We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic bang for your buck and nice people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Central
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Knowlton,pq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic bang for your buck and nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

if your looking to visit Nassau and be right in the middle of what you need then this is your place!!!! It was fantastic and the new restaurant is supurb. We loved it and we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorionSuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    4
    11
    20
See reviews for
1
12
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrounded by Water
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

While the hotel has received many bad reviews recently, the owners are working on improvements. Chef Freddy Van Breugel has opened a gourmet restaurant in the Historic Guest house on Charlotte Street that is a part of the hotel property. Without advertising, word of mouth promotions fill the establishment daily with business people, politicians and tourists. Van Breugals is an excellent addition to the planned upgrading of the Bay Street tourist area. Don't miss it if you visit Nassau.

BDAnderson
WetFeetTheNovel

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank WetFeetTheNovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

First of all a massive warning - this place doubles as the local bordello in the Bay Street area.

Secondly, the service, rooms, effort and staff are absolutely shocking - this is without question the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in in my life - including a tin shack at the Zambian border. Stay well clear.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Zaarin2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

This hotel was horrendous. The service was sorely lacking. Not only were the sheets threadbare and soiled, and at some point, upon returning from a day out, we found a piece of hardened, chewed gum in our just changed (by housekeeping) sheets. The room smelled of cigars and stale cologne for the duration of our stay (we don't smoke or wear cologne), the red carpet was so filthy that it was black in some places. The bathroom was less than clean, we found a previous visitor's hair in the sandy/dirty bath tub. This is definitely one of those places where you get as much (or less) than you pay for. I would NEVER stay here again. The website is nothing more than misleading. I don't recommend it to anyone for whom sheer basics include cleanliness. This is horrible place for families, I wouldn't trust children on the floors. The one good thing about this place was that there was a huge air conditioner, the problem was that it was too powerful for the small room. We took a chance on the Grand Central Hotel and it turned out to be more like the Destitute Central.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The filthy room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brightbiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2007

Just came back from from a stay at the Grand Central. Curtis the hotel manager was great..he gave my wife and I wonderful tips for local restaurants and nightlife...the rooms were very nice and clean...location was perfect, can't wait to go back and see Curtis and his wonderful staff at the Grad Central.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2007

I stayed at this hotel to watch the Junkanoo carnival. When I booked the room online, the manager wrote me right back and confirmed my booking. It is a average hotel but it is very clean and the staff is very friendly. After checking the prices of other hotels, this was definately worth the price. Perfect location, right downtown. This hotel was great for me.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank picnic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2006

I stayed at the Grand Central Hotel in January of this year and was disappointed.

There were no amenities in the rooms except for an empty water goblet and a few plastic cups. If you wanted a cup of tea or coffee or needed to use a microwave you had to go downstairs to the reception area. I expected to have an iron and ironing board in the room however when I went to the receptionist I was given an iron (no board) and told to return the iron when I was through.

The room itself wasn't bad but after walking barefooted on the carpet the same night I arrived and ending up with very dark and dirty soles, I realised that the carpet wasn't cleaned or shampooed in quite a long time. I wore slippers the rest of the stay.

The bathroom fittings were old and in need of replacing. The pipe in the face basin dripped constantly but quietly. The maid came in every day to change the bath towels and mats.

The only redeeming point about this hotel is that it is situated just off the main street of the city, within walking distance to duty free shops, restaurants and supermarket,and so transportation is not an issue.

It was definitely overpriced as I have stayed in other islands for less and had better acccomodation.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chankagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nassau hotels
0.2 mi away
Towne Hotel
Towne Hotel
#19 of 37 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#26 of 37 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
10.0 mi away
Coral Harbour Beach House and Villas
3.7 mi away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#17 of 37 in Nassau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central

Property: Grand Central
Address: Charlotte Street | P.O. Box N-4084, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Nassau
Grand Central Nassau
Grand Central Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing