We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
139
114
40
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
114
40
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honor bar close to the airport french doors yogurt an overnight stay room was spotless view of the ocean other islands cab ride bottled water bahamas lodging scuba
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A Stone's Throw Away is absolutely beautiful. It reminds me of a former plantation home. But the joy stopped there. One big positive is The Travelers Restaurant within walking distance. The staff, location, food and views from the restaurant made up for our disappointment at A Stones Throw Away. It is out in the middle of nowhere. The beach is not really swimmable and the pool as big as my bathtub at home. The most disappointment was felt from our reception and lack of feeling welcome. This would cause me not to go back ever. I would only recommend this establishment for someone looking for solitude. Or maybe an overnight stay prior to departing as the airport is very close. Oh - and the shower was awful. You either get scalding water or freezing, nothing in between.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel is a close proximity to the airport so you can use it as a convenient stopover.
There are ALOT of stairs to maneuver as we stayed on the top floor in the larger suite. So if you have more than just one or two bags it's a bit of a climb from street level to the top room, this place is NOT accessible for anyone with mobility issues. But the view and the ambiance is really lovely. Awesome deck for chilling out with a cool drink from the 'honour' bar. Staff was very nice, food is not always available but it's a short walk down the hill road to the beach, hang a right and up 100 metres or so on the right is Travellers rest Restaurant , with great food and drink, and a decent deck. A bit pricey for our 'arrive late and leave early connection',but that was our issue not the hotels.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed one night on route to The Exumas. Our Garden Room was very quiet and comfortable, and offered at a reasonable price. We enjoyed Dinner and Music at Travelers Rest...an easy walk to the restaurant, not so easy walking back.
They had music and we were delighted with the Beachfront view and friendly staff.
The staff at ASTA is very friendly, the building is charming...perhaps needing a few repairs. Breakfast was a relaxing experience as we looked over the Ocean. We appreciated the complimentary drive to the airport and will probably book again next year when we return to the Out Islands.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Beautiful old building on a nice property overlooking the sea. So close to the airport. Nice residential neighbourhood to wander in, although we did take the #10 public bus (bus stops about 100' away) over to Nassau and Fish fry area and it took about 20 min each way. Everyone there was pleasant and accommodating and the other guests were quiet and friendly. I would stay there again anytime.

Room tip: They upgraded us to the top floor suite which was nice but the large deck/patio facing the sea is a nice view than any of the rooms so not sure it matters.....
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torontoeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed two nights at A Stone's Throw Away in February 2014. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Our garden facing room was very nice with a patio door that opened onto a balcony. We did not get an "orientation" upon check in so we were unsure about a few things including breakfast time and how the honor bar worked. We found out when another couple was checking in and we overheard the conversation. We ate at the on-site restaurant our first night and it was great. Colyn, our waiter, was very good and helpful with tips on the island and the airport. We were concerned about a Valentine's dinner reservation since there are only two other restaurants in close proximity and everything seemed to be booked or only had very late reservations. Colyn overheard our conversation and suggested we stay at the Inn and have dinner poolside - it was awesome! The food was great and it was almost like we had our own private place for dinner on Valentine's Day. Once again Colyn was our waiter and once again he was outstanding. Breakfast was good but service seemed to be on "island time". We took the bus ($3) to town and enjoyed the Bahamian food at the Fish Fry and did some shopping near the pier. Our only complaint was that our flights were delayed/cancelled and we had no way to call the airline from the Inn unless we wanted to use our own cell phone at a cost of $2/minute. Not even the house phone had the ability to call an 800#. After exhausting every online option we decided to just go to the airport to take care of re-booking. John was there to give us a ride and we got our travel plans confirmed in less than an hour. All in all a great stay at A Stone's Throw Away in Nassau.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldogesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews