We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Paradise Island(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Suites Paradise Island(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$726
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,567
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal at Atlantis, Autograph Collection(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$614
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,107)
Filter reviews
5,107 results
Traveller rating
1,072
1,917
1,037
587
494
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,072
1,917
1,037
587
494
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecialty restaurantssir alexanderriu staffjet skia la cartesnightly entertainmentswim up barall inclusive hotelstraw marketday passnegative reviewsocean frontnachosmajestic tourspool sidewater taxicable beach
Filter
Updating list...
4,380 - 4,385 of 5,107 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2006

I have to say we went on Feb. 01-08, 2006 and for the price, it was worth it. i normaly stay in nothing less than a five star hotel this i would rate a 3 1/2 star hotel. The location was the Best, right on the beach with was very nice and cleaned every morning. the lobby was beautiful, the staff very very friendly and helpful, the food was out of 5 i would say a 3 1/4 maybe 4. the place was very clean even the lobby bathrooms always immaculate. the drinks were way too strong for those of you who like their liquor. they gave FREE 10-15 minute massages by the pool side every 3 days, they offered FREE scuba lessons in the pool through out the week, not many hotels do that. You are right beside the Atlantis resort which is CRAZY expensive, eg;a beer $8.00 a small bag of chips $5.00 but has a nice casino and a huge aquarium that you can pay $30.00 us per person to see or hide your bracelet and sneak on the resort from the beach after 5:30-6:00pm . but be careful what room you get, upgrade! its worth it, some people had veiws of air conditioners on the east side, south side only veiw of construction, west side on the 10th 11th 12th 13th florrs would be the best, 14th floor is penthouse and on the north side are all ocean front suites those are the best. The rooms are small and out of date do not expect much in the rooms, Although they do have fully stocked fridges in each room with distilled bottle water , the water is not safe for drinking. long distance calls are VERY expensive so try haveing someone call you there or go to the small plaza near the hotel to a cyber cafe they have phone cards for $10.00 and that will give you 30min. The POOL IS FREEZING and needs a little paint. the straw market in town where the cruise ships dock have great deals, 4 t-shirts for $10.00 faux purses like prada, kate pade, gucci etc. straw gifts and wood carvings. the magic number the start with is for you $50.00 i usually only paid 25 to 27 dollars no more someone is always willing to make a deal. bay st. behind the market is great shopping , and people NO TAX ANYWHERE everything is duty free , and if you havent done it do it --- swim with the stingrays at blackbeard cay island, good price through the hotel, it was really cool oh and lastly, bring all kinds of medication and floaties , suntan lotion etc. those things are really expensive there
there is no night life in this resort entertainment is cheesy at best and bar closes at 1:00 am so go into town for $10.00 each way or to the Atlantis where you pay $40.00 per to get into their club- drinks not included!!!!!

24  Thank MRS.TRAVELS.OFTEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
941
Reviewed 16 February 2006

stayed here for 14 nights during a seminar i was taking part in.the location of the hotel is breathtaking as it is on cable beach.the staff were excellent,very happy and nothing was too much trouble.the rooms were dated and the bathrooms although very clean were small and a little shabby.the allinclusive food was good but a little tiring after a week or so.the lobby bar was lively and there was always some form of entertainmenton every night.the gourmet restaurant was excellent but was quite hard to book as the hotel was very busy with customers coming and going.the hotel was a minutes walk from alantis which was amazing and a breath of fresh air sometimes with its 37 restaurants.overall i found this hotel to be great fun and with the best staff i have ever encountered.....every morning i would waltz with my room maid!!
i would stay again but the all inclusive although was very good regarding variety etc. did become a little tiring.

Stayed: January 2006
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ontario, Canada
15
Reviewed 15 February 2006

The Riu from outward appearances is a nicely laid out resort. But in no way does it attain a 4 or 5 star rating. The food and service was good but the condition of the rooms or at least our room was what you might find at your average motel on I75. The building is old and has been refurbished but in no way were these (interior-room) changes significant.
If you put a high value on a nice room/bathroom dont stay there. The only other issue was the pool not being heated and was absolutely freezing. Only a few brave souls entertained the odd swim.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa, Canada
122
Reviewed 13 February 2006

If you are looking for a place to relax and feel stress free, the RIU Paradise Island Resort is the place to go.

4 of my girlfriends and myself flew to the Bahamas on January 26th for a 7 day vacation. Canjet Airline isn't too bad, you are always served sandwiches and there isn't a screen for movies, they rent out compact televisions for 10 dollars a pop.

When we landed in Nassau it was very windy. I was actually worried about the weather because the clouds were so bad, that I thought for sure we wouldn't get any sun, but after the third day it was sunny and beautiful outside! There is a bus that takes you to the resort, which is nice because the bus driver tells you the history about the Bahamas and gives you a little tour around the city. The houses are amazing and it is very Americanized there. They have Canadian banks and lots of America stores, so if you are looking to go somewhere with a Latino feel, Bahamas is not for you.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we all had to check in with sunquest and we were all greeted with a drink. Check-in was quick enough and our rooms were actually decent. When I read the reviews, I was a bit worried about the rooms, because some people had nightmare stories. Just make sure your room is above the 5th floor and you will be ok.

Beach

The beach was beautiful. They cleaned it every morning and when the weather was actually nice, they had jet skis, banana boats, para-sailing and a lot more activities available for you with a price. Make sure you don't get the banana boat or parasailing from one of the locals on the beach, they try to bargain a price, but really they are going to trip you off. Go to the hut that says "Para Sailing" They have set prices and are usually better.

Sometimes the water is rough, if you walk towards your right of the hotel, at the end of the beach there are a few rocks, but right next to it the water is gorgeous and very calm. Around the corner, is Michael Jordans house and golf course!!!! Amazing!

Hotel Restaurants and Bars

The food is amazing at the RIU. The Steakhouse is a great place to eat, and the service is amazing. Every night they had different varieties of food and the first night we got there, they had lobster, shrimp crab legs and muscles. I couldn't believe how much food they had. I think I gained 1000 pounds ha ha ha!

There are only 3 bars and usually 2 of them are mostly used. Try the Dirty Banana it was the best drink there. They aren’t shy with alcohol most of the drinks were way to strong for me and they love to get the tourists drunk!

Nightlife

If you are in your early 20's and 30's like my girlfriends and I, the RIU is not a place you want to hang out in at night. We were very adventuress and went out to local clubs every night. I suggest going to the Atlantis on Friday and Saturday nights, because that is when all the stars come down, and you will never know who you will meet. I bumped into Charles Barkley, Chris Tucker, Cedric the Entertainer, Mary J. Blidge. We partied with them at the club in the Casino!!! We had the best time.
Try the club Fluid, and don't go to Cocktails and Dreams, it is stickily local and we felt very uncomfortable there. Also, make sure you have some snack during the night, because all food closes down at 12 and there are no restaurants open after 12, just in case you have the munchies!

Overall

The trip was amazing, we made the best out of it. Bring 200 American with you so you can do a few activities, tour the city, because they have a market there that you can bargain the prices which is really nice and the locals are amazing. They took us out every night and spend cash on us. Bahamas has money so most of the locals have enough money to show you a good time. Make sure you walk on the right of the hotel to go to the calm waters, check out the Atlantis, it is to die for, try the booze cruise, its fun!

Hope that helps!

Stayed: January 2006
22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2006

My wife and I stayed at Riu Paradise island from 1/29/06-2/5/06. We are a middle class couple and have been to 4 different resorts in the last 18 months,2 in Jamaica,1 in Cancun, and now the Bahamas.So we are familiar with what these places (all inclusives)have to offer.
Paradise Island is one of the most posh/elite places in the world.The rich and famous have homes here (Oprah, Michael Jordan,John Travolta,just to name a few)and there are only 2 or 3 resorts that are on the ocean side. One being the Atlantis which is extremely expensive (for the rich) and the other being the Riu.The beach in front of the Riu is better than what is offered to Atlantis guests.We met people from there who came down to use our beach.So the first thing you have to look at is location,location.no seaweed,perfect sand and the clearest water Ive ever seen in my life.The blue azure waters are breathtaking.Dont get me wrong,the Atlantis was amazing to visit and walk thru but who can spend $50 for a plate of pasta or $90 for a steak.If you can then more power to you.If you cant waste money like that,then the Riu is the place where you can get the same experience for a fraction of the cost.This is not a cheap resort(about $2700 for 2 including airfare)but the rooms at the Atlantis started at $5000 for 2 people and didnt include any food or drink.
If you are unhappy with your room location you can do something about it.When visiting other countries dont demand,ask nicely and you will recieve.
We booked the lowest price room category and at checkin asked very nicely if we could get upgraded to a nicer room.Please goes a long way.If you are rude you will get nothing.Treat the staff like you want to be treated. Our kindness was rewarded with a room facing the Atlantis,pool,and the ocean on the 14th floor.Yes,one side of the hotel does face ac units but just ask kindly to be moved.Trust me it will work.We were so pleased I gave the desk clerk a $20 tip.He tried 3 times not to accept but I insisted.
The lobby is brand new and stunning/wood and crystal everywhere. The lobby bar was the place to be in the evenings.Drinks were perfect/not watered down.They have Smirnoff/Bacardi/Johnny Walker/Jim Beam/Beefeaters/Dewars.When you order your drink ask for the specific brand you want or they may use house brands.Dont be shy,just ask.The bar staff is top notch/no wait for drinks even when it was crowded/maybe 2 minutes but cmon,thats not a long wait.If you want to get trashed ask for shots of(dead man walking) 4 of those and we had trouble walking back to our room.They have a menu of drinks,so you can try whatever you like.All rum drinks are great, my favorite being a dirty banana,try one.They have cans of Miller which was fine.We stayed at a Sandals resort and they only offered beer from a tap,so the cans were a nice change.The pool bar was also always serving great drinks.if you want a drink stronger just ask for a shot and toss it in.
The buffet was great for a buffet.Over a hundred choices for all meals so even the pickiest eater can find something they like.On some nights you could find lobster tails,no kidding.The Mexican theme night is a must as all dishes were great.breakfast and dinner were the best but lunch was fine too.Fresh fish/racks of spareribs/as well as the basics(burgers,fries,hotdogs etc)
We dined at all 3 ala carte restaurants.The Gourmet was top notch serving a filet that was as good as any posh steak house in the states.The Japanese was also quite good,starting of with a plate of 5 kinds of sushi.and finally the steak house that served a great ribeye and strip steak.Food was top notch for an all inclusive.Great service,great ambiance and great food.Probably the best of the 4 resorts weve visited.
The elevators were swift except for maybe 2 times each day,not enough to complain about.
The pool area was very nice/water was cold/could use a heater, but with that beautiful beach we didnt mind.
The room was quite nice,cleaned every day by maid.I knew they vacummed every day because we always had some sand on the carpet from the night before and it was always gone the next day.Mini bar filled with beer,water,sodas and was filled every 2 days.If we wanted something before that we just called the front desk and it was sent up.Liquor cabinet with 4 bottles of booze if you wanted a drink in your room.The bathroom was small but if youre spending all your time in the bathroom thats sad.I didnt see any mold or mildew and it was always clean.
The decor was fine,could be updated but not necessary.Bed was a little hard but we asked for extra pillows and ended up with 8.
Our view was amazing.I would sit on the balcony and watch the criuse ships come in.Keep the door opened a little at night and the waves will soothe you to sleep.
The entertainment was a little lacking in the lounge,fun for 1 or 2 nights,but you can walk to the Atlantis for the casino or go thru the aquarium after 8 at no charge,a must see.Most nights we would enjoy a few spirits in the lobby bar and then retire for the evening so we could be up at 7 to enjoy another beautiful day.We got blessed with a week of sun and mid 80s,which is not typical for january I was told by the locals.We could of had a week in the low 60s.
Lots of jetskis for rent on the beach.Yes there are vendors selling hair brading,foot massages,jewelry but we did not find them bothersome.
We went into Nassau to the shops one day and that was fun.$10 cab ride each way,not bad.
Also took a snorkeling tour offered by an outfit on the beach,highly recommended.Included an hour of snorkeling on a reef,(lots of fish to see) a speed boat ride and an hour on a private island.
So in closing I would tell anyone considering this resort to GO GO GO.It was a great week with great food, great drinks, and wonderful people and we brought home a wealth of fond memories.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank seablu04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews