We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandyport Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2010

My wife and I have been going to SandyPort for the past 3 years now and we love it. The location is great, not to far from everything. It is not your average 5 star resort, if you are looking to get away and have a private retreat then this is the place to go, if you want more of a party place then don't stay here. The grounds could use some upkeep but in all the units have every thing you need to relax and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
There are newer reviews for Sandyport Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2009

Terrible customer service. They don't seem to care about needs of customers. Instead they charge various hidden fees to rip as much money off as they can.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hike-hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Sandyport was lovely and relaxing. Staff was friendly and went out of the way to make us feel truly welcome - was like staing with friends. It's slighly away from the main hotel strip, which makes it so much more relaxing and peaceful - but still within walking distance to everything, and the Jitney stop was right at the resort territory - very convenient. The restaurants right at the hotel are fun (dancing, singing) and the food was good. Will definitely go back!

Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
Thank frequentravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I am a bahamian and I always go to eat at the different restaurants at Sandyport, hence for a little weekend getaway I thought that this would be the ideal place to stay. Unfortunately, I did not have a pleasant experience at the hotel and I would not recommend it to anyone. In one weekend I ended up staying in 3 different rooms, all of which are in dire need of renovations. The resort as a whole definitely has potential considering the scenery, privacy etc. However, remodelling of the units is an absolute must! If you're not looking for a resort experience and are only interested in a place to kinda hang out and rest your head at night this would be the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4evervacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

I stayed 5 nights at Sandyport on my vacation to the Bahamas and I was fully satisfied with my stay. Mind you, it is not a fancy resort on the beach, it has no entertainment on site and it is about 10 miles or so west of Nassau so there is not a lot in the immediate area, but it has a lot to offer. I found the staff to be helpful & friendly. The hotel grounds were well-kept and clean. My room had a kitchenette equipped with fridge, microwave stove as well as a toaster, blender & coffee maker. I used all 3 appliances for morning coffee, toast & evening pina coladas. No breakfast is offered at hotel, so I bought food, and had breakfast for a lot less in the room. The room was large, clean and nicely furnished. There is a pool outside as well as front security. Computer with internet in lobby is free for guests. The jitney (local bus) stops in front of hotel and will take you to Nassau for $1.50, and many tours (including the 3 I took) have pick-up service from hotel. If you are looking for a nice hotel room for the money, this is it. If you want a deluxe resort with all the bells & whistles, spend 3 or 4 times as much for the same room and go to Paradise Island.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlinNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

if you complain about this place you must be living in a palace. the staf is friendly, the rooms are 3 to 4 star, and clean. it is not on the beach but is on a lagoon with sand, so it is like the ocean beach without the wind. the tour guide there ( runaway tours ) are very good. the owner Al is a nice informative guide, we stayed 7 days and toured with Al for four of the days, very resonable prices for his tours also. i has 3 resturants close by and two bars. the grocery store is close enough to walk but on sunday mrning they drive you there to go shopping. in closing to all the people who whine about this place remember your on holidays, go have fun don't focus on the negative, as there are lots of positives here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carman7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We were booked in here by Husbands Company and my goodness what a place to book International colleagues!

If you are going to slurge and go to the Bahamas then stay at one of the resorts on an actual beach. This is a very old timeshare that was once probabuly a very nice place, however after meeting the manager of this place I understand why it has gone down hill. Everything is falling apart, the staff do not keep this place clean, and when you ask for help you are treated as if you are disturbing them. There is two young men, one on the desk and the other who I guess acts as a porter that do however go out of their way to help and are very friendly. The beach is across the road, and isn't that nice, the restaurants mentioned are not apart of the resort however just restaurants in the area, and if you are in desperate need of anything in the middle of the night the front desk is closed after 11:00pm.

In a nutshell if you really want to go to the Bahamas then I would stay elsewhere. If its just an island getaway you are looking for then choose another island in the Caribbean or Bahamas! Nassau really needs to lower their prices or at least offer exceptional quality for the price they are asking !

I mean the Maldives isn't even that expensive and its paradise!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank RB&WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.2 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,630 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
5.3 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
2.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#2 of 37 in Nassau
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandyport Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandyport Beach Resort

Address: Sandyport Drive, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: £157 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandyport Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandyport Beach Resort in Nassau, Bahamas is known for its tranquility, where rest and relaxation amid the tropical landscape takes you into island time. A quiet retreat ideally located in the luxury Sandyport Marina Village approximately 3 miles away from Nassau International Airport and minutes away from Cable Beach.The resorts pastel colored villas of 72 rooms surround a marina linked by a Grand Canal to the sea. The architecture is inspired by the Georgian Colonial architecture of historic Bahamas and all rooms are appointed with modern conveniences. The Signature room, The Deluxe One Bedroom Suite, is your home away from home with full kitchen and living/dining room with queen size sofa bed separate from the master bedroom with king size bed, Jacuzzi bath and view of the canal or lagoon beach. There are multiple room types available though with everything from a Hotel bedroom, Studio, one, two or three bedroom suites.The resort includes two ocean beaches a short walk from the rooms, a lagoon beach, and three swimming pools including one large pool with a gentle sand edge. The kiddie pool has 2 fun water slides. A tennis court and half basketball court are also on-site. Wireless Internet access is free in the rooms and public areas. Guests can use a computer in the lobby with complimentary high-speed Internet access during office hours. Guests also have discounted use of a nearby fitness centre. While you may find yourself getting lost in the privacy and tranquility of the Resort itself, at Sandyport you can have the best of all worlds - be as quiet as you want, or as active as you want, with the dining and shopping options of The Sandyport Marina Village on the Resort's doorstep and a superb range of activities that can be organized through the front desk. The resort has a limited number of rooms that are handicapped accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandyport Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandyport Beaches Hotel Nassau
Sandyport Beach Hotel
Sandyport Beach Nassau
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Sandyport Resort
Sandyport Nassau
Sandyport Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing