We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sushi, Trendy Atmosphere, Slow service”
Review of Via Caffe

Via Caffe
Ranked #81 of 280 Restaurants in Nassau
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi, Trendy Atmosphere, Slow service”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I had some of the best sushi we ever ate at this restaurant, but the service was slow. All in all a great place to eat and people watch if you sit by the windows.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    34
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windber, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keep Walking”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Service was slow and the people working there were rude! Sushi was alright and the do not order the chicken satay's! (3 little pieces of chicken for $10) Can you say tourist trap? I asked for a refill of water 2 times and it took her 45 minutes to get that plus bring the bill! Only thing good about this place was that they had air conditioning!

Helpful?
Thank Kyle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Over Priced Waste of Time”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

tl;dr: Avoid this place!

Food was nominally decent but that's all good that I can say. Service was awful! It's not like the place was packed. They just didn't care about us because we weren't big spenders. I asked if there were any specials and the waitress looked at me like I was a poor beggar.

The food was slow as well as bringing the bill. We only had so long and didn't want to waist it waiting for the bill! After waiting for quote some time, we went to the cash register to ask for the check. The manger face us a death stare like we were dining-and-dashing.

After all that, they told us that we had to pay cash since they mysteriously couldn't take card even though the Visa sign was on the door. We insisted that they take card and that we choose them for that reason, and magically their card reader worked!

Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sushi rolls: They don't rock.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were primarily there to watch the football, but are big sushi fans, so thought with such proximity to the sea, the sushi would be great. Nope. Poorly constructed and sooooo chewy. Dry out the nori before rolling it. It's basic.
Beer was cold, and Japanese, so silver linings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mattnott118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, US
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious Bahama Mama”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great drinks and the Conch fritters were tasty as well. Definitely a place I'll return to when I'm in Nassau. Very easy to get to from the cruise port, straight through the terminal to the left. They have a Bahama Mama Conch fritter special for $9 that's well worth it. Nice atmosphere and interior. AC and fans make it a welcome break on hot days.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xenagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Caffe also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
New Providence Island, Bahamas
 

Been to Via Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing