We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise at palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Hotel is older but spotlessly clean. Food and drinks were plentiful and delicious. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. For an all exclusive resort it was terrific. Also right next door to Atlantis casino.

Room Tip: We had the value room but it had a wonderful ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rozee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,783 - 2,789 of 4,895 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

We have traveled to Riu Paradise Island on 2 occasions. Both times were for Christmas 1 and 2 years ago respectively, and included a group spanning ages 21-80.. The Hotel itself is very nice. We had Oceanfront Suites on high floors and loved the views. The rooms were very spacious and well decorated, with all the regular amenities, including full bars.. The food Buffet was outstanding both times, especially Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Everything from Lamb, Fillet, Shrimp to Lobster. Delicious desserts. The Hotel is in such a great location right next to Atlantis that you literally walk out of Riu and into Atlantis a short distance away. The prices at Atlantis were too high for us to stay there so this really worked for all of us, as we got day passes and spent the days using the multiple water activities and then walked over to Gamble at night. Unfortunately, the weather was not great either time..quite cool and windy which is typical for that time of the year. This made Atlantis next door even more valuable to us. Besides the Water Park, there is a saltwater Lagoon which was protected and gorgeous that I spent a lot of time at, as the ocean was quite rough. I did break a toe on the Lazy River Ride when my tube crashed against the side of the river...but until that point it was a blast. Its just not slow and lazy, and I am not one of the 21 year olds!! We had a wonderful time, the Employees at Riu were very kind and extremely helpful as we celebrated my daughters 21st Birthday there and they went out of their way to make a cake for her and arranged for flowers to be delivered to her and my Mother-In-laws rooms. My only real complaint is the smoking in the Lobby. There is a bar right in the middle of the lobby that gave off so much smoke we found it really bothersome. Perhaps they have done something about that as it was a real turn off. All in all, a very affordable, lovely place with great food and an even better location. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The higher the rooms, the greater the views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JACjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

First of all the pool was very warm ( why were there reviews saying the pool was too cold?) The food was great, make sure to make reservations for the krystal restaurant the food is soo good. The staff was really friendly. If your going to spend a day at Atlantis, Rui is doing a promotion you can get 2 free passes if you attend one of their timeshare presentations. The ocean is very clean, no seaweed at all.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a odd numbered room, they face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reviewer935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Room: The rooms have recently been upgraded and ours was clean and well appointed with a balcony large enough to sit out on. Our view (Room 711) was over the pool and beach facing west and was nice, however, I would suggest you ask for a room facing east (even numbered) and as close to the number 32 as possible as this will place you close to the ocean. The rooms facing west were subjected to the constant in and out of delivery trucks to the Atlantis next door and at one point even a fire alarm early in the morning. If you were on the opposite side of the building, you would get the view and escape the noise. Unique to this hotel (at least for us) was the mini bar set up with full bottles so you could enjoy a drink in your room at any time. The mini bar fridge was restocked daily with mix and water.

Food: The buffets were great! The food at the resort is very good and there was always a wide variety being offered. The service in the dining room ranged from being ignored (when they were really busy) to some of the best service I have ever received at an all inclusive. We tried only one of the a la carte restauarants (Krystal) and it was excellent - great food - great wine - great service. Every morning we ordered coffee and muffins to the room around 7AM and they were delivered with a smile in short order.

Drinks: It was never difficult to get a drink and they were all very good, however, in most cases, you went to the bar to get it yourself. It was a rare occasion that someone took your order and served you (with the exception of the dining room where you were served wine).

Service: Check in was a breeze and our room was ready which was a nice surprise (10:30 AM). We noticed that there was a slat missing on one of the outside chairs, called to report it and we had 2 new chairs delivered in less than 10 minutes - impressive service. There is no pool side wait service but the swim up bar staff are quick and efficient and it is a small area so getting a drink is really not an issue. There is apparently a late check out service (cost $100) which cannot be booked until the day you leave. When we requested this service the morning of our departure, we were told that our room was needed but if we came back at noon we could probably get another room to use until 7PM (when we would be leaving). As we would have had to pack to change rooms, the value of the late check out lost some of its allure and we therefore packed, left our luggage with the front desk, and carried our carry on with us for the day. This worked out well. The departure to the airport was quick and efficient although the wait at the airport for take off was long (3 hours) and unnecessary. There were several flight taking off in the evening and the lounge was full to overflowing. There were not enough seats to go around and some people sat on the floor. It must be noted that there is construction going on at present to expand/rebuild the airport.

Sunwing Representative:
Our representative was present, pleasant and informative, which is a nice change from some of our previous experience with this tour operator.

Beach: The beach was pristine - they cleaned it each morning. The sand here is close to "brown sugar" and great for walking. We were approached a couple of times by vendors selling cigars and wanting to braid hair, however a firm no thanks was all that was required. You could walk in both directions. From in front of the Riu, if you turned west you could walk to the Atlantis beach which might take about 10 minutes and in the opposite direction you could walk much farther (about 30 minutes) to the end of the beach area. There is quite a steep drop off to the water (the waves crash in here) and while we were there, there wasn't much calm water. It was exhilarating to walk the beach while the waves crashed in. The lifeguards had a full time job cautioning people not to underestimate the force of the undertow should a wave knock you down.

Atlantis: The true value of this Riu resort is its close proximity to the Atlantis (a 3 minute walk to the front door). We walked through the resort several times in the evenings, marvelling at the grandeur, the "over the top" decor and shops and the breathtaking aquarium. Staying here (Atlantis) would be an expensive option as everything costs more (the shows, viewing the aquarium during the day, etc) but it is certainly worth seeing. The grounds are beautiful. We walked through the Atlantis property to reach the water taxi which took us into Nassau and walked past some of the largest yachts I have ever seen (in the Atlantis Harbour). A trip into Nassau is a must if only to hear the "tour guide" on the water taxi (hillarious). The shops all cater to the cruise ships so while it is nice to walk around the town, unless you want to pay top dollar for something you probably won't be shopping unless you are looking for a souvenier which you might find in the Straw Market (where you can barter). The police are dressed in crisp white uniforms and still direct traffic by hand - quite the show.

Overall View - The trip was worth what we paid. There was nothing we encountered during our trip that would suggest this was an exceptional resort, but it was adequate. The resort itself is definitely dated and they need to reinvest back into it by updating the decor, recovering the lounge furniture and replacing the worn out chairs. Upgrading/replacing the pads for the pool chairs should also be on the list. Be sure to ask for face cloths if you want them as they seem to be at a premium and are not supplied unless requested. While we didn't really see a good management presence, the staff make this place. They are all pleasant, seem happy in their work and are quick to assist when needed. To make this a truly 5 star resort, they would need to be more proactive and less reactive to the guests needs. The close proximity to Atlantis is clearly why RIU purchased this property and it is paying off for them, however, as travelers demand more and more services, they will fall behind if they don't reinvest.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mcoulter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I JUST got back from vacationing in the Bahamas for a full week. We stayed at the Riu and LOVED IT! The buffett was great and had something for everyone all the time. We did try out the resturants and aqfter trying 2, decided they were not for us (because of times and lack of choices for some of our pickey friends :) ) The bars were all stocked with good alcohol and the drinks were mixed great. The entertainment team was soo much fun and I would recommend going to some of the nightly things in the lounge. Get to know them and it will be fun and they will all talk to you. The wait staff, bar staff, front desk and more are all soo nice. I have vacationed many places and enjoyed all of them but never felt that way I feel about this place before. Everyone will go above and beyond to make sure you are happy- and they are truley happy. That helps make this vacation true bliss! I will be going back, and I will be staying at the RIU! Enjoy your trip- maybe Ill see ya there! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Abbey-n-Josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We, too, were skeptical after we booked and reviewed the hotel. Well, thankfully, we were so happy we went the RIU. The buffet was terrific, lots of variety. The drinks were plentiful and the beach was excellent. Turquoise water and warm enough to want to swim in. I don't know what people expect. Never stayed anywhere that was perfect. Place was clean, fully stocked mini bar in room, lots to do...what more could anyone want. Looking forward to going back. Plus, it didn't break the bank!! Spent time at Atlantis at the casino and the harbour and so glad we didn't stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Loved the Bahamas and Paradise Island. The RIU resort was super. It is all inclusive and some of the best food that I have eaten at an all inclusive; especially the buffet. The beach/water is beautiful and the service is terrific. The bartenders, cleaning staff and food folks are extremely friendly and helpful.
The entertainment is not very good. This being the the calypso room off the lobby. That is about all that there is in the resort. It is not widespread with many options for entertainment, but that is ok since you can walk next door to Atlantis and you have casinos and a beautiful marina.
Bottom line, head to Nassau, the RIU is excellent for all inclusive and enjoy! PS: We loved our trip to Bay Street, straw market and Senor Frogs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bbjlouky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas ...
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
5.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 36 in Nassau
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: £268 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing