We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Point Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

My wife and I had a fun escape to Compass Point. The Hotel is small, which we enjoy, and the staff was very friendly. It has a small beach but is next to Love Beach which is beautiful. The food was very good but a bit expensive. The rooms were nice and we had a great view of the ocean. Overall it was a great experience...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    134
    44
    26
    17
See reviews for
88
290
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Sound system is fantastic! The resort is unique, and feels secluded and private. We had a sea front hut, and enjoyed the ocean right off our deck. The sea view huts looked nice, too, sort of tucked back into the trees. I don't think you can go wrong with any room choice. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast in the restaurant was the best (try the french toast), but we got tired of the slow service once the bar got crowded. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sea front or sea view, especially elevated are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvmy2zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My mother and I just came back from a 4 night stay here and loved it! We took advantage of the 'stay 3 nights and 4th night is free' incentive (however just be aware that you will still be charged $80 for fees and gratuities for your "free" night). This is such an ideal place for couples that I was concerned we might feel out of place. Also, there are no rooms with separate beds, so we almost didn't choose to stay here. However, in the end we decided to risk it. We are not fans of big corporate resorts with their elevators, competition over lounge chairs, impersonal service, etc. We wanted a relaxed setting where we could have some privacy and enjoy catching up on each others' lives. We could not have made a better choice. The king size mattresses were spacious and very comfortable, so there was no awkwardness for us. We quickly fell into a morning routine of sipping tea on our private balcony overlooking the sea, going for walks on the nearby beach, then having a leisurely and delicious breakfast (served until 11am with most of the cost included in the room price). The staff went out of their way to be kind to us and gave us a hearty welcome every time we showed up at the restaurant. Dinners were delicious, and the portions were very large. We learned after the first meal to share our entree, and they were very happy to accommodate us. We particularly enjoyed the Shrimp Tempura appetizers and the seafood entrees, but everything we tried was excellent. The mixed drinks were fantastic! On our last day my mother had her favorite strawberry daiquiri and I had an exotic vanilla-infused, emerald colored drink that I'm determined to have again next time I'm here. This was all courtesy of our highly skilled bartender, Johnny, who entertained us with bottle balancing tricks - even though it was 10:45am! We enjoyed our vacation up to the very last minute of our 11am departure.
I would make 2 recommendations to future visitors: 1) Except for the airport trips, take the bus instead of taxis. It was very easy and only cost $1.50. The only downside is that they stop running at 6pm. 2) Bring your paperwork for the room type you selected. There was a mix-up when we first checked in which was quickly resolved when I was able to produce the documentation.
I cannot say enough good things about how nicely we were treated by the manager, Victor, and all of the staff at the resort. We felt pampered and cared about, and left feeling completely relaxed. That has carried over into our lives back home. We would go back to Compass Point in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nancy49007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Just returned from a great stay at Compass. We've been several times, and I'd like to mention that there have been some upgrades since we last visited - one to point out is the food! All of our meals during our stay were excellent. We enjoyed some of the best lobster we've had on our last evening there. The accomodations are perfect for a couple wanting some down time from their hectic lives. Here are the key things that make us come back time after time:
1. You don't have to take a half hour to get from your room to the pool or the beach. The big resorts are brutal for this, and if you forget something, it's a hike to go back. At CP you literally wake up, throw on a suit and walk 10 steps to the pool for a dip. It's like having your own little cottage with a beach and pool to use at your leisure.
2. This resort is family owned, not corporate and it doesn't feel corporate either. You get personalized service, and they will go out of their way to help you out. I witnessed that with other customers when I was there, and it's a really nice touch. The manager is helpful and personable and is always checking on the guests.
3. You arrive at the airport in in about 5 minutes flat you are there. No long flight, then long drive to get to your hotel. If you're doing a short getaway, this is exactly what you are looking for in terms of accessibility. Same goes for the day you leave, you don't have to pack up 5 hours ahead of your flight. If you're going to be later than 11 am check out, you can always ask for an extended time period on your room, or there are bathrooms with showers right beside the pool area that you can utilize.
4. This resort attracts the nicest, down to earth people you will ever meet. Every time we've been here we've met great people who are very like minded, laid back and fun. It adds to the atmosphere.

Bar none, nothing beats this resort for convenience, romantic, peaceful retreats away from the city. I highly recommend that you try it. And remember, this is not your average hotel - this is an experience that some people will love and others may not appreciate quite as much as we do.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms are lovely and you will enjoy the sound of the ocean as you fall asleep and wake each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bahamaslover17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmer, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Beautiful facility, 5 star reataurant, and super staff. If you want a place to get away from it all this place is great! However, if you are active and want to sail, snorkle, dive, visit Blue Lagoon, or shop, most of those things are a long drive through nasty city traffic to Paradise Island. The ocean front rooms can be noisy during high wind as there are only shutters.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I have been staying at Compass Point for 10-14 days per visit, for the last 6 years. We previously stayed at the hotel/casino in Cable Beach, but since finding Compass Point, haven't gone back. The staff at CP are all very friendly. The rooms are nice and most have excellent views of the water from their nicely sized balcony. The food is very good, although the prices have been trending up. There is a per day, per person breakfast credit that helps keep the cost down. The resort is not very big, so it's easy to get around. The location, relative to the water, is excellent. Also, the snorkling is very good not far out from the pier.

One thing that may bother some folks (it doesn't bother us) is that the resort is located along a sometimes busy road and across from a residential area. You'll sometimes hear the noises commensurate with this location. It is also close to the airport, so during the middle of the day you'll sometimes hear and see planes, coming in to land, over the resort. My wife and I didn't mind the sounds and really liked watching the planes.

Explaining my ratings:

Value = VG, because the prices have been ticking slowly up and there are several "nickle and dime" add-ons that raise the day rate; But the resort is still, relative to other similar resorts, a very good value.

Sleep quality = VG; the wooden floor can make a slight "crunching" noise when someone walks on it, and, on some mornings, you can hear the 07:00 flight taking off from the airport - it sounds like thunder. Other than that, the bed is comfy and the nights are quite.

Location = VG; As noted earlier, the resort is on a main street and across from a residential area but, being away from the more populated areas like Cable Beach and Nassau, it's in a much better location than resorts in those other areas. If you want extreme quite, you're on the wrong island.

Rooms = VG; The bathroom is rather small, with small bathroom appliances (toilet) and no tub. But the room we stay in has a fridge upstairs and downstairs, a microwave, toaster oven and hotplate.

Overall Compass Point is an excellent place to stay. It is a quite (except as noted) comfortable, friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 106, 107 and 108 are the best. I found the oceanfront rooms to be too loud when the tide comes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gandalfim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you want to relax, this the resort for you. Warm friendly staff, especially Winzel. Kudos to Winzel for making our visit memorable. The resort pictures are correct, they capture every thing the resort has to offer. On-site restaurant/bar, beach access, pool, hot tub and the colorful elevated huts. Each hut has it's own balcony and the view is to die for. The resort is close to the airport but still secluded and peaceful. It's close enough to the other island attractions by taxi or rental car. But why leave, the resort has everything you will need to relax and unwind. We will definitely return in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for the front row huts, 113, 115, 117, 118 better sea view. Save a few dollars, shop for snacks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
10.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
10.0 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
8.5 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.2 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
5.5 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Beach Resort

Property: Compass Point Beach Resort
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Compass Point Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass Point is a 1.5 acre celebration of bold imagination. Its 18 huts, made up of two-story cottages and single cabanas, glow with vivid Junkanoo colors. It is the perfect choice for guests who value simplicity, comfort, creativty and romance. Its restarunt is one of the few in Nassau where you can dine overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Beach Hotel Nassau
Compass Point Beach Nassau
Compass Point Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing