We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Local Fare!”

McKenzie's Fresh Fish and Conch
Ranked #47 of 280 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bahamian
Restaurant details
New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Place for Local Fare!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Fresh Conch Salad here is amazing. I particularly enjoy the the scotch conch (conch with onions, lime and pepper) scrumptious! The cooked food is good too - but I usually stick with the fresh conch dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingGibsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    39
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Local Flavor”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Four of us were on A Carnival Cruise and were looking for a spot "where the locals eat". A person in the immigration office recommended McKenzie's. We took a .75 cent bus ride to Potter's Cay Dock and found the restaurant. We were given an menu encased in a well worn plastic sleeve (I'm sure the locals get a different menu with lower prices). Two of the four of us had the conch platter - fried conch with a whole fried red snapper on the plate. Both were delicious. The snapper was perfect and the conch was had a light batter and was very tender and tasty. We sat on the stools in the back that overlooked the bay. Mr. Bill enjoyed it too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike353632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WOW. JUST WOW”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

There's a reason why locals go here and highly recommend. This stand is amazing and McKenzie is a very cool guy. Seems always busy and they run out of food so arrive early. Tried their grouper and fries, good stuff. Cracked conch and shrimp. Huge portions. Conch fritters were very tasty. The winner is McKenzie making his conch salad. The day we visited he was doing tropical salad which was fresh cut pineapple, mango, onions, salt and conch and hot peppers. It's just amazing. We got the Atlantis employees all jealous getting their local food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joshalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“cruise of 8 people Jacksonville Fl ..pvfl”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Mr. McKenzie food was wonderful better than the cruise food I had on the ship ,, I had chicken with homemade fries and conch fritter so good with their delicious sauce. They very friendly.. Watch them make the conch salad fresh ... very clean .....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fresh, Fresh!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Mr. McKenzie will pull the conch right outta the water right there when you order it. He makes the conch salad in front of you, and all the ingredients are fresh - delicious! He is under the bridge, 2nd restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKenzie's Fresh Fish and Conch also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to McKenzie's Fresh Fish and Conch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing