We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think we chose the wrong time of year” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of One & Only Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
One & Only Ocean Club
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Think we chose the wrong time of year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

As another reviewer recently stated, we really wanted to love this place. We stayed at Ocean Club for four nights followed by Cove Atlantis for two. We weren't blind to the discrepancies between the two properties going into this trip, but figured that one would have more to appreciate for the adults and the other for our kids and therefore there would be something for everyone.

Check in was easy and our room which was a lovely ocean /beach front suite in the Crescent wing was spacious and clean. The worst thing about the room (and somewhat surprising given the cost) was the mattress quality. Soft doesn't begin to describe it. If you are a side sleeper you would actually roll onto your back because the mattress was that unsupportive. I am 120 pounds. This shouldn't have been a problem. My husband had backaches for the duration of the trip.

Staff was very friendly for the most part. We only came across one or two lackluster staff members and one of them was in the kids corner, where they probably don't do a lot of their business anyway. There were almost no children on this resort.

The thing that made Ocean Club so much less than it could have been for us was the fact that we couldn't use the ocean. Perhaps this was our fault. The winds were whipping and the ocean water was so choppy that the ocean was unusable. This was rain or shine. We knew we were at the tail end of rainy season but sun with rough water was something we never considered. So we had to travel to Cove Atlantis for beach use and even that was rough but not as bad as Ocean Club because the beach is somewhat protected by an inlet that slows down the intensity of the waves. So we never had the luxury and ease of being able to stay at Ocean Club for the day. The pools are less than average so they weren't a draw to remain on the property for the day. Was always a relief, though, to return to OC at end of day after madness of Atlantis.

Breakfast at Dune was a highlight and lunches and dinners were good too. Not exceptional but very good. Lawns were immaculately taken care of. Overall, for the expense of the suite, would not return. Just wasn't that mind blowing but very nice.

For less money, would return to Parrot Cay instead. The rooms were not as polished but the beach was unbeatable.

Room Tip: Would choose second floor crescent wing suite. View is fantastic and patios are enormous. Not the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JLPBergenCounty_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    144
    80
    59
    54
See reviews for
174
392
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Not sure if it was due to off season or bad service. But for the price you would expect great service. Slow and non existent is how I would describe the one and only. After staying at the one and only in cabo we expected more.

Management should fix the service fast

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
10 Thank AngLaz1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We really wanted to love this place. After having stayed at the One and Only in Cabo and being wowed -- our hopes were high for this property as well.

Things started out well. We arrived late afternoon and our room was lovely. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately groomed. The beach restaurant was very nice and the beach itself, although rather small looked enticing.

Unfortunately the next day, from morning until late afternoon an armada of jet skis, and banana boats towing screaming kids completely ruined the beach experience. The loud revving motors sound like an army of leaf blowers and spew strong gas fumes that you could actually taste. At one point I seriously counted 20 of these annoying crafts zigzagging right in front of the hotel beach. There was just no escape from them if you wanted to be on the beach. The fumes actually reached our second story ocean front room balcony making it unusable for us.

We were so disappointed that we went over to The Atlantis Cove for to see if one of their best suites would save the day. Unfortunately jet skis and motor craft were also in abundance there. It is also a massive complex very crowded with young families.

I guess with all of these mega cruise ships that arrive in Nassau every day, thousands of tourists descend on the small town and these water rentals are obviously a big business. Unfortunately they completely spoiled what we hoped would be a quiet romantic beach vacation for us.

I guess if management really wanted to do something about this they could pay the vendors to not have their rentals cross in front of the hotel or to at least have them go far enough out so the noise and fumes could be minimized.

This is an expensive place that would be worth it if not for this very real problem. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SanDieg0Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked at One & Only Ocean Club because we wanted a quick getaway from New York, which it is, and we have an aversion to large resorts like nearby Atlantis on Paradise Island. Although the Ocean Club is certainly different from Atlantis, it is still too close for our comfort. Like in the rest of the Bahamas, the water is beautiful, but the beach is steep and very shallow, so guests do not have much room to spread out - not a great beach, in our view. For the money, we think that travelers can do better on islands like Turks and Caicos, Puerto Rico (Dorado Beach) or even the Bahamas during the summer months.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HMMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Attended a wedding over 2 days at the One and Only and I will say that it is probably the one and only time we will want to visit or stay there. Service was hit and miss. The Dune was the worst and after dropping about $250K on a wedding reception the overall performance of the staff and the food quality was lacklustre. Too many small niggling failures that made you wonder why you were paying so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Raymon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We first stayed at Ocean Club in 1992. We have been five time, each time it improves. The price increases but so have the facilities. The gardens are so well manicured the rooms (we had 1040) were perfect, large bath and shower. Plenty of bottled water and a bowl of fruit in our room.The little extras like slices of chilled watermelon on the beach, sorbet by the pool, champagne and strawberries in our room before dinner and such attentive staff, make the rather extravagant cost worth while.

The big plus is that after a short flight and no time difference make it a fantastic destination from the US east coast, to arrive in warm weather and see aquamarine water, soft soft white sand and constant blue sky, Paradise indeed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I celebrated my Birthday at the Ocean Club on paradise island. It has a beautiful Tom Weiskopf-designed golf course and an award-winning spa. My birthday dinner was spectacular and the long walks on the beach memorable. Next to my sister's birthday celebration in Rio de Janeiro, this is my second favorite resort in the world.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Calberkeley1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.7 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Graycliff Hotel
Graycliff Hotel
#8 of 37 in Nassau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One & Only Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Ocean Club

Property: One & Only Ocean Club
Address: One Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Ocean Club 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the deep blue of an endless Bahamian sky, wrapped in the turquoise waters of an exuberant sea, One&Only Ocean Club nestles peacefully along a shore of delicate white sand beach...a treasured sanctuary of privileged perfection. With newly, enlarged Hartford Wing rooms and the addition of a new shoreline infinity pool and Ocean Grill, the resort has taken its legendary sophistication and contemporary elegance to an unsurpassed level in the Caribbean. The resort was once the private estate of A&P heir Huntington Hartford II. Today, this alluring beachfront hideaway reflects the glamorous ambiance and posh exclusivity of a grand estate, welcoming generations of the world's travelling elite. Expansive manicured lawns and towering coconut palms provide an enchanting backdrop to the pristine beaches of Paradise Island. Here, service is elevated to a fine art form by a gracious staff. Warm and inviting accommodation plus 3 and 4-bedroom residential-style villas are ideal for couples and families alike. The dining options at One&Only Ocean Club are renowned and unforgettable featuring the imaginative cuisine of chef Jean-George Vongerichten. One&Only Ocean Club is a playground for world-class golf, tennis, spa, and off property water-sports. The spectacular blue waters of the Caribbean are the elixir of Bahamian life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Holiday Gems and Hotels.com so you can book your One & Only Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Ocean Club
One & Only Ocean Club Hotel Paradise Island
One Only Ocean Hotel
Ocean Club Bahamas
One Only Ocean Resort
One Only Bahamas
One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing