We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal at Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Paradise Island(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Suites Paradise Island(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$726
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,567
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (6,779)
Filter reviews
6,779 results
Traveller rating
2,654
1,985
1,003
581
556
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,654
1,985
1,003
581
556
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal towerswater parkwest towermeal planlazy riverdolphin cayper personmarina villagebimini roadmarine lifefamily vacationdining planleap of faithjohnny rocketsrapid riverseafire steakhouseonce in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
4,653 - 4,658 of 6,779 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just spent a week on property with a large corporate group and this really has something for everyone. Families and corporate travelers alike can find a home here. Casino to fine dining to pools, etc. there is a lot to do. My only challenges were that smoking is still allowed throughout the property and you have to go through the casino to quickl access other areas of the property. Book reservations at Mesa Grill early and at Nobu, it's definitely worth the cost.

Great tip is to eat in the bar at Nobu where they serve the entire menu and you don't need a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keefus238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We used our starwood vacation ownership to stay in a small, one bed, one bath unit. It was perfect for the two of us. All areas of the condo seemed to be updated and the only problem we had was that one part of the inside of the dryer fell out but we just stuck it back in. We had a nice view of the pool which was always empty. Even though it closed at 6 or 7 we always went down for a few hours in the evening.

We were not surprised by the expensive meals because we prepared ourselves. Like most, we brought a ton of food with us and ate breakfast and lunch in our room each day. We took the shuttle to the grocery store (and there is a liquor store in the complex as well) and bought fresh fruit, 2 cases of water, and soda (the water is the in the far left corner in the back of the store with the bulk items. They have single bottles in one of the aisles but it is cheaper to buy in bulk).

The first night we were a little overwhelmed with how large the resort was. We walked along the harbor and found our way around. The shuttle service was spotty and we had to ask often for a shuttle to be called to pick us up, especially while waiting at the royal towers.

Our favorite meals were at Marina's pizza (long wait at dinner time), Virgil's bbq (way too much food but it was sooo good!), and Anthony's. Anthony's is off of the property but still on paradise island. It is located across from the marina village and we ate there twice. The ribs were very good.

One surprise was the Saturday night parade along the path at the marina village. It was so much fun to be a part of and really got us in the island spirit!!

As a couple in our 30's with no kids, we were excited to have a fun and relaxing vacation. We love water parks and were a little disappointed in the rides. It is not as big as it appeared to be on tv but we did have a good time. The lines were not very long. A huge perk were the beach chairs with shade provided by the resort. Get there early if you want one! We also had several coconut drinks on the beach being sold by the locals.

While we loved the atlantis I am not sure we will be back to that resort. We loved the beautify of the Bahamas but for us it might more economical to stay at an all inclusive.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room, 3rd floor, building 2. Great view of the pool and the cruise ships!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolasmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Well as others have mentioned this resort is great if you want to stress about finding chairs for you and your family and fight to the death for inner tubes specifically at 9 in the morning when nothing is open anyway. It's more stress than it's worth!
The age of the hotel and its surroundings are starting to show as well. We went snorkeling in their man made lagoon and we saw more debris and trash in the water then we did see fish. On the up side they did upgrade us to a 1 bedroom suite that was perfect for my family. (2 adults, 3 kids).

I was a little irritated with the Nobu front staff. We had changed our reservation there to include our children (ages 9, 7, 4) and was assured by the concierge there wouldn't be a problem with us dining there with our children at 7:30. (Side note, children under 6 are not allowed in Nobo after a certain time). When we got to the restaurant for our reservation they refused to seat us at first b/c our son was with us. After explaining to them the concierge is the one that changed our res. and said it would be ok they finally allowed us to sit but wanted reassurance that our son "was well behaved". Really would I be taking a child to a restaurant that high end/high priced if I didn't think he could?
IF I ever go back to the Bahamas I won't be staying at Atlantis. Great to experience once but there are better, smaller, more for your money hotels that we would/ could have enjoyed more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Atlantis is a beautiful property with great pools, gorgeous beaches, lively casino, and a great assortment of restaurants. If these amenities were used by resort guests only, our experience there would have been nearly perfect. Sadly, though, the resort sells innumerable passes to cruise ship passengers. On days that cruise ships docked in Nassau, hundreds of additional people arrived at the resort. As a result, the lines for the water slides quadrupled, and suddenly, you could be waiting an hour to go on a 30 second ride. The lazy river was so crowded that it barely moved. The lines to get towels become an ordeal in themselves. In short, the overcrowding was so bad that I don't think it was fun for either the cruise ship passengers or resort guests, all of whom wasted their day standing in line and fighting for lounge chairs.

On days when there was not such overcrowding, the place is great! The waterslides are lots of fun when you only have to wait a couple of minutes to get on them. The pools and beaches are beautiful when not at overcapacity. The spa is stunning. Yes, the food is expensive, but it is a resort and that is to be expected. I though the biggest food rip off was the pizza, at $6.50 a slice. At least at Nobu you know you will be paying a premium, so the pizza price surprised me. But the food at most of the restaurants was very good, and not all were that expensive. Bimini Road in the marina had great food and service, and reasonable prices. Mosaic was also quite good -- pricey but totally worth it. The staff generally is very friendly, the dolphin swim was fantastic, and the aquariums are amazing.

If not for the overcrowding, I would go back in a heartbeat. But, until management decides to sell fewer day passes -- or do SOMETHING to relieve the overcrowding and to make the experience better for all guests -- I will avoid a return trip to Atlantis. But, I am excited to check out the Baha Mar resort once construction is completed ... And to see if the competition forces Atlantis to resolve its issues.

Room Tip: The Royal Towers are well located if you have kids, it is close to the camp and the kids pools. It is also next to the casino and has the Ruins aquarium tour, so it is fun but can get crowded. The rooms are mediocre, the view excellent. The Cove is more luxurious and has a gorgeous lobby with no overcrowding.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Hotel is pleasing to the eyes...but hard on the wallet. It's a fun and great value, but we left feeling like it was overpriced. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even if some looked grumpy sitting in the hot and humid weather. Of course there were some bad apples that thought you stabbed them in the eye when you asked a question. The hotel itself is excellent. The food was good and plentiful. We had the value meal plan so we were limited to where we could eat. Drinks and snacks by the poolside are expensive. Pools and beach closed at 7pm, which is really, really disappointing. The deep water and shallow water dolphin swim was fun and is a great photo op. The snorkel the ruins trip was fun, but nothing like the website would lead you to believe. You are not given fins and a wetsuit, but rather a life vest to prevent you from diving much deeper than the surface that you must wear. It's a trip I'm glad I experienced, but too expensive for what you get in return.

Room Tip: Avoid the airport shuttle service offered by the hotel and take a taxi/mini van. It's cheaper. Go downtown shopping/sightseeing with a taxi and come back on the ferry, both $4 per person. Shop at local markets and make your own lunch to save money.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank opsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews