We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but not perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Port Neches, TX
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great but not perfect.”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We just spent 5 days and 4 nights at this resort. Let me start off by saying that we are in our 30's and we are not big party/drinkers. We really went to get away in paradise and that is what this is-paradise! The property is beautiful-I loved the architectural history. The grounds are beatiful and well kept. The beach and water is a postcard image! We had a great time snorkling, swimming, going/participating in the entertainment and hanging out by the beach/pools. Although I didn't think that 20 minutes was enough time for the snorkling trip. We booked a Club level room but I wouldn't do it again. Either go all out for a Butler (those guest had the best service) or get a basic level room. Our room was very small but we spent so little time there that it didn't really matter. It was very clean and that's important to me. Some of the food was fabulous and some was NOT. It was the same with the service. We met some amazing workers and then we felt like we were inconveniencing several others. The offshore island was just "okay" for us and we had the worst meal there for lunch one day. They advertise to have a lot of restaurants to choose from but they are not all open every day. Not to mention that reservations were full for most of them when we showed up. Would we go back...maybe. Would we go to a different Sandals-YES! The all inclusive just can't be beat.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chasnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that overall you had a great time at Sandals Royal Bahamian and enjoyed exploring the beautiful resort and island surroundings. However, we were disappointed to hear that we did not meet all of your expectations and we appreciate your feedback. As hoteliers, we realize that there is always room for improvement and we will be forwarding your concerns to the hotel management team for immediate evaluation.
We look forward to welcoming you back at one of our gorgeous locations in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,725
    2,062
    913
    503
    403
See reviews for
211
6,839
26
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,041)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

What a fantastic experience.This hotel is just superb, great staff, great atmosphere, superb location and the butlers were just brilliant.Everette and Antonio, thank you so much you made us feel, so, special!!

Room Tip: I would sternly advise the superior rooms, with the butlers, Everette and Antonio made our steay ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review, Bill!
We are delighted to hear about your fantastic experience at Sandals Royal Bahamian! It's wonderful that you thoroughly enjoyed your time spent with us and that our staff took such great care of you!
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara area
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We took a quick getaway for a few days at the beginning of November to this Sandals resort and had a very relaxing,enjoyable time. Everyone on the property and on Nassau in general, was very friendly and helpful!
My husband and I travel often and extensively and always like to get a feel for the country or city we are visiting. Therefore we have been reluctant to go to an All Inclusive since we enjoy eating at various restaurants and exploring new territory.
Finally we decided to check one out and chose the Royal Bahamian. It was a very pleasant surprise. The grounds were kept very clean, as was the room. Any request we made was looked to quickly. The pools and bars were lively and fun. Service in most of the restaurants and by the pool was fairly quick and friendly. Most of the food we ate was very tasty.....and we are quite demanding. Plenty of bottles in our room bar as well.
It was quite breezy while we were there so did not have the opportunity to go out to the island. One glitch-- for some reason our reserved oceanfront room was not ready and available the first day we arrived, so we moved the next day to the proper one. This was an inconvenience but we were reasonable, as was management and they very graciously made it up to us.
We still went out and about a bit to check out Nassau.
I would recommend this spot and look forward to visiting another Sandals property in St. Lucia.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RDTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We spent our "Babymoon" here. Breathtaking pools and tropical waters. We enjoyed dining at the Baccarat. Our server, Moral, provided top-notch service. Nelson made our 1st time sailing experience memorable and Gary at the photo shop was so nice and attentive. Thanks to all these people for taking the extra mile to make us feel welcomed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Spent a week here November 16th-23rd.
We had an oceanfront club room in the Balmoral Tower (#309). Room had a great view however it was extremely small!! During the check in process we were informed that we were going to be given a complimentary "upgrade" in another section of the resort (and it was not beachfront).We had booked beachfront club level in the Balmoral tower at $6700 for the week so we were not sure how that was an upgrade. When we refused their so called "upgrade" and asked for the room we booked they informed us that they didn't have that room to give us until the next day. When we got upset with this they all of a sudden had room 309 in the Balmoral tower. We are still not sure to this day if we got what we paid for??? I suspect we should of had a room on a higher floor and also not a corner room (which are smaller). We were never able to confirm.
The first 2 days at this resort we were so very diappointed. Service was nonexsistent and the food was mediocre at best. The buffet at spices(only buffet and only at breakfast and lunch) is very small and choice is limited. We had to chase someone down for coffee more than once, no cups at the cappiccino machine, tables left dirty and not cleared, cats eating off of those tables, empty food bowls in the buffet not replinished and so on. On our 3rd morning while waiting for coffee a man named Gary was clearing tables. I asked him if he was a manager and he said that he was the Manager of food and beverage. I asked him if he had a few minutes to sit and talk with us and he did. We shared our disappointment with him about the food and the lack of service and some of the conversations we were having with other guests about their disappointment. He listened and took notes. At the end of the conversation he assured us that he was going to do his best to turn our vacation around for us if he had to see to it himeslf. And he did. He made all of our dinner reservations at the times we wanted (even though we were told that they were booked up) and he even saw to it that we and another couple we met there had a complimentary dinner at Gordon's on the Pier (which is not included unless you have butler rooms and is an addtional $140 per couple). From that day on staff seemed to step up their game. Coffee came promptly and tables were cleared for other guests to sit down. Staff were friendlier and attentive. The quality of the food however remained hit and miss!!
For the week we were there I watched Gary carry plates, clear tables, serve coffee etc..things you would think that the manager shouldn't be doing. He checked in with us every day to ensure we had what we needed. We even recieved a bottle of wine and fruit plate to our room with a letter of apology. This was all very much appreciated. Our thanks go out to Gary because he did turn our vacation around for us.
Would we go back? Absolutely not. Do we reccommend? Definately not. We travel twice a year to all inclusive resorts (November and February). We have stayed for less money and have had way better service and food. Although the resort is pretty and well maintained it did not meet our expectations. Although Gary was able to turn things around we should not of had to complain to get that kind of service. I felt bad complaining but $6700 is a lot of coin to spend to be disappointed. And the "upgrade" offer at checkin because they didn't have the room we actually paid for has left a bad taste with us. The beach is small and if you are like us and enjoy walking the beach, this is not the place for you. The private island is nice but nothing special to get you to wait in a line up on the pier and go back more than once. (they actually only have use of half of this island). There is only one bathroom on the island and if you need to go it is a long walk back. Other guests told us that the Sandals White House in Jamaica was way better (although we will not book Sandals again). It's back to the Mayan Riviera (Playa Del Carmen Mexico) for us!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondiekingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our luxurious accommodations. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We strive to meet our motto: Luxury All-Inclusive Vacations for Two People in Love. We are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities so I will be sure to send your feedback to the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Sandals from 12/4 – 12/8.

Overall, our trip was fantastic and we would absolutely return there. There were a few things that they could improve on, but nothing major.

When we got there, since we were club members, we were taken away to a nice room where we were given champagne while we checked in. Very nice way start! Our bags were delivered directly to our room. We were told to make our dinner reservations for the week as soon as possible.

The Rooms: The rooms were nice. We stayed in the Windsor Building in an oceanview room. We had a view of the ocean, but it was from a distance. We had a club level room so we had a fully stocked bar. They were cleaned every day and overall, no issues with the room. Nothing spectacular, but for the little time we spent in the room---it was perfect. We did have one weird issue where the bottle of vodka was suddenly empty when we returned to the room. We had about half left and are unsure where it sent. Plus, they had said that if anything was empty—they would replace. So, that was odd and we didn’t even bring it up to anyone. But I guess keep an eye on your alcohol?

Food/reservations: As far as dinner reservations, we called as soon as we got to our room and were told that Baccarat had no availability in the time we would be staying there. We were quite disappointed in that as we were very eager to eat there. Spices was closed when we were there for renovations so that was another blow as we were eager to eat there as well. We ate the Cricketeers Pub the first night. Decent pub food, nothing great or different, but it was quick and had a great atmosphere. The next night we ate at the Crystal Room, which required no reservations when we were there. Very good food however sort of mixed reviews on the service. It took a long time to get the drinks we ordered once we sat down and at one point had to ask a second time. I had ordered the crab claws and when they came, there were just 8 small claws with no sides----so we ordered up a 2nd plate which they brought over fror us. They were very good and I could have eaten 12 plates. My husband had the prime rib which he said was great, however, no steak knife given to him and we never saw the waiter again to ask. When we got there they said a 30-45 minute wait, which was fine with us as we had nowhere to be, but then when we got in there, there was about 6-7 open tables and it remained that way the entire dinner. Unclear why they make the guests wait when they have the room to seat them. They had the junkanoo on Friday night which we attended. Definitely worth going to for the food as well as the entertainment. It was all Bahamenian fare and there were so many options and everything was great. I would say this meal was my favorite in the time we were there. The last night we ate at Stewfish—which was on the island. They only take reservations at 6pm or 8pm. The food was great, but the whole experience felt very rushed since you had a pre-set amount of time to eat and they push you out of there so they can clean up and get you on the boat. They seemed put out when we asked for another glass of wine.


Staff: The staff was amazing just about everywhere we went. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. It wasn’t too busy when we were there so there was never an issue with getting a drink, like I had read in some other reviews. The playmakers who keep the activities going, perform at the junkanoo etc, are AMAZING. Our favorite was Bullet and his Michael Jackson impression is superb! Honorable mention is Jason who can be found doing various things throughout the resort……whether it be jumping 9 bar stools in the Pub or rapping to Ice Ice Baby at the Piano Bar……. The only cranky place that we found was the Windsor Pool bar. The bartenders over there weren’t very attentive or friendly. The pool bar at the other pool were fantastic and friendly. The entire staff at Cricketeer’s Pub are great! We had so much fun with them every night and there may have been a dance off btw them and my husband one night.

Other things worth mentioning: It wasn’t too busy when we were there so we didn’t find the need for Butler Service and felt it would have been a waste. However, I can see the benefit if it’s during peak time.

Go snorkeling! It is quick and we saw some cool fish.

Make sure you spend a day at the island. So beautiful over there.

We rented jet skiis(not from Sandals, but at the same beach) and that was worth the money.

GO TO THE JUNKANOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They do the show every Friday night. It is hilarious, amazing and worth it. I would say that was the best night we had there.

We also watch the Playmakers perform Saturday night in the Royal Theater. Great Dance show and worth your time. Again, Bullet is AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Order up some Hummingbirds!!!! Our favorite drink of the week

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights weather was great in december the resort was really quite but even still the staff were very good and the service is out of this world one of my highlight is the playmaker who name is bullet he always made sure that guest are happy and you could join in the activities with any pressure so you can do as much or as little as you like I hope sandals appreciate how much work he does for them.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
6.2 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
5.3 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Property: Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing