We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was better than the bad reviews I read”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Was better than the bad reviews I read”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I read several reviews on Trip Advisor and was a little worried about our choice in hotels But our stay was good compared to some of the bad reviews. This trip was a graduation gift to our daughters, they wanted to do the slide at The Atlantis since they were small. We chose to stay at the Riu because it was all inclusive and next door to The Atlantis. We decided to purchased a day pass the the Waterpark at The Atlantis. We did not have transportation included in our travel, but based on reviews we grabbed a cab. Our drivers name was "Pepsi". he gave a us a great tour along the way, showed us where to go downtown, drove us by the Fish Fry area. I did like our room. We booked a family suite through the Riu website. There really wasn't a good description of the room but I loved the space! We basically had 2 full rooms with a shared living space. #306 and #308. It was nice to have 2 separate sleeping areas, 2 showers, 3 balconies, 3 TV's, and two refrigerators!. Our view was a partial ocean and the rooftop of the dining areas below. So that wasn't attractive but the room space made up for it. You could see the storms rolling in which was great and also the walkway to the public beach. Our rooms did have carpet and room 306 did have a slight musty smell some traveler reviews stated. The showers seems to have the silver rubbing off so it may appear to look molded and there were a couple of holes from where the shower handle was installed. The bed and pillows were very comfortable to me. We never had an issue with hot water or a hot room. They did get humid if we left the balcony door open too long.

As far as the mini bar and frig in the rooms, they give you a few cans of Miller Beer, Tonic water, Diet Coke, Coke, Sprite and Water. I read a travelers review that if you leave a tip and note in the frig they will restock with what you want so we were able to get some extra Miller Beer. So that tip worked!! The front desk will tell you they only stock it with 5 or 6 beers each day, So we tried the tip each day and they did give us extra. My husband was HAPPY!

The fitness center should be open longer or 24 hours. It is open 8 to 8. Don't go right when they open, there is a line and machines are crowded.

They have 2 tables to sign up for different excursions open daily. They are near the Sports bar.

The Food was average. the previous traveler reviews were right, lots of choice for the breakfast and dinner buffets. My daughter and I loved the scrambled eggs with Herbs. There is an omelette station but the line was always too long. At the end of the buffet line there is a juice bar which I enjoyed. They had fresh watermelon juice, cantalope, banana, and a few others The banana juice tasted like a smoothie to me. Lunch was the same thing it seemed every day so that would be nice to have it changed up. There were burgers, fries, hot dogs, grilled cheese, pizza and a salad bar. There were a few other side dishes as well. We did get tired of that easy. Dinner buffet had a theme each night. I think if you like seafood you would like it even more, there were lots of fish choices. For the restaurants we just ate at The Steakhouse for a nice dinner out. It was good. The other restaurants seemed to have more seafood options so we just stuck to the buffet. My daughter LOVED the pizza at dinner. My husband ordered room services late night and loved it. Not alot of choices on the menu.

The Sports Bar - We did notice a few days into our trip that the sports bar does have some food set up 24/7. You can heat up a hamburger, hot dog or make nachos.

The Drinks: They are typical All- Inclusive Size in the small plastic cups with a splash of alcohol. You can ask for double shot, I heard alot of people do that. We tipped along the way as we ordered. One of the bartenders in the Calypso lounge gave my daughter a nice large glass cup with her Miami Vice drink With extra shots because she was the only one that said please that night when she ordered her drinks.

The Entertainment - Meeks and Jason were the main host/entertainers and they were full of energy. They had fun at the pool and then again hosted shows in the lounge at night. Best nights were Karaoke and the Ideal Couple game show.

The pool - It is true what the reviews say, if you want a chair get up and get there early. Get your towel find your chairs and put your towels down. THEN you can go eat and come back to your chairs. The hotel says not to hold chairs but it is the only way to get one. There is a line of chairs facing the ocean up at the pool which would be awesome. We were not sure how early those people got up to claim those, they were ALWAYS taken. It is a small pool but it is also a smaller hotel. Swim up bar was a plus.

The beach - We layed out on the beach the first day. Go there about 9am and we did rent an umbrella from a vendor and the hotel beach attendant moved our 4 chairs closer to the water. There are beach vendors always walking around trying to sell things but they were respectful. It was getting more crowded in the afternoon. The beach was clean. The water AMAZING. We are right next to The Atlantis Beach Towers and the other size was the public beach for locals and cruise ship passengers who took a day trip. Lots of Jet ski rentals between our hotel and The Atlantis. They also had Banana boat rides and Parasailing. For drinks, we packed a cooler with our drinks from the frig and took to the beach and along with us on our excursions. The ice machines are on the uneven floor #'s. If you have room pack a collapsible cooler. We didn't so bought a cooler tote at the gift shop.

We did visit The Atlantis each night to go to the Casino, You can walk anywhere in the lobby area for free there. There is The Marina Village which is a shopping area and you can see some serious yachts! There is a Starbucks in the Coral Towers. You can also see the aquarium in the Royal Towers. You just can't go out to see The Predator Tunnel without a wrist band, There is security till about 6. I read you can go after that, we just didn't.

Excursions: We did The Atlantis Waterpark for the day. The cost is $140 per adult. Get there when they open at 9am. We used the lockers by the Myan pool and grabbed towels and chairs. It did start getting crowded as the afternoon went on. The lines for the slides when they opened were not long, But as the day went on you can see the lines taking forever, The lazy river was fun. Food good but expensive. We bought a cooler from the gift shop at The Riu and took drinks from our frig (even beer!). We also did the Dolphin Shallow Water encounter at Dolphin Cay. That was great!

We also decided to so the Sandy Toes Beach excursion. The only problem was, it wasn't long enough. That is where we really got to see other islands along the way and the water and views were breathtaking.

We did take a cab to downtown, went to the Straw Market, other small shops and sat in Senior Frogs and watched Cruise ships leave. There is also a small shopping center, Paradise something .. you will see it on the right when you are on Paradise Island. You can walk to it though The Atlantis and exit through the Coral Towers. The Bellman will tell you how to get there. Easy walk. The Riu has a gift shop and Convenient Store. We did not take advantage of the Spa.

It is an oceanfront hotel and there were some cosmetic issues but we also noticed some at The Atlantis. But the people were all so friendly that worked there, the space of our room was awesome.

Room Tip: The odd # rooms will have a pool view and ocean view. You will also see the Beach Towers a The Atlan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank 709MDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    1,795
    977
    565
    466
See reviews for
1,023
2,099
101
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

After we read the mixed reviews, we were a bit scared, but were overall quite pleased. We went with our 1.5 year old child & were concerned that it wouldn't be good for him, but he had a blast!

- the staff were FANTASTIC! The majority were friendly, helpful & accomodating. Great service overall!
- the room we ended up with was great! We ended up upgrading to an oceanview suite...well worth it!
- the food was good. We ended up only eating at the buffet (easier with a kid) & were pleased with the variety.
- the beach was really nice although it had more garbage on it than I would have liked & there were a lot of people selling stuff as it is a public beach. The water was gorgeous, warm & crystal clear! It was a bit wavy, but definitely swimmable! We weren't crazy about all the jet skis doing stupid moves around the swimming area - for the most part they stayed away from people, but sometimes got too close for our comfort (& it was very noisy).

Some tips (especially for people going with young children):
- the oceanview suite was well worth the extra money. There was lots of room for him to run around. The extra large balcony was really nice to have & was completely shaded all day so he could be out there too. For us, we knew we'd have to spend more time in our room during the day (for napping & keeping him out of the sun during the afternoon) & in the evening to accomodate his 8pm bedtime....so it was really nice to have a huge balcony facing the ocean where we could still feel like we were taking advantage of the location.

- the hotel provided a pack & play for our child to sleep in. The condition was pretty good (some minor tears in the mesh on the side), but I still put a towel down for him to sleep on.

- the hotel does have highchairs in the dining areas

- it was really nice to be beside Atlantis, it provided us with something else to do during the day that was air conditioned. We went to the aquarium one afternoon...we were poking around & I think we ended up going through a back door & didn't have to pay (oops! haha).

I'm not sure how all of the rooms are advertised with different travel agencies - but when we booked with ITravel2000 (Signature Vacations) - we ended up paying a premium price for a "Suite Standard Special". There was certainly nothing special about this room & definitely not worth the extra fee. We thought we'd be getting an upgraded room given the higher price (should have read more carefully), but ended up with a room that overlooked a conference facility (NO OCEANVIEW AT ALL!) & there was NO BALCONY. Apparently all that made this room "special" was a separate living area....all this means for this hotel is that there is a tv stand between the bed & the couch. In my opinion, this is definitely not a premium room...if you're going to spend some extra $$ definitely go for the oceanview suite. From what I saw, most other rooms were the same (i.e. no major difference - the worst was this "special suite" & the best was the "oceanview suite"....everything else looked pretty similar). Maybe I wouldn't care so much about the room if it was just me & my husband, but in this case, we were spending a lot more time in the room.

Room Tip: Anything ending with ("00" are the worst rooms...i.e. 500, 600, 700) - these have no ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is old and neither maintenance or cleanliness appear to be a priority. We ended booking a room at The Atlantis halfway through our vacation. The smell in our room was a mixture of must and paint fumes. I slept with my head under the sheet. The pool was disgusting. The food was not bad but many times I was concerned about the temperature at which the food was left out. The beach was awesome, but I would suggest a stay next door at The Atlantis. It would have been a shame if we had not changed hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krzt923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paradise Island hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Riu for one week- just got back. I've been to all inclusives in Jamaica and Cancun, so this all inclusive was just average compared to Iberostar Montego Bay and Moon Palace Cancun.

30 minute ride in nice ACed bus from airport to resort.

Service was average. Not rude, not overly friendly. Staff kind of slow to clear plates at lunch and dinner, but I didn't make a big fuss over it.

Drinks at the resort are just ok. Not much variety. Fruity drinks are made with liquers instead of real fruit. Bar service slow at times, when it's busy. Room has bar in it with Jamaican rum, some sort of gin and vodka. Room had beer and soft drinks replenished as well as bottled water, so that's a plus.

Food at buffets was pretty good. I'm a vegetarian. Partner's a meat and potatoes and children picky, but we were all ok and accommodated. You'll have fries, pasta, rice, pizza, salsa and nachos, hamburgers and hot dogs at every single lunch. Pop was coke, diet coke, fanta, and sprite. Organge juice is ok. Dinner options were the same too, but they change up the option at the entrance of the hall. Some themes were fajitas, greek, gumbo, etc. Dessert selection was just ok. When the ice cream ran out they didn't replenish it. Cookies n Creme was always the first to go. And the ice cream was so runny at times that it was hopeless. We ordered room service once. It was pretty quick.

Rooms had a very musty smell. One of the bed sheets was ripped. One pillow case had blood stains on it- gross! Had to request for sheets to be changed after 4 nights. They did it prompltly at request. Clothes musty upon return, but it's the caribbean and we weren't too bothered. The AC in the room is awesome. Got very cold (we like it cold), as it was very hot outside. The water wasn't really a problem. I did see that discoloured water the first night so it's true. We just showered instead. No big deal. Had a nice Canadian shower upon return :)

Entertainment happens nightly. One night the AC wasn't on in the theatre. Good God in that theatre you couldn't breathe. Some dance numbers. One night there was a Miss Riu and Mr. Riu competiton which was fun cuz they pull members from the audience.

The Beach was frickin amazing!!!! Clear waters. Tiny fish all around you. White sandy beaches. We saw a sting ray and a parrana though. But don't worry!! No umbrellas on the beach unless you rent one for $25. Jet skis, braiding, etc. is all sollicited but just say no thanks and you're good to go.

The resort is small so if you like hustle and bustle, this place isn't for you. The pool was nasty, just nasty. It was small and it was dirty so we hit the beach each day instead.

Ok, so here's a tip: Atlantis is literally right next door so go on over and take advantage of the amenities. If you find a cheap room rate at the Beach Tower (cheapest one) and it's cheaper than you having to pay $140 per adult, $80 for child, then pay for the room at the same time as the Riu, cuz it'll be cheaper. you'll get a wrist band and you can use the amenities on the day you check in and after y ou check out the following day. This is a must!!! The water park was awesome!!! It broke up the monotony of the small Riu resort.

All in all it was a nice get away. You'll get a tan, you'll eat and drink, you'll enjoy the beach and it was nice time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avinger, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent our 33rd anniversary at the RIU. We got there at around 9 pm. They didn't have our room ready. 11:30 we finally got in. Double beds pushed together. Got a courtesy call to find out if we were happy. I said no, we wanted a king bed and oh yeah, the carpet was soaking wet. They said we could get another room the following day. That was an experience also. Had to checkout at 12, but couldn't get another room till 3. So for 3 hours our luggage was in a closet somewhere. So the actual anniversary was ruined. With that being said, the beach was beautiful, the water was great. Couldn't get a drink on the beach, and the bar by the pool was always full. Food was good, but nothing spectacular. We were there for 7 nights. Walked to the Atlantis and was so impressed with it! I think u would have to be very wealthy to stay there. People were nice, be ready to be asked 100 times if u want to ride jet ski. Some of the people that worked there walked around with frowns on their face. Don't fly Delta, planes are hot and small compared to others. The 24 hour room service includes a couple of sandwiches, salads, and desserts.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better views. No nightlife, except 3 young people that dress up, and try to get p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed here for once a year for 8 years. It is not perfect but we love absolutely love it.

We don't expect to be treated like royalty and we avoid some of the things they don't do so well. Like the nightly entertainment and the a la carte restaurants (the buffet is amazing though), the coffee and some rooms may not be quite as nice as others.

The people have always been friendly and since we come back every year they are even nicer as they know us.

We also miss the tennis courts and yes the beach venders can be annoying but if you are polite they leave you alone.

We love the beach and if you walk 25min towards the Ocean Club you will find a quiet sand beach where you are not bothered and you can snorkel and just sun tan in peace. The water is always calm and it is shallow.

Please don't go if you are expecting to be over the top pampered and you are looking for a hotel like the ones in Vegas. You won't get that. What you will get is a beautiful beach, friendly staff, a great location and a hotel that is not perfect but feels like you are in the Bahamas.

Relax and enjoy your time with family and/or friends and you will have a great trip. Stop complaining that check out is at 3, stop complaining about the size of the pool, stop complaining about the food especially from the 24hr menu (just don't order it).

.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucky019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Riu from July 3-July 6th. Hopefully the points mentioned below will help you decide if this place best suits your needs.

Rooms are decent size. Make sure you request for an odd number room and a king size bed. We got stuck with two double beds pushed together.

Pool - relatively small compared to other Riu properties.

Beach - gorgeous beach with white powdery sand. We didn't really use the pool.

Food - I would say the food at Riu Bahamas was much better than Riu Santa Fe in Los Cabo. I am very picky when it comes to food and found lots to eat everyday.

Drinks - no complaints.. They don't have too of the shelf drinks but do have regular stuff like Bacardi, Smirnoff, etc. Their red whine and champagne were decent.

Entertainment - not a big fan.. We skipped it mostly.. Go to Atlantis instead..

Atlantis is next door.. Do check it out.. Remember to take a drink from Riu.. :-) You can also visit the aquarium for free after 6:00 PM.

Go with an open mind and low expectations.. We did the same and had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravel100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,582 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing