We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously Huge Portions!!!”
Review of Virgil's Real BBQ

Virgil's Real BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ridiculously Huge Portions!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have to start with the portion sizes. Although they warn you, they need to warn you even more. With the meal plan we were entitled to 3 entrees, 3 sides, 3 appetizers, and 3 desserts. We only got 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, 3 sides and 1 dessert for the 3 adults in our group. The waitress said we were good. If by good, she meant leaving more than we ate, than we were good. It was actually a turn off and embarrassing. My wife thought the crab cakes were ok, but I thought they were terrible. 6 huge ones in an appetizer portion. My fault for ordering crab cakes at a BBQ place. The steak was very good, although $100 for a steak is ridiculous. The shrimp skewers were very good. 5-6 skewers with 5-6 shrimp on each. The sides were good.

We didn't intend on returning for fear that the servers would shun us for leaving so much food the last time, but the other restaurant closed so we gave it another shot. Learning from our mistakes we got 1 appetizer and asked for a half order even though we had to pay for a full order. It was still better than leaving food again. We got 2 sides which were good and just 1 entree (steak again). This time we were able to eat 2 desserts which were huge but good. This time we left with a much better experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellowstone_Newbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    297
    233
    98
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food - huge portions!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We enjoyed the food at Virgil's BBQ - they do warn you how big the portions are in fairness but we couldn't believe it when the food came out. Everyone was helpful and friendly, cocktails were great - the only comment I would have is that we were only a table of 3 which meant due to the portion sizes we either had to over order or eat the same thing!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pinkfiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BBQ”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Virgil's was a great choice for our family. The portions are family sized, so there were left overs, and their biscuits can put Popeye's to shame, which is pretty hard to do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rockysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Food/ Great Service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The food was all good but the service was outstanding! All orders come family style so don't let your eyes do the ordering for you. Large large proportions. Each individual order will serve 3-4 adults easy.

Helpful?
Thank Stanhanstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great ribs and great staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The thing I liked most are the very friendly and accommodating staff. We were there late and they were 20 mins to closing but they still accommodated us. We just wanted to get the draft beers and "trash" riblets from the wine and dine package, and they gave us the option of just having it to go. Such great service, they never complained that they were closing already and they still entertained our request. Aside from that, the draft beer was really good and ribs were great. I highly recommend Virgil's to all who want great place to eat at Atlantis.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roselle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virgil's Real BBQ also viewed

Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 

Been to Virgil's Real BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing