We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but a nice stay. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandyport Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dated but a nice stay. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean but dated. The eateries are 4-5 small places- nothing opens before 10 am - all 300 yards away except for Chef Cleveland at the poolside cabana who is terrific but demands you show on time for dinner. That's not service.We loved Chef anyway.
The booker -Lady Sara --is alright. She booked a deep sea when we wanted to reef fish. That may have been the captains fault but - c'mon. really. ? We still had a time and a half catching then eating at a local fried fish hut, our catch.
The pool -meh. Hammocks needed repair.
Cleaning crew is top notch. Extra towels- np!! Front desk suuuucks. Want change for a buck for the washing machines ?
Ha ha. We forgot.--4 x. C'mon - really? No apologies. Slow. In attentive. Suuuuucks.
The lobby wifi is sketchy. On. Off. On. Off. Ok. Really? There is no resort shop but at the property front 300 yards away you will find sun lotion for $25/ bottle. You read that right. Washer dryers didn't work. Oh hah ha we didn't plug them in. C'mon reaaaaally?
So for the price( $80/person added on island tax over the trip advisor stated , btw) I'm swimming upstream a bit next time.


Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ronRunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    215
    82
    49
    69
See reviews for
182
251
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

There is NO restaurant on site. There is NOWHERE to get drinks except a tiny cubicle by the pool that never gets opened because they guy is always on a day off!!!! The water slide won't let people actually slide down-kids stop halfway down!!! You have to leave the property to go eat or drink !!!
YOU HAVE TO PAY 1.00$ PER LOCAL CALL TO ORDER FOOD TO YOUR ROOM BECAUSE OF NO RESTAURANT!!!!
Imagine a resort with no food, no beverages, roaches in your room, no CHANGE at the front desk for the vending machines!!!
This place should be shut down. BUT THEY TRY TO SELL YOU ON A TIME SHARE THERE!!!
Beware!!! Do not stay here!!!

Room Tip: This place is terrible. DO NOT GO HERE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have been to Sandyport Numerous times over the years but always with kids and friends and with that said never really spent much time there always busy doing something each day! This trip was different it was just my husband and myself and we decided to just stay around the resort and local places walking distance and just enjoy what the resort and area had to offer. .We had dinner on the beach with Chef Cleveland at the Resort.We
walked over to local restaurants and wine & beer stores .We laid in hammocks and on the beach ,snorkeled sat out on the gazebo on the water sipping drinks, It was like a honeymoon ,Thank you Mr.Moss and Lady Sarah and the Sandyport team for making our stay so wonderful the resort looks great .Congratulations on your Gold Crown Keep up the great work. Best,Tom and Debi Walsh

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom with half bathroom and Full kitchen you walked out to the lagoon had breakfast on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have no idea how this place got so many good reviews. I travel a lot and this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed. Never mind the room was terrible, I litterally had roaches running across my floor, the bath tub was dirty and gross, the place was tiny, but the service was terrible. Usually a run down hole can at least have friendly great service but not here. Not only that buy you pay $60 a week for internet you can even you in your room. I had to go to the pool everytime to get online. It looks nice from the outside but trust me I would never wish my worst enimes to stay at this place. AVOID AT ALL COST. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbarbz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

All a bit run down and tired, externally the buildings look fine, painted in Bahamian colours
I was "upgraded" to a suite of some type which means the basic rooms are probably even more "basic"
Adequate for a one night stay prior to flying out the following day, but it has seen better days
The level of security at the entrance to the "resort" suggests they have maybe had security issues in the past

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My first time here, a very welcoming place. Nothing too much trouble. Clean, dry rooms with comfy beds. Take or buy your own tea coffee etc. no fridge for milk so powder only. But china mugs and proper wine glasses. All staff very helpful. So quiet all around. Good restaurants within easy walking distance. Fantastic breakfast on the beach. Beautiful swimming pool. I shall certainly make another visit. Lots of shady hideaways with hammocks.

Room Tip: They are all two storey. Some are just room and bathroom, others have small kitchens. Everywhere is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

i stayed at sandyport a few weeks ago, I wasn't sure how it was going to be but I gave it a shot, and I was very impressed, at check in I was greeted by the lovely Cameron very nice and eager to help with any and everything, the next day I met the front desk manager cheron also very pleasant and assisted with request's that I had, and my brief encounter with the housekeeping staff and the chef at the pool bar was also very pleasant, (boy was that a good omelet at breakfast) the grounds are well kept and quiet, not to much to deal with like the atlantis resort, I stayed in a nice suite down stairs that walks out onto the beach #515, love it, very convenient and will definitely be back maybe even with the kids because I noticed they had 2 kiddie slides. thank you sandyport for the brief but relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: highly recommended if you book a suite (rm #515)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladylove42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.2 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
6.8 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
1.9 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
2.4 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandyport Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandyport Beach Resort

Property: Sandyport Beach Resort
Address: West Bay St, Sandyport, Nassau none, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandyport Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandyport Beach Resort in Nassau, Bahamas is known for its tranquility, where rest and relaxation amid the tropical landscape takes you into island time. A quiet retreat ideally located in the luxury Sandyport Marina Village approximately 3 miles away from Nassau International Airport and minutes away from Cable Beach.The resorts pastel colored villas of 72 rooms surround a marina linked by a Grand Canal to the sea. The architecture is inspired by the Georgian Colonial architecture of historic Bahamas and all rooms are appointed with modern conveniences. The Signature room, The Deluxe One Bedroom Suite, is your home away from home with full kitchen and living/dining room with queen size sofa bed separate from the master bedroom with king size bed, Jacuzzi bath and view of the canal or lagoon beach. There are multiple room types available though with everything from a Hotel bedroom, Studio, one, two or three bedroom suites.The resort includes two ocean beaches a short walk from the rooms, a lagoon beach, and three swimming pools including one large pool with a gentle sand edge. The kiddie pool has 2 fun water slides. A tennis court and half basketball court are also on-site. Wireless Internet access is free in the rooms and public areas. Guests can use a computer in the lobby with complimentary high-speed Internet access during office hours. Guests also have discounted use of a nearby fitness centre. While you may find yourself getting lost in the privacy and tranquility of the Resort itself, at Sandyport you can have the best of all worlds - be as quiet as you want, or as active as you want, with the dining and shopping options of The Sandyport Marina Village on the Resort's doorstep and a superb range of activities that can be organized through the front desk. The resort has a limited number of rooms that are handicapped accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandyport Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandyport Beaches Hotel Nassau
Sandyport Beach Hotel
Sandyport Beach Nassau
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Sandyport Resort
Sandyport Nassau
Sandyport Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing