We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marley Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marley Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We booked our honeymoon at the Marley, but ended up staying only one night and switched to the Atlantis. The hotel itself is quite pretty and unique, but there were lots of issues:

- Ants in the room. If there were no other problems I could have accepted this, but it's still disappointing when you think about how much you are spending per night here!
- We arrived after a very long flight, went to take a shower and they had shut off the water to do some repair. It would have been nice to be warned this was happening! They got it back on pretty quickly, but still.
- The restaurant here is a joke. We tried to go to Simmer Down for dinner and they were not serving anything off the regular menu, only a prix fixe menu that was much more expensive. Also, you could only pay in cash. Why this ridiculous policy?? As a tourist I want to carry as little cash as possible. No wonder there was no one here.
- Breakfast was also a strange experience. They said no chef was around, but that they did offer a free continental breakfast of coffee, juice, bagels and fresh fruit. The food was good, and service was pretty fast. Then he presented us with a bill, which he said was only for accounting purposes and we wouldn't be charged. Why do I have to sign for something which is free??? I'm still not entirely sure that we weren't charged for it, and either way, that is extremely confusing.
- They advertise free wifi in the rooms, but the room we were in barely got a signal at all. We had to ask three times to get an ethernet cable brought up to use instead.
- Not much beach area. The waves come right up to the front of the hotel, so forget about taking a long walk on the beach here.
- Walking anywhere in this neighborhood is dangerous. There are no sidewalks and only a small shoulder. We tried to venture out to find places to eat and it is a bit of a hike to get anywhere. You can take the #10 bus, but it only runs until 5 or 6 pm.

Overall we felt this hotel had so much potential and we really wanted to like it, but we just wouldn't have been happy had we spent our entire vacation here.

Room Tip: Sun is shining was a large, lovely room. It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The only i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sgalbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    30
    14
    10
    10
See reviews for
18
70
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg , Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

When I was seaching for an event location for our 30 person sales team, I looked at many restaurants in and around the Atlantis where we were staying, and none of them offered anything unique. My group was adament about finding a spot with a nice view of the ocean (many come from landlocked parts of the country) and there were not many choices. I am so glad I stumbled across Simmer Down at the Marley Resort because we had the most spectacular and unique event imaginable. From the cocktails and passed appetizers by the sea wall overlooking the ocean at sunset, to the spectacular dinner in the courtyard, Chef Devan and his team treated us to an amazing experience. If you need an event unlike the standard restaurant experiences in Nassau, I strongly suggest a visit to Simmer Down and the Marley Resort! Everyone listed our evening there among the highlights of the entire trip!

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel, although it was a very cool location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We chose Simmer Down on a whim, as we'd already dined @ Cafe Matisse & Luciano's & didn't want to go to dinner anywhere on Paradise Island. Our evening turned out to be a memory of a lifetime! First of all, the courtyard is absolutely beautiful, w/ only a handful of tables lit by candlelight, fresh tropical flowers & white tablecloths, w/ beautifully carved British Colonial furniture. The tropical drinks from the Stir It Up bar were creative & outstanding. Sipping our drinks, tucked into a corner table, we were feeling like we were in a dream - and then the music started! Five or six of the most talented jazz musicians we've heard in a very long time...playing basically for us, as there was only one other person sitting @ a small table. The entrees were sensational, w/ just enough spice to add some heat, and very creatively combined w/ vegetable sides. Eventually a large private party got underway, but in the meantime, we were treated to a most memorable evening. Before leaving, we went through the photo gallery containing some amazing & evocative B & W photos of Bob Marley. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Templetons911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Marley Resort & Spa is an ok hotel, but not a 4-star hotel. Here is what you need to be prepared for,

1. Service is super slow. Room service will probably take about 30-45 minutes. You should expect your breakfast to take an hour since service will be slow.

2. You will have to pay cash for your room service and breakfast.

3. If you ask for beach towels to be brought up to your room, then don’t expect them to arrive. Don’t sit around and wait for them.

4. There is no management or concierge between 7pm and 8am. You will have to talk to the security guard, who probably has no idea what to do.

5. There is no beach. You walk directly into the water. Although, the water is beautiful.

You are basically paying for being right next to the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blaaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

We got married at the Marley Resort in May 2011. We and couple of family/friends stayed at Marley. The resort was closed for 9 months prior to our arrival. Hence, there was few glitches. The security safe didn't work because the batteries were never replaced. In the beginning, everyone's key card stop working repeatedly, but the problem was resolved after 2nd or 3rd day. Their official re-opening is June 1.

It is a boutique hotel with 16 rooms. All the rooms are unique and beautiful. They make extra effort to make the room extra special upon our arrival: There is flower petals sprinkles everywhere. A/C on at an ideal temperature. The room is lightly scented with essential oil and Bob Marley's songs playing in the background. We originally had a Master Suite. Mrs Marley upgraded our room to the Honeymoon suite on our wedding day. The room was magnificent with an oceanfront view.

Ashandie is my go-to-gal at the Marley! She take care of all our wedding guest room booking. And, she also coordinated with my wedding planner, Karen, making sure everything is done in time. The wedding was beautiful beyond my imagination! Everyone done a great job!

Karen (http://www.professionabahamasweddings.com) is a star. She is quick to respond to all your emails. She go out of her way to make sure everything turn out exceptional.

Chef Devan McPhee was the chef for our wedding, and, we ate at his restaurant, Simmers Down at the Marley Resort, 4 of our 9 stays at Nassau. His food is exceptionally tasty. Everyone at the wedding raved about the cocktails and reception dinner! By far, the best meal I had at Nassau!

We also tried couple of other restaurants
-Cafe Matisse: Beautiful terrace space. Excellent service. Foods was very good as well.
-Luciano's: I had pasta with lobster. It was ok, taste like pasta from any Italian restaurants. My husband and my mom both had the red snapper fillet, and, both agreed it was not very good. It was bland.
-Poop deck at Sandyport: We all had the fish of the day, it was one of the best grilled fish i had.
-Fish Fried: We were at fish fried for lunch couple times. Didn't like the service at Twin brothers, our waitress was unpleasant. Anchorage (same owner as Seafood Heaven) has better service. The waiter take time to explain the menu and make recommendation. And,it had better conch salad.
-Compass point: Really cute place with vibrant colours!
-Cafe Skans: Their conch burger is much better than Conch Fritters, less batter and more big pieces of conch.
-Goodfellow's farm: I had the salad of the day....meh. It wasn't very impressive, simple lettuce with ham and cheese. It was a bit disappointing.
-Atlantis's Seagrape: We were there for the lunch buffet. It's $33/person. Not a bad deal, there is large variety of foods.

Couple of us went on the Powerboat Adventures excursion. It was lot of fun! The beach was beautiful, with speckle of pink corals in the sand. Just as it seems on all the Bahamas tourist ads. One piece of advice, sit at the back of the boat. The front seats are really windy. The excursion is $200/person.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else but Marley Resort! If you want an intimate and unique experience, stay at Marley Resort!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EE2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

The Marley Resort was a great Hotel. It is a true boutique hotel. It is the anti-sandals. I recommend it to people who like original hotels and are willing to adventure out on your own. Personalized service, helpful people, and must stop for Bob Marley fans. Would be a perfect spot for a destination wedding.

My wife and I swam daily in the ocean. Hotel sits on a beautiful view of the water and can swim in front of the Hotel. Walk to other beaches and shops. (Starbucks about half mile away, Nettie's across the street great local food and atmosphere, grocery store very close walk)

The Chef at the Marley is absolutely fabulous. He takes tradition Bahama's food and makes it exciting and very tasty. A Must do.****

Trip details: The best cab driver in Bahamas and will not rip you off. His name is Mark and his phone number is [--].

Highly recommend snorkeling the Thunderball reef (James Bond Film). Only costs $50 per person and the boat ride out there is incredible too.

Cabbage Beach-Fun, but very busy, Lots of jet skis, actual coconut drinks on the beach, and chairs to rent.

Nobu-Have eaten at the Nobu in San Diego. This one at Atlantis is a NO!!!! Way over priced for very average food. Service is terrible. For two people with drinks you are $200plus for very average food.

Atlantis Casino- Fun place, good table games, try the hand wrapped cigars

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robrown57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Went there with a large group of adults (no kids) recently off season, had a great time at this small but beautiful hotel. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. But remember, everything’s sllllooooowww in the Bahamas, so be prepared to wait for breakfast, etc. The location was 10 minutes from the airport, and a short drive to everything.

Rooms were impeccable, and at least our room was huge (think some of the rooms are of different sizes). They name each room, which is a nice touch (recommend “Sun is Shining,” which is off the water but we liked it). The connection to Bob Marley is cool. And the size makes you feel like you’re staying at someone’s estate, and not a nameless faceless visitor to Hilton/Marriott/Etc.

Not that they can control this, but you should know that (at least as of July 2010) the beach erosion was so bad, all that’s left was the rock foundation that would normally be under the sand, but once you’re out in the blue water, no one cares.

Had a great time, would return no question.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glegly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
4.5 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
6.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.5 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
0.7 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marley Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marley Resort & Spa

Property: Marley Resort & Spa
Address: West Bay St | Cable Beach, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marley Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The summer retreat of the Reggae Royalty now welcomes guests to 16 luxurious, themed suites reflecting musical legacies of Bob and Rita Marley. Two free-form pools, personal concierge service, boutique, music gallery, and a Caribbean-fusion restaurant that offers some of the Marley's favorite dishes. An intimate escape into the talented life of a legendary family, the Marley Resort & Spa blends the best of the region's rich culture with the artistic energy of this acclaimed family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marley Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marley Resort And Spa
Marley Hotel Nassau
Marley Resort Nassau
Marley Resort & Spa Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing