We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One & Only Ocean Club
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Almost Paradise”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We first stayed at Ocean Club in 1992. We have been five time, each time it improves. The price increases but so have the facilities. The gardens are so well manicured the rooms (we had 1040) were perfect, large bath and shower. Plenty of bottled water and a bowl of fruit in our room.The little extras like slices of chilled watermelon on the beach, sorbet by the pool, champagne and strawberries in our room before dinner and such attentive staff, make the rather extravagant cost worth while.

The big plus is that after a short flight and no time difference make it a fantastic destination from the US east coast, to arrive in warm weather and see aquamarine water, soft soft white sand and constant blue sky, Paradise indeed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    150
    84
    64
    56
See reviews for
190
411
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I celebrated my Birthday at the Ocean Club on paradise island. It has a beautiful Tom Weiskopf-designed golf course and an award-winning spa. My birthday dinner was spectacular and the long walks on the beach memorable. Next to my sister's birthday celebration in Rio de Janeiro, this is my second favorite resort in the world.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Calberkeley1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The One and Only Ocean club in the Bahamas is probably the best hotel near Nassau or even perhaps the best in the Bahamas. The rooms are great with wonderful views over the ocean - check out the Crescent wing which has a large rooms in colonial style with wooden floors and contemporary furnishings. Great bathrooms large oval baths and Moulton Brown toiletries in good size bottles!!

There are two main dining options and the food is good for what it is.

While the swimming pool is a little small and slightly disappointing the grounds are beautifully manicured and contain the Versailles garden which the previous owner developed in 1940s and 50s.

The staff are friendly and very helpful and there is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and rooms.

The beach is narrow but a reasonable length and there is help with the sun loungers and drinks and a beach bar was being constructed while we were there. However this is not a private beach so there are people selling clothes etc and various water activities. You are also aware of the noise from people bouncing up and down on banana boats as they get towed in front of the beach as well as the jetskis and the particular smell of their fumes which waft onto the beach.

This hotel is part of the larger Atlantis group and you're never far away from realising that - the television when you arrive is set to the Atlantis channel and much of the welcome pack has details of activities at the Atlantis hotel and resort.

If you need a stopover in this area then Nassau is fine and the Ocean Club is probably the only place you will want to stay - but this really isn't a vacation place in its own right. Large mass tourist hotels and huge cruise ships mean that the island is very much a port of call rather than a destination desert island in its own right.

While we didn't book the hotel transfers there was still a meet and greet at the airport when we arrived with our names on a board - just to help us to a taxi. That's not only helpful but a bit of class! Taxis are $37 set rate to the resort - so why wouldn't you?!



Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Love coming here! Although it never seems to have many guests when I am there, it is a lovely place. The grounds are kept nice, and I always receive great service while here. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The dune is the prettiest place for lunch and the pool is a nice place to relax. Recommend staying here once in your life

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1kbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week before going on to Florida. Having had a wonderful stay at the One and Only in Mauritius, we had high expectations especially as this resort was considerably more expensive.

Sadly, we were left a little disappointed.

The rooms are tired - rather weak shower over a small bath, air conditioning sounded like a plane taking off (couldn't leave it on at night which meant mornings were uncomfortably warm).

Service generally good but dinner at Dune on the first night was unacceptably slow, especially as we had told the staff at the start that we had been travelling that day, were exhausted and wanted to go to bed soon.

Finally, the beach is average - Atlantis and its massive tower blocks are very nearby, so you don't get much of an impression of remoteness.

Finally, check your bill carefully!! There were mistakes on ours. In addition, there had also been a problem with charging to the room at the start of the trip. We noticed that the restaurants had our room number down incorrectly on the automatically-generated bill (although they had the right surname). Once this had happened a couple of times we went to reception to clear it up... Even though we had hand written the correct room number on the bills we signed, the staff hadn't altered this on the system so everything had been charged to the other room. Needless to say, it would have been a real mess if we hadn't noticed and pointed this out early.

A nice enough resort but unfortunately not one of the better ones in the One and Only collection.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After 5 years, my husband and I returned to the one and only ocean club Bahamas. Everything exceeded our expectations! First and foremost, the staff... Friendly, genuine, truly go out of their way to make you happy.
The GM John Conway obviously knows how to run/maintain and even improve a luxury resort. He has his hand on the pulse and truly makes guests feel a warm welcome... At checkin, Dustin was so great!
One of the highlights of the trip is Dune Restaurant! We try to experience other restaurants at Atlantis but we keep coming back to Dune! Amazing! We love the "ribbons of tuna"! The conch salad is amazing too! Anthony, Anthony, Henry, Ralph, and all the staff are really wonderful!
Another highlight of the resort is the beach/ocean... Crystal clear ocean, and the beach staff are also very accommodating... Bringing water, full service menu, spritzing water, watermelon slices... Yum! Corey, James, and lifeguard Jamie all wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I recently returned from four wonderful days at the Ocean Club. This was our first experience at the Ocean Club and we will be returning. The hotel and grounds are meticulously kept and so beautiful. We stayed in the Hartford Wing and were upgraded upon arrival to an Oceanfront room. The Hartford Wing is the older of the two wings but honestly, it was more than fine for the two of us. We loved the patio which had two lounge chairs and still had enough space for a table and two chairs that we used to have breakfast a few mornings. We appreciated the upgrade and the ocean view.

The service is slow in the Bahamas in general and that's fine with us as we are on vacation and not in a hurry. Nelson, our butler was wonderful. It was such a treat to have that kind of
personalized service. The service at the beach was definitely lacking however. Not all chairs have flags and the attendents should have been walking around asking if anyone wanted service.

At night, we went up to Atlantis for dinner and the casino. We did eat at Dune once though. It was very good. I love their sticky rice in a banana leaf.

If you value peace and quiet, beautiful scenery, pristine beach, and the most comfortable bed and pillows in the free world, this is a place you will be more than happy with. I really don't see this as a place for children though. Mine would have been bored to tears here when they were young.

This will be our "go to" spot when we need a few days away from it all.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are really nice. We stayed in the Hartford Wing and found the room and patio perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
#9 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One & Only Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Ocean Club

Property: One & Only Ocean Club
Address: One Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Ocean Club 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the deep blue of an endless Bahamian sky, wrapped in the turquoise waters of an exuberant sea, One&Only Ocean Club nestles peacefully along a shore of delicate white sand beach...a treasured sanctuary of privileged perfection. With newly, enlarged Hartford Wing rooms and the addition of a new shoreline infinity pool and Ocean Grill, the resort has taken its legendary sophistication and contemporary elegance to an unsurpassed level in the Caribbean. The resort was once the private estate of A&P heir Huntington Hartford II. Today, this alluring beachfront hideaway reflects the glamorous ambiance and posh exclusivity of a grand estate, welcoming generations of the world's travelling elite. Expansive manicured lawns and towering coconut palms provide an enchanting backdrop to the pristine beaches of Paradise Island. Here, service is elevated to a fine art form by a gracious staff. Warm and inviting accommodation plus 3 and 4-bedroom residential-style villas are ideal for couples and families alike. The dining options at One&Only Ocean Club are renowned and unforgettable featuring the imaginative cuisine of chef Jean-George Vongerichten. One&Only Ocean Club is a playground for world-class golf, tennis, spa, and off property water-sports. The spectacular blue waters of the Caribbean are the elixir of Bahamian life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your One & Only Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One & Only Ocean Club Hotel Paradise Island
One And Only Ocean Club
One Only Ocean Hotel
Ocean Club Bahamas
One Only Ocean Resort
One Only Bahamas
One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing