We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bahamas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bahamas”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited the Riu May 18th -May 22nd. Everyone that was on our Sunwing flight was also staying at the Riu so the lines were incredibly long when we were boarding the 30 minutes bus ride to the Hotel and checking into the hotel. We enjoyed the welcome drink but we also smelled the musky damp smell in the lobby. By the last day, we got used to the smell.

Room: We stayed at room 715 and the view was breathtaking. The PROBLEM: We were three people and they had prepared for us to sleep on TWO double beds pushed together. We didnt complain since the hotel was booked at capacity but be prepared for that if you are going with three people in one room. Honestly it wasnt a big deal. we loved our room, the tv and the fact that we can bring food to our room was really nice. We brought our desserts every night and ate in bed watching movies and mtv.

Beach: THE MOST DISAPPOINTING THING! And there was nothing that the Riu hotel could do about it. The waves were incredibly rough that out of the 3 days that we were there we couldnt swim in the ocean at all. The good thing, Riu lifeguards were prepared and doing an excellent job at keeping an eye on the guests and making sure everyone was safe. Beach vendors were not a bother at all. The beach gets packed from 12-5pm on account of all the people from cruises. That got a little annoying for sure.

Food: Every meal was amazing. Im a pescatarian so I had plenty to eat and seriously enjoyed the buffet. The only thing the was a little off was the japanese al carte main course.

Staff: Everyone was really professional, gracious and kind. Special shout out to Kelson, Keeno, Marquest, Kenneth, Cornell, Lamarco, Lance, DeAnthony and many many more. :)

Things to do: Definitely take the ferry boat ride into the city. Really enjoyed that! The Atlantis was meh.

I'd definitely be going back but this time, I'll do an excursion for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heebs252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    1,795
    977
    565
    467
See reviews for
1,023
2,099
101
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A friend of mine and I stayed at the Riu Palace Paradise Island in Nassau Bahamas from May 18th-May 22nd 2014. This resort has its pros and cons.
If you have been to other Riu Palace's, you will recognize right away that this hotel is not up to Riu palace standards. It is a small hotel. There are no cabanas by the pool or beach, if you would like shade you can rest under a tree or request a local to give you an umbrella for 25 US dollars. Another thing is that there is no bar on the beach, so if you would like a drink to re-hydrate, you need to walk all the way back up to the pool area where the bar is. Another thing is that we had no hot water. We had to shower with cold water. This was a common concern for several others staying in the hotel. Food at breakfast and lunch was good, but we did not check out the dinner because we wanted something different to do at night. Also, we were not able to swim in the ocean, it was extremely rough. Life guards were constantly blowing their whistle to get people out of the water. It was so rough that we witnessed 3 near drownings. Once the waves knocked you down, it was very hard to get back up. Thank goodness for the good people that jumped into the ocean to help those that couldn't get back up.
The good thing about this hotel is that it is a short walk over to the Atlantis. We went there every night for dinner and to the casino. The Marina Village is great! Lots to see and do. The staff at the Riu are very friendly, that was a plus. And rooms were always nice and tidy.
If you are looking to relax and not do much, and don't care for anything fancy, then this is the place to go. If you are a Riu traveller and know what other Riu resorts are like, do not come here, you will surely be disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not upgrade to Junior Suite Ocean View. Not a suite style room and was partial ocean view. We vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveStarFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paradise Island hotels

New Tecumseth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Riu on Paradise Island, Bahamas was fantastic. My husband and I stayed April 24th-27th. The room was modern and clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The food in the Buffet was great! (Try the conch fritters.) We tried the Steakhouse one night and the food was ok. Small portions. You're better off eating at the Buffet. The beach area was nice. The water gets deep quickly. The pool are was clean and umbrellas were available daily. I would go back again in a heartbeat! One of the best vacations I've had.

Room Tip: See if you can get an ocean view on a higher floor. We were on the 14th floor, ocean view. Amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Loved this resort, the staff are amazing, the hotel and grounds are SO clean. The food is amazing. The rooms are nice and big. The only thing is that to get an umbrella on the beach, its $25USD a day, so get up early and go save your chairs with umbrellas by the pool and just walk to the beach (2 seconds away) Free Wi-fi also
There is not really much to do except relax, Atlantis is right next door so go see Marina Village and go to the casino. Four days is enough. You can go into the town or do some excursions but its all the same everywhere. Only one 1 day was there a night show, thats it.
I would come back. A lot of families and couples, tons of Americans but I give the overall experience a 9/10. Also please tip we were 3 girls and found that we were the only one tipping, they work so hard. Good job Bahamas Riu we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Pay more and get a jr suite.totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henniker, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Read the reviews and decided to stay at the RIU at Paradise Island Bahamas and I was not disappointed! Great hospitality, clean, always plenty of food and drinks and excellent location. Short walk to the Atlantis for its casino, water park, shops and entertainment. The best thing about the RIU is that it is a great value as an all inclusive and it is close to everything you want to do. We stayed May 2014, the weather was pretty good and when it wasn't good for the pool and ocean there was the casino and shopping close by. The staff was amazing! The taxis were available immediately to take us to and from the hotel to the airport which is about 1/2 hour away. (cost $36 and worth it). We didn't try the restaurants in the RIU but heard they were good. Didn't care for the sports bar though. Our room was decorated in white, black and purple and looks as if it had been redone recently. The bathroom was clean with marble and granite. The room was quiet. Did not hear anything one or anything above, beside or below us. Great view of he ocean and pool from our room. (931). The Atlantis is the big attraction in the area so being right next door gave us the advantage of a great affordable vacation without the huge price. Not a smoker but smoking is aloud in many public places such as lobbies, casino, and the pools. It was stinky but the floor we stayed on was non-smoking and did not stink, The casino was the worst place for second hand smoke. The only bad thing about our vacation was at the waterpark when $800 in cash was stolen from my husbands' wallet. Not the waterpark or hotels fault but definitely hurt our vacation. Other than the 1 dishonest person, we had a great vacation at the RIU and would stay again. Great choice!

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view or ocean side room because the water is beautiful and open the slid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Me, my husband, first cousin & Aunt decided to take a trip in January & randomly selected the Riu. We chose our travel dates of 5/5/14-5/10/14 & booked online. Without a travel agent we really did not know what to expect. OMG were we pleasantly surprised! We flew from BWI directly to the Bahamas & took a cab to the hotel. We were greeted at the hotel with smiles & directed to eat lunch from the buffet. We all loved the choices on the buffet for all meal except for Thursday's dinner which I am certain was leftovers. I loved the Sushi dinner in the restaurant & encourage everyone to try it. Why wouldn't you, it's all included! The hotel staff was very friendly & really made you feel at home. I felt that they all went above & beyond & really exceeded our expectations. I don't have anything to compare this trip to because it was my first time leaving the country but for $200/day per person (which included our airfare, hotel, all food & drinks) I felt that we really got a bargain. The weather was perfect, beach & hotel were clean. If your going on a budget I'd say that the Riu is the way to go.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor & had a beautiful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura_H_Brittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endicott, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel from May 10th -15th, 2014. We had a room on the 7th floor pool side. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The Balconies are quite small and barely fit the two chairs and two people on them. The room we had 711 was about halfway back and overlooked the roof of the main lobby. The noise from the warehouse behind the hotel in the morning was terrible. You would hear trucks backing up and the beeping of them from 7am - 9am. We had no hot water for basically two days. When we called down tot he front desk the first day they told us they were resetting the the hot water but that never worked. The second day they said the engineer was working on it and it would be up shortly(2 hours later). The other issue in the room was the mini bar. it was stocked each day with beer, soda and water. The problem was to try and get any extra in the fridge was IMPOSSIBLE. I asked the front desk 3 times for extra miller lite cans, first I was told no, then told later they would request it. It never happened. I finally got some extra one day from the lady delivering the beer, but that basically took begging to get 3 extra cans. I THOUGHT I WAS IN AN ALL_INCLUSIVE RESORT!. Also the ice maker on the 7th floor never worked even after I told them about it 3 days in a row and they only have ice makers on the ODD floors.
The food was very good in all the restaurants we ate at (Gourmet, Steakhouse, Buffet) they changed up the food on the buffet and it was always hot. The drawback to the specialty restaurants is that you need to go get in line at 7:45 AM to get reservations for that night and the next night (either 6:30 or 9:00 PM) sittings and they were never full. They need to find a better system for this. Maybe let you request a few dinners when you setup your reservation so you do not have to get up so early and stand in line.
The 4 bars were all well stocked and the bartenders were very nice and pleasant especially LENNY! he was a riot. KEEP HIM!!!. The shows at night were fair. They need a few more larger bands or have a dance night and play popular dance music more often and maybe later then 12 midnight. There was no music in the lobby bar. You could hear it from the showroom but it needs to played later. The sports bar is open 24 hours and it is nice in there but all the games cost $2 each and they did not have all the sports channels!!!! NO NBCSPORTS channel!! No NHL playoff hockey. Had to go next door in Atlantis to watch the game. The walk tot he Casino is a good 7 minutes not 300 feet. It is 300 feet to the Atlantis Coral towers entrance then down two different long hallways to get to the casino (Bring some drinks with you prices are high in the casino for a drink) Overall it was a nice trip. Met some really nice people and made some new friends. The Hotel definitely needs some attention and they need to treat the guests as valued patrons that want to return to this hotel. Many times I saw a gentleman in a shirt and tie walking around with a clipboard but did not see him doing too much to ask guests if there was anything the hotel could do to make their stay better. You would think with the new BAHA MAR opening in December the RIU would want to do whatever they could to make sure the hotel was a 5 star and not a 3 star. I was expecting more from the RIU. I would certainly look at other choices next time before making a decision and would hope some of the issues above have been fixed.

Room Tip: High room odd number for pool side and make sure it as a lower number 03,05 etc to be clser tot he o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCB0787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,582 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing