We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
sc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Travelled there with my wife, 2 boys (ages 4 and 2) and my mother-in-law. We had the pleasure of staying in unit 17 which is the 5 bedroom Villa.....It was incredible....Beautifull views of the beach and every amenity one could think of. The staff was awsome and the location could not be beat.....Right on the beach with just a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute cab ride to the Atlantis. We ate at Dune one night and the setting is really great...I recommend the Lobster as it was the best I have ever had. We also had breakfast there which was also good not great...but the views are worth it. We also ate at Luciano's...I also recommend going there and getting the Hog Snapper....very tasty....We ate a lot of our meals at the Villa out of convenience...Contact me with any questions.....I will try to post some pics later this week

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank letsgosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    102
    43
    18
    18
See reviews for
183
128
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

Our family, a total of 15, just got home from a 7 night stay at Sunrise Beach Club. We rented unit 208, two bedroom with garden view, and unit 1, three bedrrom ocean front. Unit 208 was clean nicely decorated, and had two very large bathrooms with nice showers. Unit 1 was ok, not so well decorated, very small bathrooms, however the view was great! We did had several half days of rain, which is common this time of year from what I understand. Yes, the place is old and in need of some repair, but this would not keep me from going back again. We liked the quietness of the resort itself. The kids enjoyed the pools, beach and the hammocks.The staff was kind and helpful. We did this trip over our normal family trip to Florida. We did get a special on our rooms, stay four nights get three free, I think.

If you are going to this resort with plans of cooking meals, then understand that groceries are expensive! A gallon of milk was $7.99! Oscar Meyer hot dogs $6.49 for one package! We had packed three suitcases of nonparashable food, snack stuff, cereal etc... but had we known the cost of groceries and going out to eat, we would have packed much more, including freezing and packing meat. Bottled water was $12.99 for a case and beer was $50.00 for a case. Also, both kitchens were limited in cooking wear, but we managed.

Getting from the airport to Sunrise Beach club was a 30min taxi ride. It ws also costly. They charge by the head and also by the number of bags. So with 15 of us it added up. We ended up renting a small car and yes you do drive on the left side of the road! When we went out we just went in shifts using the rental car. It did save us some money in the end. We also walked from our place to the ferry to go over to the straw market. Walk was short and ferry was $3.00 per person. Ferry ride was good, straw market fair. Same stuff isle after isle. Fake purses, t-shirts, handmade fans, jewerly and other trinkets.. If I was rushed for time, this would be something I could miss.

We also snorkeled and scuba dived at Stuarts Cove. They come right to Sunrise Beach club to pick you up, takes about an hour to get there. They stop/drop off at other hotels along the way. It was a great time! Several of our group scuba dived with the sharks, and were pleased. Those of us who snorkeled were not let down, we were taken to three different sites. The water was clear, the reefs and fish were beautiful, and we got to also see the sharks! It was a great day. Again, this was not cheap.

We ate out at the PoopDeck and it was good, but we enjoyed the Columbus Tavern more. I recommend the New Providence Grouper, The Garlic Grouper or the Hog Nose Snapper. Don't miss the Cocconut Duff or the Flamming Coffee! Both places are not cheap, but glad we went there. We also ordered Dominos Pizza for the group ($90.00 for 5 large) and KFC (35 pieces only $70.00)
Couple of our group went to the Fish Fry, said it was ok. Viola's at Sunrise Beach Club was good. Just normal bar food, but tasty enough.

We walked to The Atlantis several times. What a place. The aquariums were fabulous. Just fun to look around at the place. Some of our group did gamble and a couple ate at Nobu, which was very good.

Just a few steps down from unit 1 is the beautiful Cabbage Beach. I suggest getting up and out early if you want to experience the pure beauty of this beach and the water. Together they are breathtaking. I have been to several beaches in Mexico and the Caribbean, Cabbage beach is now one of my favorites. We took blow up rafts and chairs and put them to good use floating in the crystal clear water. We also took our own beach chairs, which the resort does not provide. The beach does get busy around noon with cruise ship people and all the other hotels, but this would not keep me from going back. We did everything on the beach. Banana boat, para sail, jet ski and all were fun. There is a bar on the beach which was handy.

Getting to/from Nassau for our group was a nightmare. No direct flights from Kansas City. So, if anything keeps our group from going back to Sunrise Beach Club this would be it. Which is sad. It took us 13 hours to get home. Flight delays/changes, missing luggage and the most upsetting part of all is that my sisters cameras were lost and on them our vacation shots. Not a good way to end the trip.
I am still hoping the cameras will show up, the flight times will improve, and Sunrise Beach Club will be around for us to go back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NAZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

We found this place mostly good, with a few bumps. The property is remarkably peaceful and serene, especially since it's perhaps 500 yards from the enormous and busy Atlantis complex. It also sits adjacent to a stretch of what has to be one of the world's most beautiful beaches, with crystal clear water (on calm day).

You should think of this place as two complexes within a single property. There are the 1BR "hotel" units, which run in a single strip (I think there are 16 units) along the pool out front. These are suites with a kitchenette -- and the best part is that the bedroom is upstairs, atop a spiral staircase and with its own door. The pictures on the development's website give an accurate view of how these units appear.

Behind them is the villa complex, which appears to be a timeshare development; one of the weirder things about the overall place is that the 'hotel' guests are not allowed on the villa property. These units vary in size, are closer to the beach and have their own pool.

Overall, the place shows a little age/wear around the edges, but it's not bad and there was some significant maintenance work (painting and patching) going on while we were there. The pools are nice, Viola's bar up front is a good place for a drink or two (although the food is your standard-issue frozen/deep fried bar fare) and the staff was mostly friendly.

The good:

--Fantastic location, right on the beach.
--A good price for Paradise Island, particularly if you take advantage of the many specials that regularly show up on the development's website. We booked before the specials were announced, and the restrictive booking policy prevented us from taking advantage of a special that would have saved us $500.
--Easy access to Atlantis.

The bad:

--The hotel didn't have our reservation when we got there and we had to give the desk our confirmation number before it was located. The staff clearly didn't expect us.
--Housekeeping didn't make up our room the first day, even after we notified the front desk. There was no problem after that and the quality of housekeeping was good.
--Speaking of the front desk, it has limited hours: 7a to 7p daily.
--The development is next to the public beach cut, so you get lots of cruise ship guests on the beach with you. It still wasn't crowded.

I'd say I was satisfied overall, although I'd stop considerably short of the bowled-over reviews I've been reading here. I'd still stay here again, though.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frobozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Clean spacious rooms, Friendly staff, perfect beach, cold beer, and a quiet family atmosphere within a 5 minute walk from Atlantis. What could be better.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ontariopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

I recently returned from my 4th year staying at the Sunrise Beach Villas. Each time has been fabulous! I stayed in several of the condos and each one was spacious, nicely furnished, clean with wonderful views. Viola's bar and grille was great, very relaxing with it's open air view and comfortable atmosphere. I also like that the casino, many shops and nice restaurants are within walking distance. I look forward to my next visit to Sunsrise Beach Villas on Paradise Island.......................truly paradise!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAB0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

We just returned from Sunrise and we had a great time and look forward to returning. We stayed with a group of five couples in unit 17 for a week and had plenty of room and never a complaint. It's a private setting with a great view of the beach and surf, nicely appointed and was nicely stocked with our choices of beverages. The casino is only a short distance away, and although I didn't do well, as a whole, the group came out ahead. We grill at home two nights, one was fish Bonita (Tuna), Wahoo, and Mahi Mahi that we caught. We golfed the Ocean Club - great course, and we did the Powerboat Adventure Tour which was surprisingly enjoyable even though I'm not much for tourist type stuff. But back at Sunrise we enjoyed the beach and pool without the crowds of the big chain hotels nearby. The property has a native charm and relaxed atmosphere. Viola's, the onsite bar, is the greatest - an open air, open all day, that serves a casual breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is very welcoming and service minded. It is a relaxed island pace, so at first it seems slow, but after a day you remember - that's why you are there! There is also a beach bar but we normally brought drinks from out room. They also have a massage service set up on the beach and were real reasonable. It was overall a great place to stay, a very hard to leave and it couldn't of been better.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tas53149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Unfortunately what you see advertised is not what the units look like at all. The pictures are bogus! You have no idea what a dump this place is. We had reserved a 2 bedroom villa based on the photos & info provided on their website back in January and travelled there earlier this month. When we walked into the villa it did not resemble the unit that we had seen and reserved at all. Not to mention the musty smell and filth. Everyone has to find out the hard way. If you like staying in clean accommodations then do yourself a favor and look into staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaineBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBVSunLover, Owner's Representative at Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas, responded to this review, 9 April 2009
Dear MaineBarbara,

A diligent effort is made to keep all of the pictures true and up-to-date on our website. The new furniture that we had in place when you arrived indeed does not match the pictures of the old furniture currently shown on our website. Our photographer is scheduled to visit in May and supply us with pictures of the brand new furniture.

Our fine housekeeping staff was dismayed that you felt the room smelled musty and was not cleaned to our high standards. They made a thorough examination of the unit and we are happy to say that we have received no complaints on this issue since.

Thank you for your comments that have helped us understand the importance of keeping our website up to date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
5.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas

Property: Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
Address: Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet beach front hotel and villas to suit all budgets. One bedroom hotel units with efficiency kitchens and private bedroom, up to 5 bedroom 4,000 sq. ft. luxury villas. Viola's Bar and Cafe is within steps of both pools, with Archie's On The Beach to serve refreshments beachside. A 5 minute walk to the Atlantis Casino complex, world class and Bahamian style shopping, and multitudes of restaurants. Historic downtown Nassau 1.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Clubs And Villas Hotel Paradise Island
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Resort
Sunrise Beach Clubs And Villas Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing