We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort at great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great resort at great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Resort: Overall, this is a nice resort. There are some spots where you can tell that it was an old building that has been renovated, but overall they did a nice job. It would be better if the resort had a larger pool or a second pool, but I never saw the pool get too crowded. They had entertainment each night like game shows, karaoke, and a local band and dance group. It wasn't great entertainment, but I don't expect much from resorts because I never like their entertainment. The service was outstanding in every department, so that took the resort to another level. Is it a luxury resort? No. Is it a very nice resort? Yes.

Food: It's typical all-inclusive food. The food at breakfast and dinner is the same every day, so that gets old quickly. The food at dinner is based on a different theme every night and you also have the option of the four specialty restaurants, so dinner was my favorite meal. None of the food made me say "Wow," but it was ok. The Japanese restaurant was my favorite. I'm not much of a drinker, so I didn't pay too much attention to the alcohol. I didn't recognize any of the brands in the rooms, so I think that the alcohol provided in the rooms at least is bottom-shelf liquor and I stuck to getting drinks at the bars.

And don't listen to complaints about the reservation system because it's changed. Instead of only being able to make reservations 8am to 9am, you can make them 8am to 3pm. We never had a problem making reservations.

Room: I'm very picky about hotel rooms, but I was satisfied with our room. The furniture and decorations were nice and the bathroom was updated. It would be nice if the balcony and tv were a little bigger, but those weren't dealbreakers. The bed and pillows were also really comfortable. We stayed in room 1025.

Overall impression: If you want a partying vacation at a resort that has a lot of activities onsite, this isn't the place. If you want a luxury that takes your breath away, this isn't the place. But if you're looking for a nice resort with great service, this is the place.

Savings tip: The Riu sits on a public beach and it owns the beach chairs, but you have to pay $25 to a local vendor to use an umbrella. I avoided that charge by getting up at 7am every day and reserving chairs on the pool deck that faced the beach and were under the Riu's umbrellas. That allowed us to save the money and we were only steps from the beach.

Room Tip: The rooms above floor 7 ending in odd numbers have the best views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nneka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    1,762
    948
    548
    449
See reviews for
993
2,057
97
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 days and 5 nights. I've been to a Riu resort before however that was in Jamaica. I had higher expectations for the Bahama Riu resort because I heard that it was newer than the other resort, where u had keys to open the room doors. I liked that it had free wifi in both your room and the hotel lobby. The drinks at the bar are alright, it's not the best but decent enough. The hotel is rather small and only has 3 shops. Also the gym there is small and has an odd smell (not because of the sweat) What bothered me was that the pool was smaller in person and the bar service wasn't great. You had to get out of the pool to get drinks even though they had space for the bartenders to make the drinks in the pool. Also the hotel building would cover half of the pool so there would be a really sunny side and a dark side. But it's vacation who really cares about most of those stuff?! You come there for the beach! The beach there is beautiful and the water is very clear! Also there would be fishes swimming around you!! It's awesome! The only bad thing about the beach is the price to get an umbrella. Unlike other people I haven't been annoyed of the jet ski people. I wouldn't complain about the prices of the water activities because if you don't agree just ask for a cheaper price! If not around 4 or 5ish they usually lower the price since there are less people doing activities. I ate at the gourmet restaurant, steakhouse, and krystal. The best appetizer and desert would be at KRYSTAL. The best entree would have to be at the steakhouse. A tip at the gourmet restaurant would to not order the shrimp entree. It's mostly just cheese and tiny 3 peices of shrimp!! Also, Steakhouse takes quite awhile to make food but it's fine because they give you bread and 2 appetizers to eat. I don't reccomend to get the beef at Krystal. I ordered medium well and it ended up to be rare. The buffet for breakfast and lunch are always the same except some are changed during lunch. But it's good either way. However the buffet at night can vary sometimes it's good or bad. The nightlife like the past reviews state is terrible. There's not much to do there and in the entertainment room it's kind of dead. I went once and it was Karoake night and no one was singing it was pretty sad. But no worry! Atlantis is next door and the walk isn't bad. There's many shops in there to browse/shop at. In addition there's a movie theatre, casino, and game room, teen club, and speedway. However at the game room you have to pay but the theaters free! You can also browse at the aquarium but you have to walk through the casino. There's also marina village! It's really pretty. There are many food places like pizza and ben and Jerry's. Plus there are entertainers there and many boats. You aren't allowed onto the dock though. Also a starbucks there but it's more overpriced than it usually is. Really $6?!? If you don't want to check out the Atlantis hotel at night it doesn't matter. The activities done during the daytime usually tires you out after dinner anyways. The room service is fast too! Overall my stay there was pretty decent. However there was a blackout when I was eating dinner at Krystal. After 5 minutes or so the power came back so all was well after. Would I come back? Yes. But only for the beautiful beach. The rest? No. This trip was quite expensive and the food and drinks at times didn't satisfy me. Also the drinks contained mostly ice so you would have to constantly return to the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanienewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned yesterday from a 4 night stay here. This hotel is rated 3.5 by TA and it really is quite accurate. We booked 2 rooms for our family of 4. We got room 222 and room 228. I asked if there were rooms available on higher floors but was told hotel was completely booked. I booked thru hotels.com months in advance. These rooms looked out onto the roof which housed the AC units. Beyond that was a gorgeous view of the ocean and beach. It was on the quite side of the hotel if you did not mind the humming of the AC units which we did not. The rooms did smell a bit musty but were clean and comfortable. Bathroom was updated, clean and we never ran out of hot water as many have reported. Towels and minibar were always kept in good supply. The hallway on this floor appeared worn/dirty from the walls to the carpets and often had room service dishes/trays left outside of doors. The housekeeping was very good and they kept up daily. I was not impressed with the front desk staff at all. They acted as if they could have cared less towards their customers. We are ex-smokers and there is smoking everywhere inside and out but not in the rooms. It is allowed in the hallways so the smell seeps into the rooms at times.The waitstaff were all very good regarding foodservice and the bar. Food in general was good with much variety at the buffet which kept hot food hot and cold food cold. Specialty restaurants were ok but not fabulous. Sir Alexander was the best(excellent filet of beef with peppercorn sauce and crab bisque). Krystal was where we had to send our food back as it was undercooked then overcooked! Beach and ocean are what you will give 5 stars here! They are beautiful. The only regret is that the beach vendors are a pain. On our first day they swarmed our two sons and rented them jetskis for a high price. Later that day another jetski vendor came by offering them to others for much less money.Lesson learned was to say no and see what the next offer will be. The vendors also get into heated squabbles right in front of you as each competes for customers...not relaxing listening to that. By day 4 these people were getting annoying. Location is great right next door to Atlantis where we walked over to casino each night. Honestly, Atlantis was so crowded it felt like high season at Disneyworld so I don't know if we would stay there for that reason alone. Overall, we had no major complaints and the beach and ocean are simply gorgeous! Rooms are just fine, food is pretty good and we agreed with TA rating exactly. We had a nice family vacation but would go elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better views and less noise but the wait for the elevators is longer. If I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandbreezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This must be the best trip I've ever visited in my life. Let's begin saying the plane offered amazing food and also champagne and they where friendly too.

Apon arriving at Bahamas airport we where out of there fast and no problems where made. And we also had no struggles, but they where slow on unloading the packages and luggage.

Apon arriving at the hotel we had complimentary cocktails and got r room in seconds. We where room 427, which is junior ocean suite and I must say the room was breathtaking and stocked with coke and sprite and beer and also had glasses a balcony and liquor dispenser on Wall offering vodka rum gin and more. It was unbelievably beautiful and double sink also. They had room service for free where u can order cheesecake sandwiches and more. The bathrooms had towels stocked daily we had robes and they also had double sinks.

The buffet.
The lunch buffet wasn't that impressive they had everything from jalepeno poppers and calamari to fish and burgers and more. Dinner buffet was about the same nothing to selective. They had a pasta station and meat too, but I must say the wine and dessert was amazing. The breakfast was my favourite with different cereals and real squized fruit juice to omelet stations and more it was just pnemonimal.

The a la carte.
We did the gourmet one which by far was the best steak I've ever had in my life and that pumpkin squish soup was just the best I've ever tasted.
The Japanese one is a must do¶
The sushi was fresh and amazing they provided u with salmon shrimp and California rolls and a spicy one and the quantity of food was huge and you couldn't finish it. The deep Fried icecream for dessert was brilliant.

Drinks
The drinks where way way to strong and you couldn't finish them at all how strong they where. Aslong as you specify low alcohol they where amazing.
Try these :
Dirty monkey
Mudslide with strawberry or banana rum
Raspberry mojjto
Banana mango or peach or strawberry daquri
Superman
Mojito
Porn star which is blue Curacao with raspberry vodka and sprite
Long Island ice tea
Electric lemonade and more

View and activities.
The beach Was beautiful so blue and aqua and u can also find a place. To tan. The people who do scuba and the sea do will kind of annoy u but aslong as u say no they stop. We found so many fish and sea shells in the water it was brilliant.
The Atlantis resort was minutes away u leave r hotel front and go right and walk through the doors and your there. Aslong as u go early morning and night security won't stop u from viewing the jelly fish and the shark aquariums and walking around. The casino Was beatiful same with the nightclub which is aura and dragon and more.
The shops. At Atlantis where amazing they had a Starbucks and versace and Michael kors and Armani and more.

The city was amazing I felt so safe and no one bothered u at all. It's a thirty minutes walk or 12 dollar taxi there and 12 dollar taxi back
Best to walk. They had a McDonald's there a burger King a Baskin Robbins and Dunkin donuts a KFC and more. It's like America and amazing.

The city also has corona and Bacardi breezers for purchase for only like 4 dollars or cheaper.

Have questions feel free to ask

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jazz22i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I'm still here. It's pretty good! I'm actually relaxing right now on the balcony overlooking the most beautiful beach! This place is breathtaking. This is day 4 of my 5 day vacation. My sister and I are in our 30s and we came with our adult parents (50s).
So, here are the pros:
- not far from the airport,
- beautiful white sandy beach,
- The Krystal restaurant was excellent, we have reservations for the Stakehouse tonight.
- maid staff's attitude was excellent
- we came for the beach, so we are sold on the beach!
- the spa ladies are very nice! Tamara was absolutely excellent! Worth every penny, and would get a massage from her again.
- water aerobics was fun. (Wish there were more activities though)
- we are literally one resort away from the Atlantis. I was looking out of my window at the rooms across from mine and realized just today that those a part of the Atlantis building.
- the DIG, is the name of the Atlantis aquarium. You can get in free after 5pm (they close at 6pm)
- they are constantly cleaning the pool and I see them scrubbing the pool early in the mornings. They are really on the maintenance. The chemicals go in at 8pm.
Cons:
- the beach doesn't get cleaned regularly, so the place is a giant ashtray. And every step has some piece of trash (straw, cup, cigarette butt).
- we are from Maryland, where smoking is banned from restaurants and bars, so we were a little spoiled and grossed out by all of the smoking everywhere - it's international, so nothing you can do about it.
- the water sport vendors are overwhelming, relentless, and constantly hawking all day long at the beach. I kept hearing, "hey boss, are you ready?"
- you have to pay for umbrellas at the beach- $25.
- the one pool they have closes early (7pm), but we have 2hours of daylight left!
- rooms are clean but have a musky odor
- entertainment wasn't impressive. The dancers were really nice and they did a good job, but it was a bit dry. The best night was the karaoke night, and really, you're entertained by the other guests! Dancing was fun.
- the power went out twice since I've been here.
- it's smaller than expected, but that's not an issue since we are right next to Atlantis.
- I'm a healthy eater, and I'm a pescatarian/vegetarian. I do eat fish. Breakfast and dinner were good but lunch was horrible. It's mostly bar food only - hamburgers, hotdogs, nachos, fries, pizza, wings, fried fish, condiments, and a small salad bar. Nothing much here. You should take a cab to "The Fish Fry" and eat at a restaurant called the Twin Brothers! Delish!
- don't drink from the poolside bar outside... It is filled with flies. The caps on the syrups were left off and there are multitudes of flies crawling all over the spouts and openings of every bottle. I have one more day, but will only drink from the inside bars.
- my worse complaint is the number of flies. It's so bad that you absolutely cannot eat outdoors while you are here. Flies are disgusting!
Overall, it was a nice vacation, but I will try something different next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumanovo, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My fiance (now wife) and I departed for our trip and stay at the RIU Palace in the Bahamas with every intent to have our wedding and 14 day honeymoon there. However, we encountered an issue with a transit Visa through the US and were denied boarding at Rome. We immediately notified our travel agency who sent the RIU an email and a fax to inform them of the travel interruption. American Airlines provided a credit to us for the unused portion of the trip - even though the policy stated there was a no-refund on the air portion of the trip. The hotel portion of the trip did not have a clause stating it could not be refunded. We called the hotel to work with them about refunding the 14 nights we had already paid for and they stated they could not work with us since they didn't have a booking number directly with them. However, they also informed us over the phone that they usually refund any reservation that is cancelled - with a penalty. We called our travel agency again and they claimed several times over the next two weeks to get a refund/partial refund/ or different location. Three separate times RIU DENIED to work with us and kept our money even though we did not have a chance to make it there. RUINED WEDDING, RUINED HONEYMOON, NO REFUND FOR A FOURTEEN NIGHT STAY. Bad business practices RIU!
For travellers - be forewarned that this hotel chain will not work with you on anything if you use a travel agency. Book directly or don't stay with them. My wife and I highly recommend Hilton who provided free upgrades and catered to our every need!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank NotaRIUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paradise Island hotels

Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

First off people need to realize..... YOU ARE IN ANOTHER COUNTRY and the RIU is NOT i repeat NOT the god damn RITZ CARLETON. If you want a place that has good food 24 hours a day ....... excellent nightly entertainment.............and a white sandy beach with warm water.....and wont bankrupt you.............the RIU is your place.

My wife and I stayed there and had a blast. We are not the wealthiest people in the world. We are however, down to earth and don't have these super high expectations that being American makes you better than everyone. This place is really nice. the rooms BLAH! but who in the hell stays in their room ON VACATION????? you sleep there for maybe 8 hours! so who gives a damn about the crown molding has a paint chip. GROW UP PEOPLE!!!!

Look..... if you want a killer vacation and don't have the winning lottery numbers...then stay at the RIU..... there is all kinds of excursions to do on the island. if you are a normal human being who doesn't live is a BUBBLE.....then i would recommend this place for you!!!!

T.J. and Precious are excellent and funny Bahamians who work there!!!!

Room Tip: we never get our room cleaned during our stay......we never do.... i just dont like the idea of some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AtwaterFan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: Casino Drive, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing