We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful honeymoon! 12/11-12/17” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful honeymoon! 12/11-12/17”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2005

We arrived in the Bahamas @ 3 p.m. on 12/11/05 for our honeymoon. To start things off to a great start - our luggage didn't arrive with us! The baggage service desk gave us a claim number & assured us our luggage would be delivered to our resort later Sunday evening. After the luggage incident we went right to the Sandals desk & were given some papers & directed to our shuttle. It is about a 15 minute ride from the airport to Sandals. Once there we were warmly greeted & taken to the reception area for cold champagne & given out courtesy packet. The packet contains shampoo, conditioner, aloe vera, lotion, room key cards, map of the resort, brochures for excursions and a schedule of the daily activities. This only took about 10 minutes then we were off to our room in the Manor Block #506 Honeymoon Oceanview Conceriege. It was exactly what we wanted. Beautiful view of the ocean, beach & pool. The room was fabulous. Everything was very clean & we saw no signs of mold or mildew that we previously read about in other reviews. There was also no offensive odor. The weather was great the entire week. We never had to turn on the a/c & just left our balcony door open the entire time even at night while we slept. Out balcony was plenty big. There were 2 chairs & a table. For dinner we went to Cricketers Pub. Nothing special here - just had a cheeseburger & fish. The drinks were very strong. They don't hold the alcohol back. After dinner we returned to the room & my luggage had arrived, but not my husbands! I won't slam Delta in this review - I will just say that the luggage didn't arrive until Tuesday evening.

The beach is beautiful & a perfect size (I think) for the amount of people that visit Sandals. Just once we had a problem finding chairs. The ocean water was very cold - too cold for me. The Windsor pool water is much warmer than the Manor pool. Probably because of the direction of the sun. However, the Manor hot tubs were much warmer that the Windsor.

The Royal Cafe is great for sandwiches.

The beach grill has hamburgers & hotdogs available throughout the day.

Kimono's - excellent, excellent, excellent! Our chef was fun & full of energy & the food was great.

The Crystal Room - very nice atmosphere & wonderful food. We didn't have room for dessert so the waiter wrapped it up & sent it with us to take back to our room.

Spices - a large variety of food buffet style. There is some of everyting available for breakfast, lunch & dinner. For breakfast you can have omelets made how you want them & they will also make pancakes for you. We ate here quite a bit & never had a problem with the food. Very good!

Casanova's - average italian food. This was the only food that I didn't enjoy. Nothing special here.

Baccarat Room - my favorite. Exceptional french food. The crab cakes are incredible! I even got some to take back to the room. Very good.

We had breafast delivered to our room a couple of times. Bagels, toast, juice, etc.

Sandals exceeded our expectations & we will return!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,566
    1,984
    880
    487
    392
See reviews for
205
6,576
23
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,949)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2005

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay at Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort in Nassau, Bahamas. The Resort was very nice and clean and the people were lovely. The food was surprisingly very good (being that I am a very picky eater). The service was above average. We paid a decent amount of money for our room and we weren't eligible for room service!! What is that all about! We couldn't even get a fruit platter sent up to our room. This was very disturbing. If you got out to the beach a little late one day, there were no clean towels. We had to lie on our lounge chairs without any. I thought this was very annoying considering it happened to us on more than one ocassion. There really isn't very much of a night life there. After dinner, we found ourselves just wandering around the complex admiring the beautiful sky and the water. If you didn't go to the Piano Bar for a drink or two or three, there was absolutley nothing to do. My husband and I love to cruise and we decided to do something a little different this vacation. Well, we are going back to cruising!!! For the amount of money that we paid for this vacation, We feel that you get more for your money on a cruise. There is more to do, and much more of a night life. I'm sorry to say that Sandals was quite disappointing for me and my husband.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LittleT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2005

My husband went to this resort expecting the same type of stellar service we received at the Sandals Montego Bay during our honeymoon. We received quite the opposite experience, much to our chagrin. The service, all around, was mediocre at best. We had a problem with the safe in our room and had to call 5 times for the manager to come fix it. We did not have any wash rags in our room for two straight days- again, another round of calling the concierge/manager 3 times before anyone would take the time to help us. The staff were not friendly- they were not rude, but they were definitely not willing to go out of their way to help you out. For food, definitely go to the Crystal Room, Baccarat, and Kimonos. Make your reservations the second you get there. Kimonos is a super fun experience, and it served excellent food. I think the biggest problem with this resort is that, for those people who purchase a room with butler service, the staff go out of their way to make the vacation experience top notch. If you don't have butler service, you are ignored and almost scoffed by the staff. We didn't really think that paying an extra $1000 for butler service was worth it, but, looking back on it, if you want to ensure that you get a RESPONSE out of someone at the resort, the butler service may be all it's cracked up to be.

Other things to consider: the pictures on the Sandals website are very deceiving. Do your research. The beach is minute- definitely go to the private island at least once. Oh, and a note about the private island: it's not all that "private." Sandals owns about 1/3 of the island- and the really awesome beach you see from the shore isn't Sandals property. Definitely be sure to ask for premium liquor- otherwise, you get margaritas with rum instead of tequila and some pretty nasty "Crown" and cokes.

If I were you, I'd go to one of the smaller, less "glamorous" Sandals resorts. Those guys seem to really care about the enjoyment of their guests and go out of their way to make your vacation as special as possible.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank maryag03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2005

Simply put it depends what you want from your hoilday!

Accomodations: We had a room with a small balcony which was nice! Great view, clean,comfy beds,standard things but the washroons appear old and need some TLC..ie:no water pressure, no temperature control, mold around tub etc.

Food: The second you get there call to get your reservations for the al a carte restaurants. BEWARE even if you do you may not get into them and if you do it may be a very late dinner. Crystal Room the best overall but plan to be there 3 hours because they take there time so they dont have the turnover of people. Baccarat Room: couldnt get in and no one we meet could either! Kymodos: excellent, lots of fun and food good. Bar grill great for lunch. Island restaurnat not worth the effort. Italian restaurant was excellent! And Spices was the best bet for breakfast and lunch but go to dinner eleswhere.

No complaints here..food was excellent and that was what probally made our overall experience. Above average, great presentation, variety etc.

Service: Very hit and miss.. Staff was accomodating but not overly friendly or outgoing..they did what they had to do and no more. That goes many for the bar staff. The food service staff were much better.

Spa: Terrible location in the basement, services performed were excellent and the staff very nice but the spa reception was terrible and prices a little steep considering. Robes were old and beat up but it gets the job done..no frills spa.

Resort: Very nice, good layout, not too big or small, local to all things, clean etc. Pools cold no heat so depending on when you go will determine. Hot tubs are great a well used but the water a little green..have a few drinks and it wont bother you as much.

Entertainment: Looking to party, dont go here..piano bar fun for a night if you have had a few to drink, disco music terrible and more for the workers, big venue so it appears no one is there, not well promoted. Everyone does there own thing!

Day Entertainment: Minimal! Dont expect the music to give you a lift or the staff to get you motivated to do something. There were things available but you had to look.

Beach: Beautiful! Nothing more to say. if your looking to go on a long beach walk this is not possible.. small beach.

Drinks: Premium liqour as long as you asked for it. Decent Beer selection..if your looking for fun, pretty, tasty summer drinks this will disappoint you. Drink are premixed in jugs and dont taste like they do when they make them from scratch in the blender.

Casino: Just down the street..Whatelse can i say..if your looking to play it does the job..looking for a crowd go to atlantis but prepare for lots of tourists and higher minimums. Crystal Palace worked fine for us! (free drinks here but you had to pay at atlantis whether you gambled or not!

Overall it was a good short holiday with excellent food. Was in bed every night before 12pm. There was 2 couples and we like to party but the atmosphere just wasnt there. We went to Beaches Bahamas 5 years ago. it was much smaller but was just as good. No question Sandals is better but not sure worththe price differential.

Thinking of getting married there...there were at minimum 4 weedings a day during our stay and was told during busy times there is a wedding every 15 minutes.. If you dont mind sharing your day than fine but not my thing. Brides running around everywhere!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2005

If you plan on visiting Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort, I would very highly recommend that you take advantage of a room that offers butler service. Our butler Dianna was great. She made reservations for us, private dinner in our room with rose petals and candles everywhere leading to the soaking tub. Very romantic. . We kept our patio doors open so we can hear the ocean. I’ve been to some very nice places in my lifetime and this is a place I will never forget. My husband and I had a great time doing the Powerboat. Blue Lagoon Island, what a great island to spend a day on. While on our 1 st anniversary we swam with the dolphins, awesome experience. Thank you Axioma Travel form making my trip a life time experience.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2005

The resort and staff at Sandals all lived up to our expectations.
We have been to a number of "all-inclusive" resorts before where you were forced to sample cheap local spirits, and although Sandals has these, you can request premium brands without any extra charge.
The food was excellent and plentiful, with a wide choice of eating styles.
The resort facilities were excellent and always kept clean, as was our room. I note some other posts complain of a musty smell in the rooms, but certainly in the block we stayed in (The Winsor), this was not the case. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well appointed, with an excellent maid service. We had a complimentary room upgrade, and found the free mini-bar was restocked daily, which included (although perhaps cheapish) champagne. Well impressed.
The water sports did not include water ski-ing as with other Sandals resorts, but the SCUBA diving certainly made up for it, and it's nice to be able to do this from a fast, purpose built dive boat, rather than the open boats that we have experienced with some other "all-inclusives".
If we had to look for criticism, the evening "entertainment" was somewhat limited to a poorly attended disco/karaoke, or the popular piano bar, but beware it can get a little rowdy when our American counterparts are in full swing !
We also would warn about being eaten alive by sand flies on the offshore island, although they do appear to be selective in who they bite.
I would certainly recommend the experience.

Helpful?
12 Thank Russ-McD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2005

When we arrived to the local airport in the Bahamas, we were greeted by a Rolls Royce to bring us to the Sandals property. It was clear from the moment we left the airport that for the next week we were going to be treated like royalty.

When we arrived at the Sandals property, we were introduced to our butler Frederick. He took us for a tour of the property and then up to our suite, which had an incredible view of the private island, and the pool. When we got to our suite, Frederick gave us our weekly planner. He had already made us dinner reservations for every day of the week.

If you plan on visiting Sandals Royal Bahamian Resort, I would very highly recommend that you take advantage of a room that offers butler service. The benefits of this service are awesome, perhaps the best benefit is that Frederick reserved the same pool chairs for us every morning. This give you the opportunity to take your time with breakfast, enjoy watching Sports Center, or even visit the Spa before you head out to the pool. And when you get there, your chairs right next to the water are waiting for you, all set up with towels, an umbrella, small table, and two rafts for the pool. The table is placed between the two chairs, and at about 2:00 everyday Frederick would bring us two shrimp cocktails, and refill our drinks.

The food was great at every restaurant, we really enjoyed the Crystal room, Casanova, and would highly recommend Spices when they offer the buffet from around the world. Eat outside because there is good entertainment that night as well.

There is also a restaurant called the Pier, this is only offered to you if you have a butler suite. It’s another reason to opt for the butler service, we had such a great time at the pier. The food was simply amazing, I had the filet and Sheila had the king crab legs. But even better than the food was the atmosphere, I’ve been to some very nice places in my lifetime and this is a place I will never forget. The restaurant is at the end of the pier, the tables are set-up about 20 feet from the kitchen, where you can see the flames shooting up while your food is being prepared. When its dark out, and you look over the side of the pier, you can see the bright blue water of the ocean, because of the lighting that is on the bottom of the pier, it was wonderful to look at, if you watch long enough, you’ll even see some fish swim by.

Helpful?
23 Thank Rerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
5.5 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.7 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.9 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Property: Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Holiday Gems and Southall Travel so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing