We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location”
Review of Towne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Towne Hotel
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Towne Hotel is reasonably-priced and in a great location. Walk to downtown restaurants, ferry to Paradise Island, easy walk to Arawak Cay fish restaurants in the evening.
I was in room 46 on the top floor and had no problem with noise. A/c was fine (but not in bathroom). Overall the place was clean and well-maintained, given that it is essentailly open air. Roof terrace very pleasant for some quiet time. Bathroom was basic and old (and very pink) but adequate. Some staff friendly, others just efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retired_engineer_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    66
    81
    36
    42
See reviews for
35
70
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

At the heart of Nassau, reasonable prices, room was OK. The hotel has a cool rooftop terrace and a nice courtyard where you can have breakfast/dinner. Live-music on weekends. A good base for exploring Nassau by foot (which is done in one day). Unfortunately, there is no life in the central part of the town after around 6 p.m. when the big cruise ships leave and the shops close, but Fish-Fry at the Arawak Cay is in walking distance or easily reached with a cab.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImNoJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is small, cute, centrally located in the center of town, and is very reasonable. It has a charming courtyard with a refreshing pool, the rooms are smallish but the air conditioners work well. Easy walking distance to markets & restaurants, and a short/inexpensive cab ride everywhere else I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sultan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The hotel is very good located in the heart os Nassau, so you can walk to Jankanoo beach, water taxi and night bars as Señor Frogs. Cab ride from the airport was about $20 and 20 minutes. The place is modest but nicely kept. The patio, with a super-small swimming pool, is really cute! We loved to have breakfast there (which consisted in coffee, juice, yogurt, toasts, ham and cheese). Rooms are very basic, nothing fancy, but clean. A little bit noisy. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great price! I would just highlight that this is not a luxurious caribbean resort for spending your honey moon, but if you're looking for a cheap nice place to sleep while visiting the island, this is a great hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Car000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We spend few days here is order to visit Providence Island. It is quite well located in order to go to restaurent for dinner and not expensive as others hotels around. Services is done as best as possible (people try to help even if sometimes it doesn't work). This is a bit noisy during night (morning time) due to traffic jam, but it is a choice to be in town. For beach, you will still need to use Bus or car.

Room Tip: Great in order to be able to go shopping and dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freediver-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I just returned from 6 days in Nassau with my daughter and we had a great time. We stayed at the Towne Hotel for 5 nights. The rooms are dated and drafty, but clean. The A/C is very old and loud so if you typically don't sleep with some sort of "white noise", you may want to bring ear plugs. The daily breakfast that is included in your room rate consists of coffee, tea, orange drink, hard boiled eggs, cheese slices, either lunch meat or sausage, jam, muffins, bread and orange wedges. You can order a 3 egg, cheese & bacon omelet for an additional $4. There are also some additional breakfast items on their menu for a charge. I was happy with the choices, but my daughter is a pickier eater than I and only ate their breakfast 2 of the mornings that we were there. The courtyard was a great place to hang out and socialize after dinner. Max, the parrot was in the lobby to greet you every day. Housekeeping did a great job every day – the towels, washcloths and paper products for the room were all very nice.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Straw Market, downtown shopping, ferry rides, Junkanoo Beach and Fish Fry. The downtown area shuts down between 5:30pm and 6pm and after that, it is slim pickings for any kind of dinner and/or entertainment.
The only negatives that I have to report regarding the hotel is that we ate at the restaurant one night for dinner – I ordered the salmon burger and asked the bar tender if it was fresh salmon or a pre-formed patty. He assured me that it was fresh salmon, so I ordered it. It looked and tasted like an oval salmon-flavored piece of cardboard. Not even close to being fresh. Also, the Wi-Fi went out on Tuesday night. By Friday night, it was up and running, but only in the Lobby. It’s a good thing I did most of my research before I left. I believe it was a problem with the carrier, not the hotel’s system.
All in all, we had a good stay – I give the hotel a “Very Good” rating because compared to other hotels/resorts on the island, I think this is a great deal.

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo, soap, etc.; courtyard and street side rooms will be a little bit noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Longlegz510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was almost a hostel expirience except the rooms are not shared.

Very noisy AC which can be annoying even after some drinks..

Good location, close to restaurants, banks and bars.

This is a rough town. The hotel doesn't have any security staff at all, so lonely girls should choose another place in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hjalmar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nassau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
0.3 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#27 of 37 in Nassau
200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#19 of 37 in Nassau
395 reviews
8.5 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Hotel

Property: Towne Hotel
Address: 40 George Street | P.O. Box N-4808, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Towne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Towne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne Hotel Nassau
Towne Hotel Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing