Thank you, Debbie Ely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nassau hotels

kansas city
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Recently spent 4 nights at Blue Water Resort, confirmed through Travelocity secret hotels.....turned out to be a super good deal....a really nice property at a great price!!! I was traveling by myself and only searching for a hotel room and ended up in this really nice 3 bedroom villa with full kitchen and multiple bathrooms. This is a great property with a great staff and nice locationl

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboy6554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hello flyboy6554,

Thank you for recently staying with us at Blue Water Resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your three-bedroom villa and had a great stay. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff and property as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again if you return to The Bahamas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Poor is probably a little unfair, but average would too be misleading for consumers. So, here's the good, bad and ugly for my rating.

The good:
Staff is very nice. They do go the extra mile to try to make you comfortable and to enjoy your stay. We did not come across any staff that was not helpful, and that does go a long way in feeling at home when you are traveling.

The unit was very roomy. Great for spreading out with family and friends. Kitchen was well equipped for cooking and the full size refrigerator was awesome. Great to have washer and dryers in the unit as well. If the property were to be upgraded with the right amenities - the rooms and decks have awesome structure (bones), and it could really be an incredible property.

The beach is greatly affected by the tide. It was not really a walkable beach while we were there. There were always rocks that would have to be crossed to go down either way. So, you may not get those long walks on the white sand unless you go down the street and walk on one of the longer stretches of cable beach. Although the ocean is pretty here and very swimmable.

The ugly:
Noise: We had a big problem with noise in our unit. The windows are in bad need of replacement, so you can really hear what is going on outside (as if it's in your room). We were in unit 11, which was in close proximity to the bar. We had to complain on 3 different nights to security, about the excessive loud music, and partying, well after midnight. It always took more than one call to the security officer to get them to do anything at all. We chose to stay in a condo (as we normally do) for the peace and quiet it provides, but do not expect to have that here!

Ants: Ants were very bad in the kitchen, and we are spotless housekeepers. Nothing on the counters, nothing left in the sink, you get the picture. Ants would crawl into the dishwasher, looking for food. They also had a problem with flying termites (that's what they called them. We put a sack of potatoes under the counter and a couple days later, we had a bug problem. So, just be aware you may have to ask them to spray. To be fair, ants are a common problem on many islands, but not usually in the dishwasher...

Room: The rooms were spacious. Furniture okay. Beds, very comfortable - but the ones on the top floor squeak when you move on them. The air-conditioning was a problem for us. The top floor stays hot, or the middle floor freezes. There's not really any way to get the temperature on the two top levels where everyone can be happy. They did try by taping one vent off with cardboard, and closing vents in another room and although we survived, it did not make it comfortable for everyone.

Property: You may be put off by the condition of the property maintenance. Again, generally the bones are there for a nice place. Just, during our stay, they needed to pressure wash the walkways, pool deck, patio chairs (everything). Pool was clean and nice although small. And, there was a lack of pretty landscaping, just a little scrubby looking. With a little TLC, could be awesome.

I agree with the viewers not to book the garden villas. Unit 11- does not have an ocean view on the main level, only a view of the ugly pool snack shack (just so you know if you're booking). Some rooms are ocean view, but not but a couple are ocean front. If you know what to expect, you might be pretty happy staying here - if the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 312AnnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hello Ann F,

Thank you for staying with us at Blue Water Resort and sharing your review. We are happy you found the staff very nice and accommodations spacious. However, we regret to learn our resort did not leave an overall favorable impression. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you wish to provide additional details or discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I just came back from Bluewater and miss it already.The staff was wonderful,the place was clean,and I can't think of when I had a more relaxing vacation.The place was a little dated but I didn't expect the Ritz-Carlton.By all means try to get one of the ocean or pool front units if you can.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hello gary s,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your relaxing stay at Blue Water Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found the resort clean. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff as we aim to Share Happiness with all guests and provide outstanding service. We know you hated to go home but we do hope that you will return to visit us soon at Blue Water Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in Blue Water for one night in June en route to another island. This wasn't our first time in Blue Water, but this time we got an upgrade to villa no2. As always, the reception ladies were really charming and very polite. The villa was nicely refurbished with modern kitchen, huge fridge and all other amenities that you would need, clean, with a beautiful view of the ocean and... no mosquitos. The staff arranged for us a very early morning taxi for next day to take us to the airport, they quoted the driver's name and taxi number (very efficient). Everything went without a hitch and the upgrade was a real bonus especially as this year we were celebrating our silver wedding anniversay (we did not mention this prior to our upgrade) so it was a lovely surprise. We will definitely continue staying in Blue Water in the future.

Room Tip: Chose beachfront if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anuszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hello anuszka,

Thank you for returning to Blue Water Resort and taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff and accommodations. Best wishes on your 25th anniversary and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed (family of 4 with kids 12 and 14) at Blue Water for a week. The grounds are clean, the private beach and pool are very nice, and not crowded. The Tikki bar was fun too. The unit was clean and big so everyone had room to spread out. It's well furnished with cooking supplies, utensils, plenty of TV channel options, and seating for everyone. The grounds are quite, comfortable and safe. The resort itself is very convenient to the Jetney route (number 10) and the grocery store. There are also a few good restaurants within walking distance if you don't feel like taking the Jetney or a cab. The Security staff was incredibly friendly and always willing to help give directions or make sure we got on the right bus. They also gave us some great tips on restaurants and things to do.

There are a couple easy things that could be done to make the units a little better. The WiFi was spotty, but with some effort we did get it working most of the time. I'm not sure what was going on with the room phone, but my Sprint phone card never did work. We weren't able to get an ocean view unit, but we stayed in one that was close. It was perfect for us. I can see where the units closer to the street might hear some traffic noise, but we didn't have any trouble. The units by the beach have a great view, but they cost more and were full during our stay.

Overall, we had a great trip. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit if we needed the space. It was a great value for the money, you just have to remember that you didn't pay for Atlantis so don't expect that once you get there. Bottom line: Book it and spend the money you save on some excursions!

Room Tip: The lower the room number, the closer you are to the beach and farther from the street. The Wok and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N9687m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hello N9687m,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Blue Water resort. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great trip and that you found the resort to be an excellent value. Your positive comments regarding the location, resort grounds, accommodations, amenities, and staff are greatly appreciated. We are sorry to hear that you experienced intermittent Wi-Fi service. We thank you again for your review and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
4.8 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
5.9 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
0.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
3.7 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach

Property: Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau CB13317, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in November 2017. Blue Water Resort is a tropical escape. Relax in spacious three-bedroom ocean or garden villas. Step outside and enjoy the island breeze and sounds of the unending waves. Play tennis onsite or jump into the beautiful ocean-side pool. Treat yourself to the excitement of the nearby casino, go deep-sea fishing or put on your snorkel and fins. At night, visit Da Sand Bar & Grill for dinner, or visit the bright lights of Paradise Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Resort On Cable Beach Hotel Nassau
Blue Water Hotel
Blue Water Nassau
Bahamas Guanahani Village
Guanahani Village
Blue Water Resort On Cable Beach Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing