We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of West Wind Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nassau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Wind Club
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have owned a couple of weeks at this time share property for about 7 or 8 years now. I love the fact that it's so small and intimate, but also no pressure to do anything other than what you want to do, including doing nothing if that's what you want. I feel right at home every time I go.
The apartments are small but well maintained, and would house 4 people comfortably, although the maximum is 6, that would be a squeeze.
The pool is clean and the beach small almost non existent at high tide, but that's part of the appeal for me.
Located in the popular Cable Beach area it's convenient to shops and restaurants, but is on the main number 10 bus route so you can catch the bus into Nassau very easily. or take a trip in the opposite direction.
Close to Cable beach golf club if that's your thing.

Room Tip: unit 1 is close to the road, and number 22 next to the pool, and furthest from the road. I have spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlr1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    20
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
284 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The West Wind Club is both a timeshare and a rental. It is a rectangular ,slim property which has a small beach access. There is a club house and a pool.
The web site for the property is excellent. There is a lot of info on it. I also research this website for info. We knew going in that this is not a luxury resort. The owners are involved in the management of the resort, which is a HUGE plus in my opinion. The owners we met and talked with, love their place. All were cordial.
The place reminded me of a retro 50s motel in Florida. Really. Not as cool probably. But, the units are duplexes with older furnishings, a full kitchen, a loft for kids or a second couple, and a private patio with bar-b-cue. The grounds are nicely kept. There is only the one bathroom so plan your stay with that in mind. The TV is in the front room; not a super-sized one.
We found the housekeeping good. There is a linen exchange, and a laundry is available on site. We used the kitchen. We really enjoyed our stay, but we were looking for a quiet get-a-way and not a fancy resort experience.
We felt that the location of the resort was excellent. We had quick acces to the buses and walking access to liquor stores, several bakeries(I favored the Original Swiss Sweet Shop just across the street), a grocery, a casino, and a Starbuck's and several restaurants. Beware of sticker shock at the grocery. Food was at least a third higher than at home.
We used the bus system and walked a lot. That is what we enjoy. My husband hit two casinos and enjoyed them. Downtown was a kick. Shopping for souvenirs was fun. The water was awesome tho a bit chill for us at that time of year.
Select where you stay according to your needs and wants. This is a simple place. It met our needs and wants. We had an excellent time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank watravelinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We loved our stay in Nassau, and Westwind is one of the main reasons why! Yes, it's one of the oldest resorts on the island, but that only told us that it has been successful in treating its guests well. We appreciated that it is convenient to little shops, restaurants, and groceries, and far enough away--short jitney ride--from the crowds of tourists and the busy-ness of downtown Nassau.

The resort's private area of Cable Beach is a great size and is perfect access to the beautiful waters. Along with the beach, there is also an elevated patio to lie out on that includes a hammock and palm-covered table and chairs. The pool is a perfect temperature and is clean and refreshing.

We alternated days on the beach with a few visits to the historic areas, downtown, and the local eateries. But we kept in mind that we were there primarily to relax in the Caribbean, spending most of our time on the beach. Don't expect to be entertained.

The rooms were adequate for our family and linens were clean and well-stocked. But if you only expect five-star quality, this may not be for you. Keep the age of the resort in mind; it's over 30 years, though it has been well kept up for the most part. (The refrigerator leaked, and the bed was a bit uncomfortable by the last night, but those were tolerable.) The individual cabins are orderly and clean, and we had confidence in the provided security measures--special locks, night security guard....

What was most surprising was the personable staff and friendly time-share owners who went out of their way to make us feel welcome, to show us around, and to answer all of our questions. They spent time with us, and we got to know each other and enjoy some laughs. (You won't want to miss the 4:00-6:00 crowd at the clubhouse!) Some of the staff and owners have been there since Westwind opened, so they truly know the territory.

We have traveled many places around the US and its borders, but we've never been anywhere that we felt we were saying goodbye to family when we left until Westwind.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank darnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Please do not get them confused..Just came back from spending 7 nights at the "Westwind Club I". This place is in need of renovations but clean. I agree with the other comments about regular members not being friendly. We got up cooked breakfast, got on the bus, headed for downtown and came back to sleep. We did not hang out there. Some people didn't even speak to you only the employees which were always very friendly like all the locals. We had a 2 bedroom. Let me explain, it's not a 2 bedroom, it's one bedroom downstairs and an open loft upstairs with 2 twin beds (no privacy) very steep stair up. Towel change Tuesdays and Thursdays, no Linen change. No vent over the stove, so when you cook,the smoke alarms keeps going off. Hard Bed.Saw RATS running across the patio and was ready to go but could not find other accomodations,so we stuck it out. Owners very nice but if you are use to a 4 or 5 Star...This place is not for you and RCI awarded this resort for 2011.. and a $85 untility charge

Room Tip: All the units look the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FranklinsFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiumicino, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I spend a week with my family (husband and 5-year-daughter) at West Wind Club....one of the best vacation ever...
It's a peacefull place, clean, with a wonderfull sea...
The staff is great: very helpfull, friendly and nice.
We really didn't want to leave...
I suggest it to everyone who wants a very relaxing vacation on a beautiful sea in a family place.
The location is good, you can get the bus outside the West wind.
10 min walk from the supermarket and place where you can eat or drink.
If you want to plan any activities at the reception they'll do that for you.
It's 20 min from downtown.
The unit are fully equiped. Every unit has its own bbq.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miki77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Our stay at West Wind was marked by the wonderful hospitality of the residents (many longtime occupants) and the incredible complacency of the staff. "Lauren," the receptionist/queen bee is honored with a plaque commemorating twenty years of service and during that time she has apparently honed her routine to allow her to do as little as possible as infrequently as she can. We alerted her, and bartender "Donny" when we checked in on Sunday that we had no hot water and were brusquely informed that there was nothing they could do until the next day. For the next three days we equated the heat in the shower to a lit match, it burned high for about a minute then flamed out completely. On Wednesday we once again alerted "Lauren" that we had no hot water and she once again turned up her attitude in response before alerting us to a public shower option (why hadn't this at least been mentioned when we first told them of the water situation in our unit?). Bottom line: great location, remarkably friendly guests, but a staff that has been there long enough to get comfortable doing the bare minimum.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bostonbudgettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This is one of those places you don't want to miss. Incedible staff! Steve, Donny and Lauren are everything you could hope for. The property is small (only 21 units). Each is part of a duplex with a living room, kitchen, bedroom, bath, and a loft bedroom. With the sleeper sofa, the unit will accomodate six people. The kitchen is complete with full-size range, frig and microwave. This ist not one of those do everything activity-oriented resorts. Rather its a quiet, cozy and comfortable resort. Located right on Cable Beach with easy access to anything you might want to do. Excellent pool and clubhouse (don't miss the daily happy hour).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gwsmith806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
4.7 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
1.5 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Club

Property: West Wind Club
Address: West Bay St | Cable Beach, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
West Wind Club Hotel Nassau
West Wind Hotel
West Wind Club Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing