We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

First off people need to realize..... YOU ARE IN ANOTHER COUNTRY and the RIU is NOT i repeat NOT the god damn RITZ CARLETON. If you want a place that has good food 24 hours a day ....... excellent nightly entertainment.............and a white sandy beach with warm water.....and wont bankrupt you.............the RIU is your place.

My wife and I stayed there and had a blast. We are not the wealthiest people in the world. We are however, down to earth and don't have these super high expectations that being American makes you better than everyone. This place is really nice. the rooms BLAH! but who in the hell stays in their room ON VACATION????? you sleep there for maybe 8 hours! so who gives a damn about the crown molding has a paint chip. GROW UP PEOPLE!!!!

Look..... if you want a killer vacation and don't have the winning lottery numbers...then stay at the RIU..... there is all kinds of excursions to do on the island. if you are a normal human being who doesn't live is a BUBBLE.....then i would recommend this place for you!!!!

T.J. and Precious are excellent and funny Bahamians who work there!!!!

Room Tip: we never get our room cleaned during our stay......we never do.... i just dont like the idea of some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AtwaterFan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    1,738
    936
    545
    443
See reviews for
978
2,034
95
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My first trip to the Bahamas and we stayed at the Riu Palace. I was very disappointed with this hotel. Lets start with the positives. The food was good at the buffet and the night entertainment was awesome. However I was very disappointed with the customer service from the front desk and housekeeping. I paid for a oceanview corner suite, well I could see more of the roof top of the hotel next door than the beach. The room has an awful damp and musty smell. It was not a suite but just a regular room that has a chair in it. You have to pay the vendors 25 dollars a day to rent an umbrella if you want to sit out on the beach because the one pool that they have is so very small and filled with drunk people diving in the pool. 2 of the days we didn't have water for hours. This is not a great value for the money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paradise Island hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at lots of RIu's some of the reviews are bad and I was leary. this hotel is a little dated the bar is small but overall we had a great time. IT is so close to Atlantis we could walk back in 2 minutes. To me it didn't make sense to pay Atlantis money when we can stay all inclusive at the Riu and walk right noext door and still see and take advantage of Atlantis. The pool at the Riu wasn't that crowded in October and I was able to get a beach chair rather easily. The food could have been better. But overall it was a good stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m29jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here after a very busy 5 days in New York and wanted a relaxing 5 days in the sun. The hotel did not disappoint being located on a beautiful beach with everything you would need. We opted for a sea view and had a good sized room with 2 double beds and a large bathroom. Room was clean and we did not have the musty smell other reviews have commented on. The mini bar was fully stocked with local branded spirits with soft drinks and water in the fridge. The water and soft drinks were re stocked everyday. The hotel does only have one pool but the beach is only steps away with plenty of sun loungers and plenty of water. Other reviews have mentioned the booking system for the a la carte restaurants, this is no different than any other Riu I have stayed in and we had no issues. We did always book for the late sitting which at 9pm isn't that late but even if you are unsuccessful the main buffet restaurant is still a great option. We did go to Nassau town but be warned the shops all close by 5.30pm once the cruise ships have left and there is very little open. Overall the hotel is probably a 4 star not a 5 but still offers great value for money with clean rooms and clean bar areas and restaurants, good food and an all inclusive bars with the option of having decent branded spirits and helpful and friendly staff. Would pick here over the Atlantis every time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MelsR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughter had a few days before her new job so she wanted a tan. We wanted an all inclusive because we only had 3 days. Stayed at a RUI before and had a great experience. This hotel was perfect for a "quickie". Didn't have to leave the pool/ beach. The food at the buffet was great and you could eat and drink all day if you wanted. We were unable to get a booking at their sit down restaurants due to he long lines in the morning. Needs to be a better way to book restaurants. They upgraded my room because it was not ready until 5. We arrived at the hotel at 10am, they allowed us to use all their facilities until our room was ready. The room was clean, liquor taps in room and staff was very polite. We did walk over to Atlantis at night to gamble and see a show. All in all a good hotel for a short visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank antoinetteb316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Went to Bahamas for a 4 day trip with my wife and enjoyed the beautiful beach the weather hotel and the food. One negative of this resort is that they do not have any sun shelters on the beach. However there are locals who will rent you a beach umbrella for $25 half a day which i thought was a lot so next time i will pay a little and take my own umbrella. There is only 1 pool and it's too small for the amount of people staying at this hotel.
Otherwise the water is so clear you can see below the water from the 14th floor of the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms may have ocean view so don't pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeevan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We chose the Riu Palace based on Trip Advisor reviews-it was our first all inclusive resort. We wanted to go to Atlantis, but after pricing the rooms and realizing it wasn't inclusive we chose the Riu that is literally next door. The water and the beach are simply gorgeous!

COST: About the same as a cruise for a couple with our 13 yr old daughter-we stayed 5 nights/6 days. It is not a 5 star resort, but it isn't priced as one. We booked through an airline and got the best rate in their package.

LOCATION: Riu's location made it easy to enjoy some of the Atlantis features such as the amazing water park, Starbucks, the aquarium and a nice casino. The water taxi was within walking distance-a few blocks away.

FOOD: The buffet had an excellent choice of food for all three meals, there is a casual cafe located next to the pool/beach which is great when you've been at the beach and want to throw on a cover up and have lunch. They also had some nicer restaurants which do have to be reserved in the morning, but allow you to make two days reservations and choose from different seating times (these do have a dress code). They have a 24 hour sports bar which has a limited food selection.

ROOM: The room was just average,(Jr Suite) it was comparable to a Comfort Inn, but it was clean and we didn't book for the room. We never experienced the issues with no water that some of the recent travelers have posted. There is liquor stocked in your room, just some basics, Vodka, Rum, etc. along with a few sodas.

BAR: The drinks aren't top shelf, but they were all free and there were plenty of them.

ACTIVITIES: There aren't a lot of activities going on but we were usually too tired by the time dinner was done to care. We took a water taxi one day for shopping and to visit Senor Frogs.
We booked a dinner cruise one evening which was a lot of fun-they provided a shuttle to/from the hotel.

BEACH: You have to rent the beach umbrella for $25 from the attendant, but it's yours for the whole day, our attendant also "watched" our umbrella & towels while we ate lunch. We tipped him at the end of the day, it was well worth it and so relaxing. There are many other water related activities you can do while on the beach such as para-sailing, riding the banana tube, etc. so bring money to the beach if you will want to do any of those.

ATLANTIS: I packed several random snacks to take on the flight-beef jerky, nuts, chips, etc; we were able to take all of those along with the free drinks from our room in a small, collapsible cooler when we spent the day at the Atlantis water park-all we had to pay for (besides the pricey admission) was the cost of locker rental, then we returned to the Riu for an early dinner. The water park is as beautiful as the pictures, It was well worth the cost!

TIPPING: Note, this is an all inclusive resort-including tips, but seriously, the workers were all very nice, working hard and doing a good job. Leaving just small tips each day got us extra good service. I'd suggest preparing for this in advance-I took about $200 in small bills ($1's & $5's) for the duration of our trip-don't forget the airport, taxi & shuttle people you'll need to tip coming and going.
We tipped $1 per person for breakfast, $2 for lunch and $5 per person for the nicer restaurants and our servers remembered us and we received very good service each day. We gave the bartender $5 when we ordered our first round of drinks and tipped them every couple of rounds thereafter. The bars and the swim up one in the pool are usually pretty busy, they are serving the non-alcoholic drinks as well so tipping helps you get waited on a bit sooner; although the bartenders weren't the friendliest ones that I have encountered.

COMMUNICATION: We turned off our cell phones in Miami; I rented a block of internet time at the hotel for emails and there is free WiFi in the lobby area though it is spotty.

We had a later flight home but they allowed us to keep our wristband on so we could still have lunch and wait in the sports bar; we then got a really friendly taxi driver that gave us a tour of Paradise Island on our way to the airport. The airport there is very nice, clean and modern. In the food court they have several areas with electrical plug ins.

We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation in the Bahamas and look forward to returning again in the near future! Our daughter is booking her honeymoon there at the Riu Palace in a few months. If you are looking for a vacation in a beautiful, exotic place with a fantastic beach and don't want to spend your kid's college fund, this is a good choice. If you want an upscale resort with fine dining, you probably wouldn't be happy with this and should budget accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor have a better view, we paid a little extra for ocean view (see picture from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RyliesMimi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: Casino Drive, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing