We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views at a great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Point Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Incredible views at a great price.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

At Compass Point you stay in a brightly painted individual hut sporting wood floors, white washed walls, great sound system and the cutest porch with rockers all about twenty feet from the sea and it is about one third of the price as the large, impersonal chain resorts a few miles away. Don't miss the fabulous food at the restaurant or the lively bar also right on the sea. One of the best walking beaches in right there, too! They are set up for weddings both small and large and were setting up for one the day we left. I can't imagine a more lovely place in the islands.

Room Tip: Every room is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    136
    45
    26
    18
See reviews for
88
295
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Gorgeous views in the evenings. My husband and I had dinner at the hotel's restaurant on our last night in Nassau. The food was incredible and so was the ambiance - perfect for a romantic evening. We both raved about the fritter appetizers. We'd had them earlier at one of the restaurants in town but both agreed that these were far better. I can't wait to go back next year, I hear the resort itself has amazing accomodations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Went to Nassau for a wedding at Lyford Cay. Stayed three nights at Compass Point and enjoyed it. Our room, actually a mini bungalow, was right on the seawall. We could hear the waves crashing against the shore all night long and it was magical. The room itself was okay -- a comfortable bed and a good a/c. The bathroom was tiny and the shower had wooden slats on the floor. Water pressure was okay and the temperature did get hot. Our little covered porch was wonderful, but there were quite a few wasps flying around. We didn't sit by the pool, but it looked very nice. There is no direct beach access so we went to the beach at Lyford. That would be a problem for me in the future since my favorite part of the Bahamas is the sea. The only other drawback is the location -- very isolated. It is an expensive cab ride to go anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cement City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great view. Nice place to stay if you want to chill out on your vacation. Access to nearby Love beach. Rent a car if you want to take day trips anywhere. Taxis are also available. On site restaurant is overpriced, service was slow, and the dinners were the worst meals of our trip. Breakfast however was good. In summary, I'd recommend staying if you want a relaxed atmosphere away from the crowds and are not looking for an Atlantis type experience; skip the restaurant, at least for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krrmhr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our daughter got married on October 12 at Compass Point. We had it in the gazebo and then a sit down dinner at the pool area. Anita is the person in charge for the catering at Compass and she is fabulous. The dinner was great, we had an open bar including champagne and a great DJ as well. People in the restaurant actually came out and danced with us! It was such a great experience. My husband and I and my son and his wife actually stayed at Compass Saturday night through Tuesday after the wedding . It was fabulous! we had a hut right on seaside and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priscilla009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We came as a couple with our 4 month old a few years ago.
Very quiet and relaxing, much better than staying at one of the very large, very impersonal resorts.
Food was excellent!
Beach cottages are one of a kind, with beautiful ocean views and spacious decks/patios.
The negatives, price is high, not all inclusive, the pool was freezing (should be heated in the winter) and small beach area.
Lokoing for peace and quiet and not a lot going on, then this is the place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,911 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent a week at Compass Point at the end of September - our second visit. After spending a hectic week in downtown Nassau, Compass Point is a great place to relax. We tried a sea-front room this time - beautiful views, but the noise of the surf crashing against the rocks below can get a bit noisy.

The food was great, but the menu is very restricted (no doubt this only applies in low-season) and the catch of the day was always lobster! The staff were most friendly and efficient except for Tina on reception who appears to have an attitude problem and would be more suited to a back-office job.

I hope the place has had a bit of a refurbish / repaint for our next visit as it's getting a wee bit faded and the rigmarole you have to go through to book a room is tiresome - but notwithstanding, it's still a great place to chill out.

Room Tip: Room 113 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank CIARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
10.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,558 reviews
10.6 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
8.5 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.2 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
748 reviews
5.5 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Beach Resort

Property: Compass Point Beach Resort
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Compass Point Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass Point is a 1.5 acre celebration of bold imagination. Its 18 huts, made up of two-story cottages and single cabanas, glow with vivid Junkanoo colors. It is the perfect choice for guests who value simplicity, comfort, creativty and romance. Its restarunt is one of the few in Nassau where you can dine overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Compass Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Beach Hotel Nassau
Compass Point Beach Nassau
Compass Point Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing