We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our one week stay there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandyport Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We were a little concerned when we booked our stay at the Sandy Port because of such mixed reviews. We stayed at this cute condo May 22-29, 2010. The only negative comment I will make is the maid service could spend more time wiping down cupboards (felt sticky) and walls (a couple of dirty spots). The big pool was being remodeled but we used the two smaller ones. Some of the cement on the pool rim was broken, this was not a big deal. The pools were clean and never crowded. FYI- the pools are too shallow for slides...be careful to hold your legs up !! Air conditioning worked well and plenty of ice for our tropical drinks ! I would recommend this hotel if you like a nice quiet place to stay after being in downtown Nassau all day.
The buses quit running around 7pm - 8pm. This never posed a problem for us. If we stayed out late, we just caught a taxi back for $10.00 (for all 3 of us). I used the computer in the main lobby to check my email..no problems. The staff was friendly and there is a security guard at the entrance and a security person driving around in a cart during the evening. One of my friends has a disability and the person driving the cart was so nice to pick her up each evening we returned and take her to the room (including groceries)..very nice and helpful each time. There is a little store around the corner from the resort..basic things. The bigger grocery stores you can reach by bus #10...great bus system by the way... $1.25 each way.
We had a very pleasant stay at this resort. The grounds are maintained and nice. New flowers planted and plenty of palm trees. This is not a fancy place but very nice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prettyladybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all of your positive comments and for noticing the improvements that are underway at the resort. We are under going an extensive refurbishment program and trust and hope that we will continue to improve. Thank you for your comment regarding the pool rim. We will have this rectified as part of our Pool refurbishment which is happening right now.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2010

We did not have air condition for almost 3 days and thermostate showed 83 degrees inside. I felt like not enough effort was put into getting it fixed right away. Unit furniture was old and worn. The adult pool did not have stairs to climb out. This resort is in need of lots of repair and upgrades.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsmithsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

We would very much like to apologize for any inconvenience experienced during our guest's stay. We are listening and I can confirm that Sandyport Beaches Resort is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment program. We are 75% complete with replacing the air-conditioning units. We have closed down the main swimming pool for a complete refurbishment and will re-open the pool in early July. Many items have already been replaced with more underway. The children's pool and slides have already re-opened and look great. The whole property is getting a makeover inside and out. We would like to thank our guests for their detailed comments which are all being attended to. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and exceeding your expectations. Stay now and ask for a refurbished room.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Please dont waste your time/money on this resort. OMG hands down was the worst resort we have ever stayed at. I dont believe they have done any maintenance on this place in years, everything was broken . Green swimming pool, ac units dont work, sand flee infestation on beach. Management needs to nuke this place and start over. RCI should be ashamed that they even list this property ,What a waste of money.,.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cabanaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

I am so sorry that you had such a negative experience. We would very much like to apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. We are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment program including the Pools and A/C units you mention. We do hope that you will give us another try in the future when I trust and hope we will exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The location was good, if you had a car. The unit itself was very large and contained both a hot tub, a shower and a king-sized bed. The problem was that the kitchen was not well equiped for 4, and many, many things did not work: no Internet in room (some have the pay type, others nothing); no ice or ice tray;, no small spoons, only table spoons; no hangers; no sharp knives, kitchen or steak type; no bake/broil pans, missing remote for TV, 4 lights don't work, no cutting board, no coffee pot or coffee, only 2 burners out of 4 work on the stovetop, oven doesn't work, one of the sinks in the bedroom was completely stopped up, a table on patio but only one chair, venetian blinds in the bedroom do not work at all, air conditioner doesn’t work.

Of these things some were taken care of by the staff upon request, but it took most of the week: the oven and top burners were repaired, some steak knives were delivered, three of the lights were repaired, one broiler pan was delivered, and the sink was fixed. There was still only one chair on the balcony, and the blind in the bedroom and the air conditioner were still not working when I left at the end of the week. You can imagine how much effort this took on my part. I'm glad that i did not have a companion with me. Unfortunately, this could be a great resort with a little "quality control" by the manager. I would go again, but I will check out the room myself the first day, make a list, and get with the manager right away. I would recommend this to a friend, if they were very patient, because it is a beautiful resort with good possibilities, and the people did try to fix the problems; the problem is the management!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildBillFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the resort. I would like to apologize that you had so many difficulties and inconveniences during your stay. We are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment program and I can confirm that all rooms inventory items have been re-stocked, new patio furniture is now in place. All appliances that needed replacing have been replaced. Our A/C unit replacement is 75% complete with new units. Thank you very much for mentioning our staff who do try to go the extra mile for our guests. We are working very hard to address any and all maintenance issues. We do hope that you will give us another try in the future when I trust and hope we will exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

This was our first time in the Bahamas and we were a little nervous after reading some of the reviews about the Sandyport Resort. It was so much better than we could have imagined. Yes, the resort does need some major work to be updated but the management is straight with you about that. We had a few problems ( light bulbs out, no remote control, etc.) but anytime we had a problem it was remedied in a short period of time. If you want all the glitz of Altantis, this is not the place for you. If you want a nice relaxing vacation this is the place to be. We had a one bedroom deluxe which was more than enough room for us. It was sparkling clean when we arrived. The view was great from the back balcony and the lagoon beach was right outside. The ocean beach ( very small ) was right across the street. We caught the bus right outside the resort to go to downtown Nassau which was very convenient for us. I can’t say enough about the people that work at Sandyport Resort. They were friendly and willing to listen to anything that you asked. The workers around the premises were always doing something and willing to answer any questions. The one man that does the trips from the resort talks to you about what is happening for the week and tries to fit everyone in. Vernon Moss, the Manager of the resort went above and beyond. He spoke with us about the Sandyport and didn’t hide that it did need a lot of work but made it as comfortable as possible. Margaret, front desk, and another young lady at the desk were always there to help and answer any questions. Dale, also stood out when we needed anything. Give me the Sandyport Resort over Atlantis anytime. It’s not glitzy but I love dealing with down to earth people that listen and are willing to make your stay enjoyable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank XCman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our team. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully on your return your experience will be even better as we are well underway on our refurbishment program that you discussed with management during your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Staff:
The staff were very friendly, knowledgable, and helpful.
The resort manager gave us a mini history lesson of the Bahamas!

Our Room:
The room could use a freashing up, but it was very clean and bug free. There was ample supplies. The maid service came once during the week.

The Grounds:
These were clean of any debris, the pool area was attractive,. The water slide was being repaired during our stay, but was working when we left.
Thr resort is located to Sandyport Village consisting of shops and restuants.

Things we did:

Atlantis Dolphin Encounter..very expensive, but nice.
Atlantis Waterpark..very expensive..plan for the whole day (open 9-5)

Habour Island..pink sand beach ..3 hour ferry ride..sports Illustrated have many photo shots here. It is said that this is where Mariah Carey was married.

Rent a Car..drove around the west side of the Island
Clifton Heritage Park...history of the Bahamas..2.00 entry fee..worth the stop!

Shop Downtown Nassau..straw market, Barcardi's, Gucci, Local Vendors, Good restuarants

Speedboat excursion to: Exuma Island...feed the Iguanas, feed the sharks & stingray(tough them!), lunch & drinks & cocktails,& snokeling..all inclusive trip..very well worth the $$

Fish Fry..Twin Brothers..good food, slow service

Cab rides..find out the cost first and negotiate.

Fort Fincastle
Queen's staircase

Pirates of Nassau..very informative if you don't know the history of Pirates or the Bahamas..nice gift shop.

Sandyport Village. Vitadolice Italain Restaurant
Has a very charming bar feel
Great staff and owner
Our daughter has life threatening food allergies and the chef was able to accomadate us!
The food..Incredable Italian!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My wife and I traveled to Nassau on business January 2010 and stayed in a beachfront double room (think: Embassy Suites) with kitchenette.

The kitchenette proved helpful because dining out is expensive and it's nice to have snacks on hand when you feel like enjoying the accommodations.

I will contact Sandyport the next time we come to Nassau.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connect135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.2 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,659 reviews
7.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
329 reviews
5.3 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
1.9 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandyport Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandyport Beach Resort

Address: Sandyport Drive, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: £171 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandyport Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandyport Beach Resort in Nassau, Bahamas is known for its tranquility, where rest and relaxation amid the tropical landscape takes you into island time. A quiet retreat ideally located in the luxury Sandyport Marina Village approximately 3 miles away from Nassau International Airport and minutes away from Cable Beach.The resorts pastel colored villas of 72 rooms surround a marina linked by a Grand Canal to the sea. The architecture is inspired by the Georgian Colonial architecture of historic Bahamas and all rooms are appointed with modern conveniences. The Signature room, The Deluxe One Bedroom Suite, is your home away from home with full kitchen and living/dining room with queen size sofa bed separate from the master bedroom with king size bed, Jacuzzi bath and view of the canal or lagoon beach. There are multiple room types available though with everything from a Hotel bedroom, Studio, one, two or three bedroom suites.The resort includes two ocean beaches a short walk from the rooms, a lagoon beach, and three swimming pools including one large pool with a gentle sand edge. The kiddie pool has 2 fun water slides. A tennis court and half basketball court are also on-site. Wireless Internet access is free in the rooms and public areas. Guests can use a computer in the lobby with complimentary high-speed Internet access during office hours. Guests also have discounted use of a nearby fitness centre. While you may find yourself getting lost in the privacy and tranquility of the Resort itself, at Sandyport you can have the best of all worlds - be as quiet as you want, or as active as you want, with the dining and shopping options of The Sandyport Marina Village on the Resort's doorstep and a superb range of activities that can be organized through the front desk. The resort has a limited number of rooms that are handicapped accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandyport Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandyport Beaches Hotel Nassau
Sandyport Beach Hotel
Sandyport Beach Nassau
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Sandyport Resort
Sandyport Nassau
Sandyport Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing