We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandyport Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SLS Baha Mar(Nassau)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
404
259
89
55
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
259
89
55
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady sarahchef clevelandsandy porttwisted limeblue sailvernon mossnews cafepoop deckrestaurants within walking distancefull kitchentwo queen bedsfish fryhome away from homeparadise islandprivate beachcable beachdowntown nassau
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
705 - 710 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We were a little concerned when we booked our stay at the Sandy Port because of such mixed reviews. We stayed at this cute condo May 22-29, 2010. The only negative comment I will make is the maid service could spend more time wiping down cupboards (felt sticky) and walls (a couple of dirty spots). The big pool was being remodeled but we used the two smaller ones. Some of the cement on the pool rim was broken, this was not a big deal. The pools were clean and never crowded. FYI- the pools are too shallow for slides...be careful to hold your legs up !! Air conditioning worked well and plenty of ice for our tropical drinks ! I would recommend this hotel if you like a nice quiet place to stay after being in downtown Nassau all day.
The buses quit running around 7pm - 8pm. This never posed a problem for us. If we stayed out late, we just caught a taxi back for $10.00 (for all 3 of us). I used the computer in the main lobby to check my email..no problems. The staff was friendly and there is a security guard at the entrance and a security person driving around in a cart during the evening. One of my friends has a disability and the person driving the cart was so nice to pick her up each evening we returned and take her to the room (including groceries)..very nice and helpful each time. There is a little store around the corner from the resort..basic things. The bigger grocery stores you can reach by bus #10...great bus system by the way... $1.25 each way.
We had a very pleasant stay at this resort. The grounds are maintained and nice. New flowers planted and plenty of palm trees. This is not a fancy place but very nice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prettyladybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all of your positive comments and for noticing the improvements that are underway at the resort. We are under going an extensive refurbishment program and trust and hope that we will continue to improve. Thank you for your comment regarding the pool rim. We will have this rectified as part of our Pool refurbishment which is happening right now.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We did not have air condition for almost 3 days and thermostate showed 83 degrees inside. I felt like not enough effort was put into getting it fixed right away. Unit furniture was old and worn. The adult pool did not have stairs to climb out. This resort is in need of lots of repair and upgrades.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsmithsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

We would very much like to apologize for any inconvenience experienced during our guest's stay. We are listening and I can confirm that Sandyport Beaches Resort is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment program. We are 75% complete with replacing the air-conditioning units. We have closed down the main swimming pool for a complete refurbishment and will re-open the pool in early July. Many items have already been replaced with more underway. The children's pool and slides have already re-opened and look great. The whole property is getting a makeover inside and out. We would like to thank our guests for their detailed comments which are all being attended to. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and exceeding your expectations. Stay now and ask for a refurbished room.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Please dont waste your time/money on this resort. OMG hands down was the worst resort we have ever stayed at. I dont believe they have done any maintenance on this place in years, everything was broken . Green swimming pool, ac units dont work, sand flee infestation on beach. Management needs to nuke this place and start over. RCI should be ashamed that they even list this property ,What a waste of money.,.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cabanaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

I am so sorry that you had such a negative experience. We would very much like to apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. We are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment program including the Pools and A/C units you mention. We do hope that you will give us another try in the future when I trust and hope we will exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The location was good, if you had a car. The unit itself was very large and contained both a hot tub, a shower and a king-sized bed. The problem was that the kitchen was not well equiped for 4, and many, many things did not work: no Internet in room (some have the pay type, others nothing); no ice or ice tray;, no small spoons, only table spoons; no hangers; no sharp knives, kitchen or steak type; no bake/broil pans, missing remote for TV, 4 lights don't work, no cutting board, no coffee pot or coffee, only 2 burners out of 4 work on the stovetop, oven doesn't work, one of the sinks in the bedroom was completely stopped up, a table on patio but only one chair, venetian blinds in the bedroom do not work at all, air conditioner doesn’t work.

Of these things some were taken care of by the staff upon request, but it took most of the week: the oven and top burners were repaired, some steak knives were delivered, three of the lights were repaired, one broiler pan was delivered, and the sink was fixed. There was still only one chair on the balcony, and the blind in the bedroom and the air conditioner were still not working when I left at the end of the week. You can imagine how much effort this took on my part. I'm glad that i did not have a companion with me. Unfortunately, this could be a great resort with a little "quality control" by the manager. I would go again, but I will check out the room myself the first day, make a list, and get with the manager right away. I would recommend this to a friend, if they were very patient, because it is a beautiful resort with good possibilities, and the people did try to fix the problems; the problem is the management!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildBillFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the resort. I would like to apologize that you had so many difficulties and inconveniences during your stay. We are currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment program and I can confirm that all rooms inventory items have been re-stocked, new patio furniture is now in place. All appliances that needed replacing have been replaced. Our A/C unit replacement is 75% complete with new units. Thank you very much for mentioning our staff who do try to go the extra mile for our guests. We are working very hard to address any and all maintenance issues. We do hope that you will give us another try in the future when I trust and hope we will exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

This was our first time in the Bahamas and we were a little nervous after reading some of the reviews about the Sandyport Resort. It was so much better than we could have imagined. Yes, the resort does need some major work to be updated but the management is straight with you about that. We had a few problems ( light bulbs out, no remote control, etc.) but anytime we had a problem it was remedied in a short period of time. If you want all the glitz of Altantis, this is not the place for you. If you want a nice relaxing vacation this is the place to be. We had a one bedroom deluxe which was more than enough room for us. It was sparkling clean when we arrived. The view was great from the back balcony and the lagoon beach was right outside. The ocean beach ( very small ) was right across the street. We caught the bus right outside the resort to go to downtown Nassau which was very convenient for us. I can’t say enough about the people that work at Sandyport Resort. They were friendly and willing to listen to anything that you asked. The workers around the premises were always doing something and willing to answer any questions. The one man that does the trips from the resort talks to you about what is happening for the week and tries to fit everyone in. Vernon Moss, the Manager of the resort went above and beyond. He spoke with us about the Sandyport and didn’t hide that it did need a lot of work but made it as comfortable as possible. Margaret, front desk, and another young lady at the desk were always there to help and answer any questions. Dale, also stood out when we needed anything. Give me the Sandyport Resort over Atlantis anytime. It’s not glitzy but I love dealing with down to earth people that listen and are willing to make your stay enjoyable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank XCman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

Thank you very much for all of your positive comments about our team. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully on your return your experience will be even better as we are well underway on our refurbishment program that you discussed with management during your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews