We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One & Only Ocean Club
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed at the O&O for 3 nights whilst attending my Brother's wedding at the hotel. Stayed in the Crescent Wing which although not as new as the Hartford Wing, was lovely. All rooms open into the central courtyard which doubles as a restaurant in the evening. Rooms were extermely comfortable, and the bed was fabulous! Champagne and strawberries delivered every evening was a bonus. Grounds are immaculate, the adult pool is beautiful with the view of the gardens and cloisters in the background (where they had their lovely wedding).

If you are considering getting married there, could not fault it in the slightest. The ceremony and location were beautiful, food was out of this world, and the staff were very attentive.

The beach is breathtaking, and the service from the beach manager & his staff is spot on. We ate at the "Dune" restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Yes, it is pricey (we paid $77 per day, per couple for breakfast), but was well worth it. Lunch wasn't too expensive ($24 club sandwich) but the portions are HUGE. However, coffee is served FOC in the lobby until 11am, and champagne & lemonade are also served there FOC between 11am and 4pm.

The car shuttle service to the Atlantis was very useful. You can also charge to your room from the Atlantis (useful when we visited the Aura nightclub there, but got carried away with the $12 per drink, and ended up with a large room bill!) After the peace & quiet of the O&O, the Atlantis comes as a bit of a shock! Think Vegas casino with lots of kids! Great if you have kids, as there is plenty to entertain, but not if you want a quiet getaway.

Overall, would definately return to the Ocean Club, and would love to visit other O&O hotels around the world. Yes, it is expensive, but what you get is an elegant, luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessel37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    150
    84
    64
    56
See reviews for
190
412
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

After 5 fun-packed days in Orlando my partner and I made our way via Bahamasair over to the One and Only for 3 nights and the wedding of Rich and Laura. As soon as we got out of the taxi and were immediately greated by name by the Manager and then given glasses of ice cold champagne I was in heaven. My partner persuaded Tracy in the lobby to call him 'Mr Bond' for the entire stay, which he loved. I have no idea where comments about lazy or surly staff have come from, with the exception of some more 'relaxed' service on the beach everybody we met was incredibly happy, helpful and friendly. Special recommendation to Shawn at the Pool Terrace Cafe who made our trip, even cameo-ing as 'Dr Bob' in the Best Man's speech - what a sport. On arrival we chatted with the bride to be as more party members checked in, and were offered a complimentary lunch in the pool terrace by Tracy, an offer you cannot refuse. Our room was 2nd floor, garden view in the Hartford wing and was beautiful, smelling of rich dark wood, very cool, shaded and immaculate. It had a balcony with sun loungers, and a table and chairs, with an oil burner which was lit by housekeeping every night, presumably to keep bugs out. There was also a bug net on the patio doors. The room had a big flat screen TV, fresh fruit bowls etc. Avoid the minibar - insane prices, plus with the complimentary champagne and Godiva choc-covered strawberries at 6pm you won't fancy anything else sweet. Turn down service, with slippers laid out by the bed, and Leonidas chocs. I never once saw a maid in the room but it was cleaned, tidied more than once a day, when sand was walked in from the beach it was gone later in the afternoon. Note - maid service charge on your final bill. The gorunds are immaculate and a joy to walk around, watch out for coconuts in the palms, heard some thuds and had a few near misses. Both pools have concierge service, where they set up loungers for you with fresh blue towels, bring water, sunscreen (up to factor 50), crystal geysir mineral water, sorbet and spritzers. Note - crystal geysir water free throughout the resort, and you'll need it! Both pools very quiet, the family pool only had 2 or 3 children in it. Both have lifeguards. Similar set up on the beach, choose your sunlounger and it is set up. Raise the flag on your chair for drinks service etc. The water is exquisite, and as warm as bath water, crystal clear. There are buoys set up to prevent jet-skis getting too close. I only saw a few beach traders who moved on with a polite 'no thanks', unless you really want to get your hair braided. We ate at Dune one evening, turning up with no reservation, which was met with a slightly concerned look from the hostess, but 'we're staying in the hotel' got us a table immediately. Again very friendly service and you can't help but people watch. Free cars over to the Atlantis really useful, and gave me more security when travelling alone. I recommend the Dig, and Aura (free entry to O&O guests), and understand the waterpark is great, but once I left the Dig to explore the rest of Atlantis I was struck by how busy, impersonal and loud it was. I was so happy to call the car and head back for some more free champagne in the library. The wedding itself was beautiful, only 25 guests, so very personal. The ceremony was in the Versailles gardens with an arch made of palms, cool towels, fans, more champagne, then around the lily pond for steel drums and an open bar. Tiki torches lit the way back to the pool terrace, where after speeches, and a fabulous buffet with lobster, steak, seared tuna etc we danced. At the end of the evening most of the men jumped into the pool - it was too hot and humid, and tempting not too. I cannot say enough how fabulous the staff in the hotel are. When getting taxis ask for Fisher, not only is he a local celebrity, who can apparently get you into any restaurant and has driven all the stars, but as another guest at the hotel said - he is sober, unlike some of the other cabbies we had! I can't wait to visit another One and Only resort, truly spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2010

My brother and his wife got married at this resort. We all fly and stayed at this beautiful resort and the services was outstanding. Of course, the price was pretty steap at over $1K per night for each room. I had a room with a view to kill for. The entire wall facing the beach had a folding screen that unfolds to review a breath taking view. The bathroom was Euro style and lavishly decorated. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. There was also a golf course that was not much used. My brother ran into Patrick Stuart in the resort gym so it is likely to have a few celebs frequenting it. I enjoyed the view and food so it was well worth it. We had the banquet for this wedding there and also booked the entire bar and most part of the resort to ourselves and had a blast. I'm convinced I want to stay at other One and Only resorts around the world in the near future but would like to do it with fewer people.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhuynhsfsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The location on Paradise Island beach is simply amazing. The area is great, the gardens are well maintained. However the rooms are a bit small, and might be noisy at night when the Courtyard restaurant is open. The major problem at this nice hotel is the very poor service. OK we need to adjust expectations when in The Bahamas - but for the price we paid we expected at least good service: The security guards obvisouly don't do profiling and keep asking for the key-card or where we were going, very rude and annoying. The staff at the beach-bar was not friendly either. So overall the impression was average.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank largowinchzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I have been in numerous leading hotels of the world, including other One & Only resorts, and I must say at first that everything is overpriced here in Bahamas, when compared to other places such as Koh Samui, Maldives, Seychelles, Bali, Mauritius,... Keeping that in mind, and puting aside the price factor, I was happy with my stay at the One & Only Ocean Club (OC).
The hotel has a fabulous garden and landscape, and enjoys also a beautiful beach and seaside. The beach and the sea are, to some extent, even better than at the Maldives (O&O Reethi Rah). It is very quiet and relaxing, especially after coming from the tohu bohu at The Atlantis. Rooms are nice, although a little bit small to my taste (I stayed in the Crescent wing and recommand to stay in this wing, which is more private, nearer to the sea and with larger and newer rooms than in the other wing, Hartford). The service is up to my expectation, staff are attentive and friendly. The restaurant Dune (and in-room dining) serve surprisingly good food (a kind of West meet East fusion cuisine).
All in all, the OC deserves its reputation as a mythic Bahamean hotel (visited by James Bond in his latest "Casino Royal").

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We were suppose to stay 8 nights but we decided to leave before. Ii is not worth going to this hotel far to much expensive for what they can offer. We always go to the most beautiful resorts around the world and this was really not good. The service is terrible, rooms old, ugly swimming pool. The rude staff expects you always to tip them ( although the high service charge is always included) a real nightmare they make you feel under pressure. My warning is: do not go.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briciolaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

OK, this might be a premier hotel on paradise island, but compared to other 5 star hotels elsewhere the ocean club falls waaaaaay short.

Service is this hotel is only average, and thats about as good as it gets in the bahamas. Food? I can only give you this advice, NEVER order you hamburger other than well done. I have gotten sick from food in the ocean club on two occasions.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
#9 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One & Only Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Ocean Club

Property: One & Only Ocean Club
Address: One Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Ocean Club 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the deep blue of an endless Bahamian sky, wrapped in the turquoise waters of an exuberant sea, One&Only Ocean Club nestles peacefully along a shore of delicate white sand beach...a treasured sanctuary of privileged perfection. With newly, enlarged Hartford Wing rooms and the addition of a new shoreline infinity pool and Ocean Grill, the resort has taken its legendary sophistication and contemporary elegance to an unsurpassed level in the Caribbean. The resort was once the private estate of A&P heir Huntington Hartford II. Today, this alluring beachfront hideaway reflects the glamorous ambiance and posh exclusivity of a grand estate, welcoming generations of the world's travelling elite. Expansive manicured lawns and towering coconut palms provide an enchanting backdrop to the pristine beaches of Paradise Island. Here, service is elevated to a fine art form by a gracious staff. Warm and inviting accommodation plus 3 and 4-bedroom residential-style villas are ideal for couples and families alike. The dining options at One&Only Ocean Club are renowned and unforgettable featuring the imaginative cuisine of chef Jean-George Vongerichten. One&Only Ocean Club is a playground for world-class golf, tennis, spa, and off property water-sports. The spectacular blue waters of the Caribbean are the elixir of Bahamian life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your One & Only Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One & Only Ocean Club Hotel Paradise Island
One And Only Ocean Club
One Only Ocean Hotel
Ocean Club Bahamas
One Only Ocean Resort
One Only Bahamas
One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing