We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful retreat”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paradise Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This place was great. The rooms are clean, you're right on the beach, and 2 vegetarian meals are served everyday. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You'll feel right at home here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vrinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    111
    37
    22
    24
See reviews for
61
49
442
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and I were looking for a different experience to celebrate his birthday, and our experience at this Compound sadly left us with plenty to remember. I relied on their misleading website. I wasn't laughing when I was there because I was so miserable with bug bites, but once we ditched the place the absurdity of our experience became laughable. My husband estimates that I had no less than 50 bug bites - and this despite the fact I doused myself in repellant.
The food is heavy on the carbs.
Our room was spartan, and there was one towel for each of us for our stay. I had to pay and wash our towels myself during our stay.
I was advised to call several days before our arrival to schedule massages. When I called, I was advised that massages services were not available.
There was virtually no contact with the staff outside of the yoga sessions. The instructors keep to themselves. The place appears to be run by karma yogis ~ folks who work for free apart from food and a place to pitch a tent. I overheard constant complaints from the yoga students of mold everywhere.
While we remain very interested in pursuing yoga, after five days we left the Compound (yes, there is a high creep factor ) and made our way to the Atlantis for a clean room free of mosquitos and a good meal. I would never recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are determined to go, make sure you get one of the few rooms with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I'd never been to an ashram before, nor across the Atlantic for that matter. This little ashram is like a slice of paradise. It's beautifully planted and has a stunning beach right behind it. People are nice and the ashram is just the right size to make new friends, but not too big or crowded that you feel lonely or lost. Food is DELICIOUS! Accomodations are comfortable. I stayed in a tent hut, mind you these are NOT waterproof! There are several bathrooms and showers, so you'll always find one that's available. If you're looking for spiritual replenishment in a beautiful location, his is the place to go! You'll find inspiration and knowledge here to continue your own Sadhana, or spiritual path. If you're considering it: stop considering and just go! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Tent huts leak. If you choose a tent space, pitch your tent on the south-east side of the camp. Far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexZ110106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I can't think of many places that are more spiritually rejuvenating. The Bhakti Yoga retreat was absolutely amazing. Tourists are sure to experience some realizations as they enjoy the company of like-minded individuals on a quest for spiritual advancement.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynwood, Fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is the real thing. I had gone there a couple of times before, and had not got as much as I did on this last time.
The Ashram looks beautiful with its new rooms and suites where true undisturbed tropical nature, spirituality and knowledge coexist.
Magnificent sunrises and sunsets, surrounded by a positive yogi environment, infused by succulent lacto-vegetarian cuisine, will make you come back truly refreshed, much younger and clear.
This is not a Club-Med - far from it, it is an Ashram. it is a much basic and simple structure and environment than that, and much healthier at the same time.
The new suites are fabulous, and the rooms are quite cozy.
You can also enjoy all the benefit of the Ashram: from the yoga classes, to world class lectures and spirituality all around, See web for lectures and courses details you might be interested in around the dates of your travelling . www.sivanandabahamas.org
Fly to Nassau and take a $30 taxi to the marina, where they will pick you up on a boat to take you to the island (once every hour- free 10 minute trip).
No Smoking in the property, pure bliss.

Room Tip: If you are a couple I would recommend the new suites next to the crest of the ocean, Beautiful and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chema f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

If you want wisdom, this is one of the best places to go on this planet. Atmosphere is very relaxed, friendly and welcoming. Food is delicious. Caribbean sand beaches and sea are amazing. This is a fantastic place to practice Yoga and to grow spiritually in a community
of like-minded people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

You dont have to be a yogi, you just have to love the opportunity to relax, have lots of quiet time, enjoy the relaxed environment full of peace.
There is accommodation for all budgets and preferences. We had the wonderful Ganga rooms, that are directly on the water, with balconies that have the best views ever. Yes the food is vegetarian, yes i had to sneak away to a starbucks for coffee (10 minute walk on the beach) but we had the most amazing uplifting time.
We will go back again and again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mady c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paradise Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
One & Only Ocean Club
One & Only Ocean Club
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
847 reviews
1.1 mi away
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat

Property: Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat
Address: 4777, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yoga Retreat is a spiritual center & retreat place offering courses and workshops and yoga vacation. The daily schedule includes two yoga classes, two Satsangs (meditation sessions) and two vegetarian meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat Hotel Paradise Island
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing