We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge fan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Point Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge fan”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If the measure of a place's greatness is by how well it makes us forget the rest of the world, then Compass Point ranks among the best. You'll instantly enter vacation mode walking on the premises, knowing you have no obligation but to relax and have fun. Your options are beach, pool, bar, and porch. The room was a hybrid of rustic and modern; comfortable, clean, and provided enough amenities to add convenience. Love the Aveda products especially. The cooking area was a nice addition since you don't have many options for food on the resort - however you will find superior quality at the restaurant. Make sure you sit right up against the water for the best view of the ocean at sunset!

As for the courteous staff... Special thanks to Aneeka for her friendliness at the desk and for going above and beyond her usual duties to ensure we knew some local insider tips, such as walking down the street to get local flavor in the form of a conch salad. Nadia was awesome at the bar/restaurant and she made us feel like her friends after being there just a couple of days.

If I had to name one drawback.. and it was a big one.. the choice of soundtrack in the bar/restaurant/pool area. It was constantly looping the worst 90s music you could think of. A suggestion.. if you are going to use satellite radio, go with a more island/tropical theme to fit the setting, perhaps a Beach Boys or Jimmy Buffett station. Fortunately, once you are back in your room, all you hear is the ocean so you can easily leave that soundtrack behind.

Other than that, I would definitely go back for another true Bahamian experience.

Room Tip: Go with 117!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disco3616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    138
    46
    27
    19
See reviews for
93
298
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here and it was absolutely amazing! If you're looking for something off the beaten path and not touristy, this is the place. It was breathtaking! The cabins reminded me of treehouse bungalows and all have a romantic getaway type of feel. I made great friends, had great fun and had an absolutely amazing experience. I would recommend this to anyone who likes a personal, private yet very fun experience. You will not be disappointed! Ask for Aneeka. She is the beautiful woman, behind the greeting desk, waiting for you with a big warm and friendly smile.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CloudTenReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a great place to stay for a relaxing getaway, and if you're looking for something different than a large, crowded resort.

The location is scenic and beautiful. We absolutely loved our room - comfortable, clean, and the porch was our favorite feature. The view when you walk outside of your hut is breathtaking. Overall, the food was good but not great. Although there's not much in the area, we enjoyed walking down Love Beach. We also spent a few hours at Nirvana beach (right past love beach) and had lunch, and really enjoyed it.

Pros: the huts! They're perfect. The view. A nice balance of peace, quiet, yet still some action at the bar restaurant and pool. Great spa experience. Friendly staff.

Cons: grounds can use updating, for example umbrellas/cushions/fresh paint on restaurant furniture. Service can be slow at times, but we learned that it's like that throughout the island. Far from downtown and taxis aren't cheap. But if you start to embrace being on vacation mode, you won't want to leave the grounds.

Bottom line, we would both go back !

Room Tip: Sea view huts are a great value and you can't beat the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsZ1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We went to Nassau for my daughters wedding at Atlantis, after a few days there and we were needing some relaxation and peace. Compass point was just what we needed. The rooms were quaint and rustic but very nice, I like having a little mini kitchen with a fridge. It was everything we needed. We did have our own car which is a must for the location, they do have secure parking across the street. The restaurant has great food and the bar is a happening place at night! The people went out of their way to help and make us feel special. We enjoyed walking down to love beach. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aestheticgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Salem, New York
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely venue on the water with very good food and surpurb service. The fresh Lobster is huge in size and extremely tasty. Wow ! Try it.
We did not stay at Compass, but would in the future. It's a lovely spot.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shitzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed a week at Compass Point Resort which we selected based on the positive TripAdvisor reviews. I had been puzzled by some of the reviews but figured out that as long as you like rustic luxury you'll love Compass Point. We particularly liked mixing it up with local residents, including the U13 water polo games and meeting people on one of the four nights of live music.

The jitney buses are inexpensive and easy to navigate during the day (but unfortunately don't run past 7 pm so taxis are expense and required). Once we saw downtown Nassau swarming with cruise ship passengers and Atlantis/Paradise Island that is Las Vegas meets Disney we were even happier at Compass Point.

We loved the view, comfy beds with the sound of the waves crashing, the breakfasts that were included, live music, and colorful cottages. We wished the snorkeling was better - but if you go really far out to the reef it is good. The private beach is lovely, but there is a lot of broken glass that washes up. We definitely recommend Compass Point for a Bahamian experience.

Room Tip: We loved the elevated one bedroom cottage that felt like we were right over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Char B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a reasonably priced quiet place to stay and at Compass Point we found exactly that. It is very low-key. The bungalows are clean and well maintained but there is nothing fancy about them. The highlight is that they all look out over the ocean. There isn't a true beach front at the hotel but you can walk to the far end of the property and there is a beach right there. There is also a pool and hot tub. The spa was great, we got a lovely couples massage. The restaurant/bar were beautifully located right on the water.

The restaurant was the one thing that was really lacking. The food was VERY overpriced and not impressive. Breakfast and lunch were okay but dinner was incredibly disappointing. On top of poor/limited food selection the wine list is atrocious. One of the staff members told us that it is hard to import good wine to the Bahamas. I would suggest staying here but eating your meals elsewhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be about the same size. The only thing you get with the more expensive rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
10.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,609 reviews
10.6 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
3.2 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
764 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#2 of 37 in Nassau
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Beach Resort

Property: Compass Point Beach Resort
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Compass Point Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass Point is a 1.5 acre celebration of bold imagination. Its 18 huts, made up of two-story cottages and single cabanas, glow with vivid Junkanoo colors. It is the perfect choice for guests who value simplicity, comfort, creativty and romance. Its restarunt is one of the few in Nassau where you can dine overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Compass Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Beach Hotel Nassau
Compass Point Beach Nassau
Compass Point Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing