We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I'm here right now and not really sure what peoples expectations are for the price ??? If you want sandals service and amenities go there, and add at least 1200 a couple more. Our room is fine, yes the water was brown this morning for about an hour and there was a notice up stating they were working on the problem . I have found the majority of staff are very pleasant and willing to help with whatever you need. The food has been very good for the price you pay. As for the star ratings, this is an overall amenity system and as long as these services are available and offered that's the 5 star rating.I wouldn't hesitate to return to this riu!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank COURTICENURSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,794)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 4,794 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just returned from a long weekend (Friday-Monday) at the Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island. The hotel is in a good location, on a lovely beach with calm, shallow water, making swimming a pleasure. Shade is hard to come by -- there aren't nearly enough umbrellas at the pool area, and small beach umbrellas are $25 for a 9 to 5 rental. The beach is crowded and noisy, with jetski and banana boat vendors constantly hawking trips, and there was a suprising amount of trash. The hotel is in average to poor condition, with tired decor; run down outdoor furniture outside lobby; lobby restrooms that didn't work (broken and unflushed toilets, out of order signs only put up after several complaints); rinse off shower near stairs to beach that didn't work; broken glass in landscaping and on tile around pool; wet, slippery sandy tile everywhere). The rooms were good size but were musty, with damp carpet,and our sliding door took two people to open. The food was adequate but not great, and was better at the a la carte restaurants. Drink service was very sporadic around pool, there was none at the beach, and the tiny pool bar had a very limited repertoire, although the lobby bar was fine. Most disappointing was the staff, which was minimal at best and surly at worst. Most staff didn't smile and answered in one or two words. A notable exception was the staff at the lobby bar, who were pleasant and provided good service. The front desk balked at reprinting our WiFi login and password, so we didn't have to go to room to retrieve it; we were told by Shay "I won't be printing it again" even though we only asked the one time. Quite a disappointing attitude from someone who was just standing around; there was only one other couple at the front desk at the time, with three other staff, so not a busy time. The wait staff at the buffet restaurants were not attentive (notable exception: the lady at the breakfast omlette station was great), and service was better at the a la carte restaurants. The entertainment was poor; during the "ideal couple" game played one night, the host and contestants couldn't be understood or heard in the middle of the room. Housekeeping was spotty; we didn't have a bathmat 2 of the 3 nights, and one night had only 1 towel, it took an hour to get additional towels; our king bed was made as two twins put together with twin bedding, and thus a seam in the middle, rather than an actual king with king bedding. Overall, the distinct impression was of uninterested staff who were unwilling and/or unable to treat vacationers as guests and understaffing in every area. We stayed at a Riu previously, in Cabo, and while that was enjoyable, in particular the service, we were turned off by this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Ritabg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Riu Palace on Paradise Island is an all-inclusive hotel. Since different hotels may ironically have different definitions of "all-inclusive", I can say that Riu's is quite extensive and includes all three meals at the buffet and a few of the ala carte restaurants. It also includes free alcohol at all bars, during meals, and even a liquor dispenser in your room (rum, vodka, gin, brandy) along with beer in the mini-fridge (yes the mini-fridge drinks are also free). The pool is about medium size with a pool bar and the bartenders are skilled and friendly.

The hotel common areas and grounds are average. As other reviewers suggest and from my own experience, other Riu Palace hotels are better appointed and larger. I've been to the Riu Palace in Cabo San Lucas, and it certainly felt like a much larger place with more going on. However, I would still say that this hotel makes its mark simply by its location on Paradise Island. Taking a walk down Cabbage Beach (away from Atlantis) every morning to a rock jetty, where the water is perfectly calm, and feeding the tropical fish with bread crumbs was the perfect way to start the day.

The Riu is also next door to the towering Atlantis Resort. Anyone can walk to the Atlantis for shopping, and it was fun to get a one-day pass for the water park and pools (highly recommend the not-so-lazy river). If you want to see their massive and impressive aquarium and save the $40 admission fee, then go after 7pm when it's free for everyone.

It's easy to from the Riu and Paradise Island to Nassau if you want to find more culture. You can walk across the bridge if you want or take a shuttle or taxi. The Straw Market, restaurants, galleries, and shops on the Nassau side are something to check out during the day if you want a break from the beach.

Sidenote: If you want an authentic experience, and if you're there at the right time, the waterfront between the straw market and the bridge may have a guy on a boat selling souvenir starfish and fresh conch salad. If you're lucky enough to be around, definitely by a bowl. He makes it right on the boat... extremely fresh catch and so delicious.

The bottom line: At the Riu, you get the benefit of a great location and an all-inclusive hotel without the expense of paying for every meal and every drink at other hotels. You can take advantage of shopping next door and get to Nassau easily and Cabbage Beach is one of the best on the island. Even though I mentioned that the hotel grounds are not glamorous, they are in good order, and I have to say the rooms are well maintained and have been recently remodeled with upscale design and furniture.

Room Tip: Choose a pool side room for nice view of the pool and courtyard area along with the oceanfront. C...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We got a good deal and it was all inclusive so that's why we chose the riu. This was our first time staying at a Riu resort. Other guests at the hotel said this hotel wasnt nearly as good as other Rius. It seemed like a hotel trying to be a resort. It has a musty smell inside. Had a cockroach one night in our room. That was a first for me. It was only one and my boyfriend killed it. No cockroaches after that. (Thank God)The food is ok but we had way better in Jamaica and Cancun. Beach is beautiful with very warm clear water. The Riu is very close to Atlantis and that is a plus. We went to the casino and for dinner at a couple restaurants there as well as the marina. The hotel staff was very nice. Overall I give this place a 3 out of 5. Go for the good price, the beautiful beach and proximity to Atlantis.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rayray1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Riu with my Husband for our honeymoon from July 17-21. First day was ok....but the next morning when I woke up brown dirty water was coming from the sink and bathtub and I had to let the water drain for almost 2 hours. I requested to speak to a manager and that did not happen, they only sent up a fruit platter and a cheap bottle of wine. Every morning after was the same dirty water issue which they claimed that a pipe burst but now after reading other reviews it seems this is a common issue.

Bartenders and wait staff ate friendly, although when I complained about the water issue with the front desk staff they were not friendly.

This resort is very small so it gets boring after a few days. They only have 1 pool which gets very crowded. The beach area prepare to be harassed by locals asking you to purchase a jet ski ride.

Buffet was ok nothing special...The Japanese restaurant is good. This hotel is nowhere close to a 4 or 5 star, I give it a 3 star and would not return back ever again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Latoya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went to this hotel with relatively low expectations because of the mixed reviews. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. We stayed in room 520 and it was very clean and smelled fine. We did not experience the damp carpet or musty smell others had commented on. Our room faced the east and we got to see the sunrise everyday. Had a great view of the beach. Only negative about the room was you couldn't sit on the balcony and hear the ocean because of the air conditioner outside being so loud. You couldn't hear it in your room though. No big deal, We still sat out there and just enjoyed the view. The breakfast buffet and coffee were fantastic. The lunch buffet was good and the dinner buffet was great with plenty of variety. We ate at the Japanese specialty restaurant one night and it was fantastic and the service was great. We ate at the steakhouse the one other night and it was just average. All of the employees at this resort were friendly and accommodating. We had a great time and if we go to Nassau again we would stay here. Thanks Lyden for making the Buffett dinners so fun, you are awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Soonerfan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Riu in Paradise Island. After reading so many reviews on TA we decided to go with low expectations and we were pleasantly surprised. We think people are a little to picky. Relax and enjoy whats around you. Yes, the rooms are a little musty & damp but many ocean front properties are this way due to the ocean moisture. We didn't travel here to sit in the room so it was fine to sleep in. Beds were comfy and the shower had hot water as well as good pressure. The beach is amazing!!! Clear blue water and many fish to see. Remember to bring a mask & snorkel and you will be amazed at how many fish are right under your feet at the ocean edge. As for the jet ski people, if you just say no thank you they move on. The pool at the resort is a little small and tends to get dirty by the end of the day but its ok for a quick dip to cool off. We were up early every day, so pool chairs were not a problem for us. We liked the ones facing the ocean. All the staff were pleasant and very accommodating and we had no issues. The food at the buffet was fantastic. Always plenty to choose from. We did eat at the speciality restaurants (steak & Japanese) but preferred the variety of the buffet. The speciality restaurants were a little to slow for our liking. If you want a trip to Atlantis just to look around you can walk over. They let you walk around and see the property after 5pm. Also, the casino is open all hours. We also took the ferry into nassau for the day & had a great time looking around at the straw market & shops. Well worth the $8. round trip. Overall, we had a fantastic time at this hotel/location. Just keep an open mind, sit back & relax! You're in the Bahamas!!

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor for best views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kkak1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.7 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: £259 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing