We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in December with some of my family and my fiancé.

The only issue we had was that the first room they gave us was in front of the elevator and overlooking the pool. We are engaged adults with no children and did not want to wake up every morning at 6 a.m. to screaming children waiting for the elevator. My fiancé needed to work to convince them to change our room and we ended up overlooking the parking lot and front entrance :-/ in the new room they eventually agreed to let us have. On the plus side, I never woke up early to loud noise in the hallway. As other reviewers noted, the rooms are small and not luxurious in any way. The first room they gave us, closer to the ocean, was very musty but the second one, overlooking the parking lot, was much less odorous. As we were on a family trip and spent very little time in the room, it met our needs without complaint. I will say bring your own hair dryer though after struggling with their old one on the bathroom wall. Three twenty something brothers in our group shared a room and never received the cot they requested in advance and every day during our stay.

I have stayed at a number of all inclusive resorts and I must say this was the best all inclusive food I have eaten. Every meal offered a nice variety and plenty of fruits and vegetables as well. We ate at the Steakhouse on Christmas and the lobster tail was delicious.

The beach is beautiful and clean and we never had any issue with it being public. All beach goers seemed friendly and there seemed to be many families. The water was rough most of our stay, but when I walked all the way down (in the opposite direction from Atlantis) the water was calm at that end of the beach. My family enjoyed body surfing and playing in the sizable waves during the trip.

I found the waiters and bartenders to be very kind and accommodating. The main hosts in tuxedos outside the buffet and restaurants at dinner seemed less flexible and accommodating, telling our family who were running 15 minutes late on Christmas that he was about to revoke their reservation, when half of us were already seated! I did not have much reason to interact with other hotel staff so I will say that for me, the service was good. Dale in the spa was very entertaining during my pedicure!

We spent most evenings wandering the grounds at Atlantis and playing at the casino. The proximity to Atlantis is wonderful as you can have the quiet, small family resort feel with all the nightlife of Atlantis only a short walk.

This was a great vacation spot to relax and spend time with our extended family. There was plenty of space for everyone to do their own thing while also being small enough that we could find each other quickly.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dixeydixeydixey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    1,785
    975
    557
    458
See reviews for
1,016
2,089
97
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a great place to relax and enjoy the beach and not feel you been robbed like in the Atlantis. Food is great, restaurants are fine and helps create the intimate ambience, but the buffet food is just as good. The rooms are clean, had some issue with the toilet flush, but nothing major. The staff is what makes this place special. They are great ambassadors of Bahamas...very nice, friendly and really there to serve and make you feel special. I would definitely stay here again. Beach is right there and you can wonder around and head over to the Atlantis side if you do not want the crowd. This is the first time I've done an all-inclusive, and I have to say, Im a fan. No worries whatsoever, but just eat, drink, and enjoy.

Room Tip: The maintenance staff needs to be reminded if you needed to re-stock your lotion, soap, etc. YOu thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fausto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bogota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This 5 star hotel does not have a kids club, disco, kids activities, bellman, concierge, enough pools ( it just have one), enough restaurants to eat ( specially at lunch), it does not change lunch menu, does not help in emergency cases, does not have a nurse, doctor or anyone who can help in those cases either... best sea ever, but you can have it in another hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lorensan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paradise Island hotels

Toronto, On
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We traveled there with our kids and friends. All had good fun. Good resort, well qualified staff, good food, good experience overall. Its location so close to the Atlantis makes it even better, we took couple trips for excursions to the Atlantis and I think it's a better value for your money than the overprices not all inclusive monster of a hotel.
I would recommend the buffet over the restaurants for dinner. Much better food, don't have to wait for it and got to choose what ever you like. Usually a la carte's are nice addition to the buffet's at the resorts, but not at Riu, Wish I knew that before. Twice we left the food at the Restaurant and went to the buffet.
While at the Bahamas we did our Scuba Open water certification and must say that staff at Stuard's Coves is A+. We also did a shark dive with them which was great excitement and something we would never forget.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dzmitry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My fiance and I spent another 4 days at the Riu from December 19 - 22nd and once again were not disappointed. The package was purchased through Sunwing vacations and was quite reasonably priced for a four-day getaway.

Flight out of Toronto was on time and transfers to the hotel were very smooth. The flight left Toronto at 610am and we were on the beach with a drink in hand by 1130am - not bad at all! We stayed in room 1531 which provided a gorgeous view of the ocean, pool and neighboring Atlantis.

PRO's:
- A la carte meals were extremely good. We ate at the Fusion restaurant twice and were extremely impressed by the professionalism and politeness of the restaurant manager and the wait staff. Food was fantastic - my fiance said that the sole was as good as she's ever had. The Gourmet and Steakhouse restaurants were also well done. I was surprised at the empty seats in the Steakhouse though despite the fact that we got one of the last reservations for that evening? Perhaps they leave seats empty to contain costs?

- Buffet was fantastic - Charles did a great job at his omelette station. Good bacon too!

- Room - beautiful view, no noticeable mouldy smells - we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony

- Front desk staff - our flight home was significantly delayed due to an ice storm in Toronto. The front desk staff were very accomodating, letting us stay at the resort for a longer time and were helpful at arranging a private transfer to the airport later that night

CON's

- Nightly entertainment is lacking for sure. This didn't impact us that much since we simply walked over to the Atlantis to enjoy the aquarium, casino and harbor area, but there wasn't much happening at the RIU past 9pm

- Beach vendors/RIU staff - you will get harassed by vendors on the beach trying to sell cigars, jet ski rides and booze cruises. This does take away from the idyllic serenity of the ocean, but its a public beach so there is very little the RIU can do about this. However, beach chairs are provided by the RIU yet locked up, so you need to ask the RIU staff to retrieve chairs. Most then stood around awkwardly waiting for a tip afterwards. It would be easier if chairs were laid out for guests - this step was unnecessary and a bit uncomfortable

Overall - we will be back. The weather, ocean, food and view is unbeatable for the price!!! Thank you again for the hospitality RIU!

Room Tip: Upper floors have great views - pool side rooms can be a bit noisier but they face the Atlantis whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Taking advantage of a last minute family vacation deal from JetBlue, we stayed at the RIU Paradise Island from 12/23-12/31.
The flight was an easy, less than three hours away, customs took about 45 minutes and out you go to find either a cab (there are appointed taxi coordinators right outside the airport, they don’t charge, so you should use them) to take you to the hotel or your travel reps like apple vacation personnel.

RIU is about 40 minutes away from the airport, we arrived at 2:00 pm, the lunch buffer stays open late so we were able to have a quick meal.

Please bear in mind that the hotel is not kept very well in my unpaid opinion (see pictures), for the simple reason that there is no incentive for RIU management to do so with the Atlantis hotel in such close proximity. It doesn't boast sprawling grounds and foliage, the outdoor shower near the beach and pool barely worked when we were there and there's no children pool or lifeguard on duty for that matter. I gave the hotel two stars, one for the food and the other for being close to the Atlantis. If you are staying at the RIU, you either can’t afford the Atlantis, or all the rooms there were sold out. Either way you’re getting a great deal if only for the all-inclusive meal plan which will save you a lot of money. The RIU is really the next step down from the Atlantis and One & Only resorts. Another advantage we appreciated at the RIU is the quiet atmosphere and the prompt service of entire staff from the reception to housekeeping and the wait staff.

Rooms – We had rooms on the 7th and 9th floors. The hotel is situated in a way that all rooms are ocean view. Some have ocean and pool view, some just the ocean, but bottom line, there’s no difference (we had a few rooms booked on different floors).
The rooms are fully carpeted and therefore very musty and humid. Masking the odor with chemical room deodorants just mixes the two scents together, nothing more. The bathrooms are in desperate need of thorough cleaning, especially the mold on the grout.
Beds are moderately comfortable, but the rooms are small – 12x18 at best with a two sink vanity in the bathroom and a tub.
They do have a refrigerator stocked with soft drinks and soda, a few alcohol bottles, coffee and tea.
Housekeeping are present every day, consistent and on time, towels are generously offered as well as in room water bottles and all other toiletries.

Hotel grounds – Again, they are in need of renovations. The pool looks like it needs a good scrubbing with all the brown dirt embedded in and around the tiles. The chaise lounges are old, moldy and sandy. The pool bathrooms have sporadic soap available and littered with constant sand and toilet papers strewn around.
The hotel is not a resort so there is only one building, one pool, one outdoor bar which can barely accommodate all the guests and the lines are sometimes ridiculous, nothing on the beach but lounge chairs and a volleyball net. If you need a sun umbrella, you have to pay for one ( I believe it’s around $25) we opted to stay in the shade the hotel building casts everyday on the beach. The hotel beach is a public beach, which allows access to locals and other area hotel guests who arrive by the bus load. People constantly try to sneak in to enjoy the free buffet (sometimes bribing the guard) so around midday it gets very, very crowded on the pool deck and beach. Hotel guests are continuously hassled by the local vendors to buy souvenirs, hire jet-skis, purchase cigars or braid hair. BTW, everything is negotiable there, so if you enjoy that kind of practice, go for it.
Beach massage hut is on the right side of the beach as you walk down the stairs – the estheticians didn’t bother changing the massage table sheets or even washed their hands between clients so we skipped the service.
There is a spa on premises – we asked to take a look at the rooms and adjoining Jacuzzi, again the dire state of the facility made us skip spa treatments.
The convenience store has everything you might have forgotten for your trip and more and the gift shop has lots of nice items to purchase such as rum cakes, beach bags and sarongs.

Wifi – very sporadic in the lobby, we had to constantly ask the front desk for help and non-existent in the rooms.

Entertainment – other than a minimal crew of two girls to entertain the younger children at around 2:00 pm every day, there really isn’t much going on to amuse the guests. When the hotel is full to capacity, they have ping pong tournaments and very little else. No early morning exercise on the pool deck, or organized games on the beach, no archery or BBQ on the beach available. At night there is DJ music at the nightclub but since everyone makes a pilgrimage to the Atlantis, no one is around to enjoy it.
The alcohol is very watered down but that’s not unusual for an all-inclusive resort. They do have a sports bar/game room – but it smells so bad from cigarette smoke that we refused to allow the kids to stay there.
Apparently, in the Bahamas, smoking is allowed almost everywhere, so everywhere you go (even the big hotels) it reeks.

Food – The only negative remark I have about the buffet (because the food was better than we expected) was that if you got there too late, there was a line to be seated. We had to wait 40 minutes for a table at the buffet, which was absurd. The following evenings we learned to arrive there by 6:30 pm in order to get a table.
The other four restaurants were not bad at all (lower your expectations and you won’t be disappointed) but as other all inclusive resorts practice, they only allow about six tables per restaurant, per night.
They advise you to make your dinner reservations between 8-9 AM, but you should really go down to the lobby and wait inside the entertainment room by 7:15 am (especially if it’s a holiday season and the hotel is packed) to make reservations for that day and the following day, otherwise the line is out the door.
You won’t find water bottles on premises. I’m not sure what the rational is behind that policy, but if you need water on the pool deck or the beach, make a habit of taking the water bottles from your hotel room otherwise you’ll have to walk back and forth from the single bar they have or the dining room.

Visiting the Atlantis hotel – The great thing about the RIU hotel, is that it is adjacent to the Atlantis hotel and you can just a short walk away. I hate to admit but we were taken advantage of by the con men taxi drivers when we wanted to visit the Atlantis hotel, simply because we did not make an effort to find out in advance where it is. The Atlantis resort starts right next door to the RIU hotel. You step outside the main lobby, make a quick right turn and the building to your right is an entrance to resort. The carpeted path inside will take you straight through the Atlantis complex lobbies all the way to the casino.
We were foolish enough to pay $2 a person to the taxi driver who wasn’t honest enough to clue us in that the Atlantis is so close by, but I hope everyone who reads this is a little wiser now.
You can also walk five minutes from the RIU hotel via the beach and you will enter the Atlantis hotel grounds. From there, you have another 15-25 minutes walk through the various areas of the Atlantis resorts and gardens to reach the Royal Towers and the casino.
Do not buy entry bracelets to the Atlantis from the RIU travel desk, they charge extra as their commission. Buy it directly from the Atlantis hotel.
Past 6:00 pm admission to the aquarium is free and it really isn’t worth paying the price they charge with the crushing crowds during the day tours.
Take a credit card with you. The Atlantis does not honor cash transactions except at the casino, so all your purchases (except starbucks coffee) will be done with plastic.
If you’re visiting the water park, take water bottles from your hotel room– each small water bottle at the Aquaventure costs $4 and a large one is $8. I won’t even try to scare you with the cost of lunch there for nine people, use your imagination.
The water park is exactly like any other water park in the states only a hundred times busier during the holiday seasons.
They accommodate the Atlantis hotel guests and also allow guests from other hotels as well as the various cruise ships passengers. Pandemonium does not even begin to describe the situation at the Atlantis. Get there as early as you can (8:30 am is best) take towels and mark your chair territory because those who arrived slightly later, walked aimlessly with nowhere to sit and rest.


Visiting the downtown area - Getting there should be done (unfortunately) by taking a cab, because if you are an American and entertaining the notion of renting a car, you will cause a head on collision within the first minutes of driving. Being under British rule, they drive on the wrong side of the street with their steering wheel on…well, the wrong side for us.
There are lots of great upscale shops, local bakeries and little cafes available in town but it is beyond expensive on the Caribbean islands tourists rip off scale. Whatever the price tag indicates, do not assume it is the real price. Get to the cashier and ask again how much the item is.
In general you should be aware of the taxi drivers camped outside the RIU lobby eager to take you to the downtown area or what they refer to as “The Country Side”.
They conveniently neglected to tell us that on boxing day everything in town is closed and pretended they didn't know while taking us there and back to the hotel, charging $40 for absolutely nothing. We complained to the management but they, for lack of a better word, laughed at us and nothing was done.
Do not, under any circumstances be persuaded to eat at the “Fish Fry”. It is a local row of restaurants in a shady part of town, which offers authentic Bahamians fair such as the conch. The restaurants (at least the ones we went to “Eddie’s” and “Twin Brothers” were as unsanitary as a public restroom in NYC; the food is mediocre while the prices are extortionist.

We won't be going back there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank saminnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the RIU from December 24-29/2013 When we arrived it was cool and Wendy, But then it is winter! and the off season! It sprinkled rain the second day we were there but it did not last. The Calypso Lounge Crew kept us entertained so it was OK to be inside and their are two separate bars for all you could drink! It was a fun Christmas in the Bahamas. By day three it was warm, with lots of sun! a very nice day to lay out and catch the sun!!. We enjoyed it because the personnel were all great very friendly and always asking how we were doing and if we needed anything! very helpful, the maids were great and kept the rooms clean. However, our room stayed damp!! floor always felt damp! The beds were comfortable, however make sure when you ask for an Ocean view you do not get the end cut, we did not have a great view from our outdoor balcony so we never used it! not like the Aruba view! Larshille on the front desk was very nice and pleasant and the matradee Roscoe was very nice and helpful! Everyone seems really happy and that always makes for a great vacation! we were next door to the Atlantis so we were able to use the casino there! no casino's at the RIU. Taxi's always available $35.00 to and from airport $12.00 to go into town $1.00 toll back from town same USA value on the dollar! take singles and some small bills for tips! No Complaints We would stay there again!

Room Tip: It may be better to have a pool view VS Ocean view unless you ask for the front !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Warners2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,564 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing